We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS ALL THE WAY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galashiels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maplehurst Boutique Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Galashiels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Maplehurst for 3 nights in May as part of a tour of Scotland, & loved the Borders.
On arrival we were treated to afternoon tea, before being shown to our room.
The whole house is exquisite, built in Arts & Crafts style in the early part of the 19th century. The genuinely friendly owners, Linda and Derek, have decorated and furnished the house in keeping with this theme, lots of stunning original pieces everywhere.
The rooms are beautifully appointed; our room was the Morris room inspired by the great man with his “bunny rabbit” wallpaper and fabrics to match, absolutely beautiful. Other rooms are in the Macintosh style etc. you get the picture. Complementary chocolates & biscuits in the room was a nice touch.
Breakfast was amazing. The selection of fruits and platters on offer defied belief.
They included Carpaccio of pineapple with vanilla syrup & a splash of Bacardi rum, melon balls in ginger syrup, prunes in elderflower syrup with a splash of whiskey, rhubarb with orange & ginger syrup, compote of apricot with bay leaf & sherry. Bowls of fresh raspberries and strawberries, bircher muesli, greek yogurt and a variety of sprinklers. All this before your main course, which is equally delicious, beautifully cooked & exquisitely presented by Linda. Interestingly this was the only Guesthouse that served fresh orange juice on our travels. Five star hotels of the highest calibre would struggle to do as well in my opinion. Faultless in every way.
Quite simply if there were a top ten of the very finest guest houses country
wide Maplehurst would be in the top three!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripTipsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 180 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went for 3 nights with our son and his wife home on holiday from the USA.
A lovely welcome from Derek and Linda with tea and cakes. The house and grounds are lovely.
Our rooms were big comfortable and spotless. A good sleep and wake up to a great breakfast from the menu. The first morning breakfast was great and it continued for the 3 mornings the same standard. Certainly gets you ready for the day ahead
So I would recommend a stay there at the Maplehurst if you want to stay in the area and see the sites which there are hundreds of historical sites to see.
You want be disappointed.
Parking for your car as well
An excellent choice of B&B made by our daughter in law.
Plus marks all round for Derek and Linda
Thank you both
It helps you to enjoy the holiday when you have a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redsargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a joy to arrive at this wonderful Arts and Craft house. Warm welcome from Linda and Derek. Splendid tea with home baked biscuits and cakes. Guided tour of the house built in 1906 with all original fixtures together with furniture and soft furnishings of the period. Lovely bedrooms. Beautifully cooked breakfast to set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen_tilsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked two rooms recently for two nights and we can not fault it! The house is remarkable and has so much beautiful character. The owners, Derek and Linda, could not have been more helpful and welcoming, they make great hosts. Breakfast was delicious, so many lovely, local things to try! We will definitely return to this lovely guest house and would recommend it to anyone tempted!!

Room Tip: All are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

There is very little to add to the many glowing reports of this wonderful B & B. the warm welcome, marvellous decor and superb cleanliness it is at the very peak of accommodation in the Borbers. Quite simply -the very best you could wish for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'll keep this short as the fact that 71 other reviewers have given this 5 stars and said pretty much everything I'd want to say.

If you've checked out the Trip Advisor website or Maplehurst's own website you'll know just how stunning this place is. What you won't necessarily get from the pictures is the kindness and attentiveness that Derek and Linda provide to their guests, which is second to none. It's also worth commenting the quality of the breakfast, which is easily the best that I've ever had in the UK. The fruit compots in particular a taste sensation!!!!

I can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked this guest house on faith in all the reviews I read while doing research for our 4 week England - Scotland road trip. Yes there are times when dreams meet reality and this is one of those times. Absolutely recommend this gem with it's amazing hosts (who brought gin and tonic fixings to our lovely room because we said we needed a drink after driving and sight seeing all day), recommended a great restaurant and couldn't have been more welcoming. All this and we haven't seen the gardens yet (well only from the view from our sitting area) or had breakfast!


Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Colleen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
0.1 mi away
Binniemyre Guest House
Binniemyre Guest House
#7 of 11 in Galashiels
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monorene Guest House
Monorene Guest House
#4 of 11 in Galashiels
47 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fauhope House
Fauhope House
#1 of 1 in Gattonside
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Craigielea Guest House
Craigielea Guest House
#6 of 11 in Galashiels
49 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Clovenfords Hotel
The Clovenfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Galashiels
188 reviews
1 mi away
Watson Lodge Guest House
Watson Lodge Guest House
#5 of 11 in Galashiels
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplehurst Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplehurst Boutique Guest House

Address: 42 Abbotsford Road, Galashiels TD1 3HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galashiels
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SLEEP WELL, EAT WELL & RELAX IN LUXURY Welcome to Maplehurst Guest House - our beautiful Arts and Crafts home in the Scottish Borders a hidden gem set in its own quiet, tree-lined grounds, with elegant period interiors, gourmet breakfasts and stylish modern comforts described by many guests as a 5 star boutique hotel. Striking original interior features including beautiful tapestries, rich oak panelling and the stunning stained glass window, A Woman with Fruit, help to create an unforgettable haven for your stay in the romantic Border country. At Maplehurst Boutique Guest House, we like to spoil you with our tailor-made gourmet breakfasts, It's all freshly cooked on the Aga, and served in our lovely oak-panelled Arts and Crafts dining room, for a perfect start to your day. Where possible we use fresh locally sourced ingredients, and cater for every palate, whether you prefer full Scottish/English breakfast, continental, or a taste of something new. Join us at our Maplehurst Cooking Academy or our Maplehurst Fine Dining Club for gourmet hosted dinners, enjoy the fantastic wine cellar. We cater for exclusive small in house events for up to 20 guests or garden events for max 50 guests, we also do outside catering on request. Maplehurst gives you the best of both worlds: only ten minutes' walk from Galashiels town centre, yet well back from the road, and quietly sheltered by tall trees. The house is set in its own generous grounds with sweeping lawns, maple, pine and cherry trees, and magnificent rhododendrons. On warmer days, you're welcome to use the summerhouse and patio, or explore the terraced garden. Our central location makes Maplehurst an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Border country, or hopping on the new Waverley Border train up to Edinburgh (35 miles) to see the city sights. Right here on the doorstep, there's the Southern Upland Way and Sir Walter Scott's magnificent Abbotsford House and within easy reach, you'll find romantic ruined abbeys and imposing castles, busy market towns and pretty villages, gentle lowland hills and a wild, spectacular coastline - all within the catchment of one of Britain's great salmon waters, the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplehurst Boutique Guest House Galashiels, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing