We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hideaway....but in luxury!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Galashiels, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heedchef
Witton Gilbert, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway....but in luxury!!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

If you ever just want to get away from real life and hide for a couple of days but want to maintain your standard of living choose No. 9 Galabank.

We arrived late on the Friday of the May Bank Holiday having travelled the 90 or so miles from Durham to find Allwin & John had waited for us even though they were going to visit family, they are the most perfect hosts, explaining what we needed to know and then leaving us to get on with it.

Our first impression was that the place is immaculately clean and furnished to a very high standard, this includes the high spec kitchen which took up part of the main living area along with a small dining table and chairs. Upstairs a small but well equipped bathroom complete with miniatures and the bedroom which in our case was a super kingsize bed but which could be set as 2 singles if preferred, the bedding was again immaculately turned out. In short, there was nothing out of place.

Our hosts had left instant coffee, ground coffee, tea, milk and sugar as well as a pack of shortbread biscuits.

There was more than enough wood and kindling for the wood burner in the lounge area.

Outside, as we found the next morning, the garden is huge with a nice decked area and picnic style table, there is a barbecue but at the time we were visiting it was still in the wood shed. One thing I would say is that the stairs are steep, not really suitable for anyone with serious mobility problems but easily manageable for anyone else if care is taken.

The views are stunning from the front of the property but even more so from the top of the rear garden (llamas and Sherpas are available for rental). At the time we were here the lambs were in the field opposite and we had hours of fun watching them bouncing about the place.

The owners have amassed a mountain of information about the locale which is very useful, we had come purely for a rest but did look at the guides for future reference and the info on local eateries was good. It is all there from routes of local walks to gardens and afternoon teas.

Negatives: not really any, some people have mentioned the road (Main A7 to Edinburgh) but it never bothered us even though we are used to a very quiet area at home. Access to the garden, we had no problem but I can see that it may be a problem to with walking difficulties but this said my Mother is 87, has had both hips replaced and I firmly believe she would have made it up there if she set her mind on it.

Positives: Excellent hosts, a lovely property well maintained and immaculately clean in beautiful surroundings close to Galashiels, Edinburgh and Peebles. Lovely gardens which if the weather was good would be great for a barby and a few beers. There was never a shortage of heat or hot water and I think if anything had gone wrong John and Allwin would have had it sorted out 15 minutes before it even happened!!

To John and Allwin - many thanks for allowing us in to enjoy your wonderful property, we would recommend this to anyone and would also like to congratulate you on the exceptional standard you maintain in the property. You made us feel very welcome and this started our weekend perfectly. We will return but we would like to wish you all the success in the world.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and comfortable, great for a couple of cold nights with the wood burner
Liked least: Nothing, all was absolutely fine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2015
Good Evening,
]
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear the hosts provided you with the information you would need for your stay and that the property was a perfect hideaway.

We hope to welcome you to another of our properties in the future
Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abissx
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cosy cottage!”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend at Galabank over Valentine's weekend and we loved it; the cottage is so cosy and picturesque, not to mention spotlessly clean and well presented on arrival. The owners added nice personal touches such as the tray of tea and biscuits and a bottle of fizz in the fridge! We loved the log burner fire and had it on almost constant over the whole weekend. There is access to the hills and fields through the garden over a small style and the views from there are truly amazing; there is also acces to Edinburgh city centre via bus which stops right outside regularly. We would 100% recommend and would happily go back to stay at Galabank again!

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2015
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Galabank Cottage.

Thank you for recommending Galabank Cottage to others!

We are delighted to hear you found the cottage to be cosy, clean and enjoyed the location of the cottage.

Cottage Holiday Group hope to welcome you back to Galabank Cottage or another Cottage Holiday Group property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Cottage Holiday Group
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on Galabank Cottage

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this property and found its location to your liking.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Cottage Holiday Group
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ecosse68
Dortmund
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfy and cute as a doll house :)”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We, my very best friend and me, did spend 4 nights at Galabank Cottage. The cottage is an absolutely lovely place and highly to recommend. Even if it's a small one it is refurbished and equipped to a very high standard. The beds are very comfy and you'll find everything you need in the cottage (I really would say you'll find more than you can expect). The whole place it spotlessly clean and John and Allwin, the lovely owners, did very well to make this cottage a second home from home. The tray with coffee, tea and shortbread which we did find by arrival was really appreaciated as well as the little bottle of milk in the fridge. Even if we had really bad weather during our stay (snow, coldness and a permanently blowing icey wind) we enjoyed it very much to come back after one of our trips to sit in the cute living room, cuddling on the comfy sofa and enjoying the nice, warm log fire by drinking a glass of wine.
The setting is perfect for excursions through the Scottish and English Borders and for trips to Scotland's capitol as well.
Even if the cottage lays nearby the A7 the traffic didn't bother us. You don't hear much about it inside.
John and Allwin, lots of thanks for a lovely stay. We surely come back one day.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package was perfect.
Liked least: The wifi connection was sometimes a bit complicated
Traveling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing