We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stopover en route to north of scotland”
other travelers have booked this property
Talla Resevoir near the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Talla Resevoir near the cottage
Living area Twin Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Talla Resevoir near the cottage
Living area
Twin Bedroom
View up valley
View across the Tweed showing our house at the front. The cottage is to the back
View across valley in winter
Kitchen/Dining area
En-suite bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
602PH
Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stopover en route to north of scotland”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely clean cottage loved the private garden and great location.Ideal for our dog and great for someone in a wheelchair as relatively easy access.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amajojo
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“we're coming back”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

myself, husband, daughter & dog stayed 3nights here and we have already booked to go again. Total relaxation and nice walks. Jean (owner) lovely and friendly and made us welcome shortbread :-) Best place we have stopped with dog, no need to tie him up and he liked Anna (owners collie)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how private it was
Liked least: that i had to come home :-)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon A
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs updated.”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The couple that own the property are lovely, but we we're left sat outside the property for two hours before we decided to just go in and look for a number to call them.
The advert says four bathrooms but there is two.
The sofa is so uncomfortable and needs replaced. As does the mattress on the double bed.
There was a problem with the boiler which Jean did get fixed as soon as possible.

Jean makes her own shortbread which was really nice..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: free wifi
Liked least: uncomfortable beds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marionh19
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely property in beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Property was very clean and well equipped-Home baking provided was a nice touch - plenty of walks in the area- would recommend and hope to visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateR1178
2 reviews
“A peaceful home away from home”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I came here for a last minute break on my own with my dobermann jake. What a little treasure of a place and what a brilliant hub for some serious adventuring! For me this was a snug little haven with more than enough room for myself and kujo but with a view to die for and a wonderful host. Jean's shortbread is insan, Anna the border collie waited dutifully for jake to come and play every morning and I just loved it. Genuinely recommend to those solo adventurers, make sure you drive through tweedsmuir to Talla, it's stunning and carry on to st Marys loch and grey mare's tail is a MUST see. Ensure you follow the walk up the waterfall (dog friendly) and get to loch Skeen at the top. Glentress forest is also worth a look. Already planning my trip back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen K
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing weekend with an amazing back drop”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This cottage was just perfect for what we needed and suited our needs down to the "T" The owners was very friendly but left us alone to get on with our own thing. The cottage it's self is very comfortable and has amazing views from every window. We plan on going back but maybe for longer next time. We are very pleased. :)

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a self-contained cottage within the grounds of the old telephone exchange on the A701 from Moffat to Broughton. The cottage is really well equipped and is in a lovely, quiet, relaxing location with super views of the surrounding hills. We stayed with 2 dogs who both enjoyed the stay, but be aware that the owner's friendly dog will likely visit so make sure your dogs are sociable! The owner was very helpful, offering suggestions of walks and places of interest and there are lots of leaflets in the cottage to help you decide where to go. Cademuir forest near Peebles has nice quiet walks, Biggar is definitely worth a visit, as is Peebles. Very enjoyable...many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing