We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Alma Cottage Isle of Seil”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alma Cottage Alma Cottage is set in a private secluded garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Alma Cottage
Alma Cottage is set in a private secluded garden.
Alma Cottage is set in a private and secluded garden with local amenities close by.
Relax and unwind in the glass conservatory.
The spacious Twin room ensuite with toilet and wash basin.
A bubbly jacuzzi bath, perfect to de-stress in while on holiday.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nigel B
1 review
“Alma Cottage Isle of Seil”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Alma cottage is in an excellent location and we absolutly enjoyed our stay. The abundance of wildlife is incredible well worth a stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2018
Dear Nigel,
Many thanks for your kind review, so glad you had a lovely stay. Hope to see you again in the future.Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRepton
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Warm and spacious dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed April 1, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Situated just over a mile from the Bridge over the Atlantic, Alma Cottage is a delightful well equipped base for exploring Seil, Oban or for venturing further afield. The cottage is clean and has an efficient central heating system which was much appreciated on some of the colder evenings. There is also a wood burning fire and ample supply of logs.

The cottage has a lovely wildlife garden with a small pond complete with frogspawn. It was lovely to sit in the small conservatory and watch the many birds and rabbits but if you have a dog or small children you would need to keep them under close surveillance as it would be possible for them to negotiate the small fence and venture on to the road. There is ample parking on the drive for two cars but best to reverse in as although not a busy road it is the main road through the island.

We visited the Tigh an Truish pub, just by the bridge, but sadly due to renovations it is only serving drinks at the present time. The Oysterbar restaurant in Seil is worth a visit and the food was good, plentiful and the staff friendly. There is a picturesque walk from down the side of the Tigh an Truish pub which takes you along the coast. It does take several hours and was very muddy but worth it for the stunning views.

Just down from the cottage is Sealife adventures, which is run by David. My son and his girlfriend enjoyed a three hour boat trip seeing wildlife and visiting the whirlpool. Both Jean and David were helpful and friendly and we all very much enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2018
Many thanks for such a lovely and helpful review. It is such a lovely area and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Alma cottage. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2017
Thanks for such a great review, hope you will come back to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mikemarke...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage nestles into the hillside out of the prevailing weather. It is well adapted for self catering, having a log stove, effective central heating, a spacious sitting room, a well equipped kitchen and a kingsize, comfortable double bed. Also ample firewood in an outside store. It was pet friendly, which we appreciated.

The cottage does not have a view, on the other hand, if that is what you particularly want. A small garden, near the road (although shielded by shrubs) makes it a little unsuitable for pets or small children to play without supervision - you just need to be aware of this. The road is not very busy and is not an issue in terms of disturbance.

On the whole it's a cosy and complete stay that I can recommend.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2017
Many thanks for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlosJ74...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm cozy cottage”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just back from a stay here it was just a great place my wife and I were lucky to have lovely weather for our 6 night stay. The cottage is pet friendly provided a dog bed and towels for our little black lab . Set beside the road it is best to reverse in so it is easy to pull out but the road is quiet. the drive is nice and large easy fits two cars . The garden looks like it was once well planted but is now overgrown this is not a bad thing it is very quaint and makes the cottage feel secluded from the little road.Inside the cottage is a very well equipped kitchen every thing you need. Lounge has a log burner which we had on every night needed or not very snug. Comfy bed good central heating nice clean bathroom all you need. Owners David and Jean are very helpful David runs Sealife Adventures just three minutes walk down the road. I went on one of of the wildlife trips round the nearby little islands just breath taking thanks skipper David and crew Alice . All in all we loved the cottage and area many thanks for giving us such a great holiday.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2017
Really pleased you had such a great holiday, hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita2253
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Warm & cosy cottage in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Owners very pleasant & helpful. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you for the kind review, delighted you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a great stay for 3 nights in this property. The pictures don't do it justice and they left wine and toiletries which was very nice and helpful.
We had no issues and the surrounding area and garden was very nice, would highly recommend for a relaxing break

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Hi James,

Delighted you had a good stay, thanks for the kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing