We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise Island Hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Horseshoe Bay Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Horseshoe Bay Chalet
The walk to Horseshoe Bay Chalet (chalet in photo) Entrance to chalet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Horseshoe Bay Chalet
The walk to Horseshoe Bay Chalet (chalet in photo)
Entrance to chalet
The bay in the winter
Living area with 32 inch TV/DVD player
Bathroom
Twin room
Master Bedroom
Gylen Castle, South Island - a 30 minute walk away
Oban across the forth
Kerrera Ferry
Cows on the beach in front of chalet
Sunrise over the bay
Private garden with standing stones
South Island
Some of the locals!
Horseshoe bay beach
Views from the top of Kerrera
More locals!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CoeliacIn...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise Island Hideaway”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Spent an amazing few days in this perfect holiday home on the tiny island of Kerrera. Perfect location for wild swimming in the sheltered horseshoe bay, seeing the local wildlife (including a goat and seals in the water visible whilst walking round the island). All topped off by the friendliest bunch of local people and a lovely host. Definitely would recommend and hope to return :)

Rachel and Andrew

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, I hope the rest of your holiday went well and hopefully we will see you back up here again soon,

Kind regards

Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcornuro...
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location superb,tranquil and beautiful. Views of sea and hills and lots of wildlife and wild flowers . Seventeen different sorts of wid flowers around the cottage .
Gill and Zoe delightful hostesses so friendly and helpful. Nothing too much a trouble .Few attractions on the Island other than fabulous walks ,a tea garden ( worth a visit)
And a castle .
A fabulous place to just relax completely and be surrounded by peace ,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Thank you Ann & Anne. It was really lovely to meet you both. We are glad you had a lovely time and enjoyed our little island. Thank you for leaving the chalet immaculate when you left and we hope to see you both again in the future xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina D
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This exceeded what we wanted. The chalet was fantastic as was the island. Would definitely recommend. Perfect to get away from it all. Gill and Zoe looked after us well. Look forward to going back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Thanks Katrina, I'm glad you both enjoyed yourselves. Think you got a bit of every type of weather going this week! Hope you all got home safely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
autumnros...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment I got on the ferry and headed to Kererra I felt the draw of this Island.
I wanted solitude,ruggedness and beauty and that is what I received. I stayed on Kerrera for a month as a health regimen to stop smoking and watch my diet. It was challenging enough to walk but so beautiful I hardly noticed the miles. The owners of the chalet were very helpful and friendly. The chalet ' s views are amazing at sunrise, the scenery from the window is easy to wake up to. The lambs were being born at the time I was here.A great time to visit. I felt I deserved cake if I walked to the charming rustic tea garden. Lively owners! The castle is a short walk from there amazing views!
There are no stores on Kerrera but just plan well, the Ferry folks are very friendly and will get yo across to Oban in a flash. Only 5 minutes across. I am missing Kerrera. Such a wonderful experience and although there is not many people, the ones that inhabit it are very special! I/We (my husband joined me at the end of the month and also loved it) we'll be back. Thanks everyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Thank you Kelly! So glad that you had a good time and found the peace you wanted. We look forward to seeing you and Tim again, until then happy living! xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseheath...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A peaceful, beautiful holiday”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The chalet is a lovely building, comfy and in an amazing location, spacious and clean, everything you need is there . Gill (who is the host with Zoe) was lovely and really helpful if we needed anything. Beautiful location, waking in the morning to the sun rising over the Sound of Kerrera, although it is so near the mainland, (a short ferry crossing), it feels a world away. We parked for free on the Oban side, the ferry is frequent and reliable. Gill picked us up for the short drive to the chalet (when you see the island "road", you realise why it is a good thing you cannot take your car!). On the island, we walked and, yes, even sunbathed (we were very lucky with the weather). Good walks, full of interest, with amazing views over the Atlantic and the Sound. There is more to Kerrera than walking the main path (especially if, like us, you like going a bit off track amongst the valleys and hills on the interior of the island, away from the path). We were going to use the island as a base to explore further (ferries go from Oban to other islands) but we fell in love with the island's peacefulness and beauty and ended up exploring , walking little coves, hunting for shells, watching the sea glisten in the sunlight, finding ancient beech trees on top of edges in a wild scramble off the paths and enjoying the quietness, no cars other than local vehicles which are few and far between but lots of birdsong. At this time of year, Kerrera is covered in wild primroses and bluebells. Seapinks on the rocks. The first cuckoo I have heard for years. Skylarks, Greylag geese. A bit early for porpoise but we went on a sea trip from Oban and saw a huge seal colony and sea eagle nests, shags, black back gulls etc. The pub sadly is shut and its future uncertain, but the tearoom near Gylan castle serves excellent food, with friendly people in a lovely location (stock up on extras in Oban before you get the ferry, it's no hassle). Visit Gylan castle and the tearoom, but mostly just enjoy this world away. For a small island, I have taken almost 300 photos! I cannot recommend Kerrera highly enough. Just go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the island and friendliness of the residents
Liked least: some problems with the loo because of water pressure but these are fixed now
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I'm glad that you had such a good time exploring Kerrera, we are very proud of our island and its lovely to hear how much you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you both again

Kind regards

Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill R
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the most amazing places i have ever stayed at”
Reviewed November 20, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We arrived at Kerrera and were greeted by or hosts Gill and Zoe. The house is a stone throw away from the sea. The cottage is so clean and warm and welcoming it was hard for us to get out and do our activities.
I will back soon. Many Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, our first one! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing