We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and quiet”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor seating area with BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Outdoor seating area with BBQ
Great outdoor space includes driveway with ample parking for 2 cars
Dining area with patio doors
Comfortable seating for 4
Modern bathroom with bath, electric shower, underfloor heating, heated towel rail and LED mirror
Double bedroom with fresh towels and bedlinen. Wall mounted TV/DVD and iPod docking station.
Cosy lounge with electric log fire
Well-equipped kitchen
Double bedroom with fresh towels and bed linen. Wall mounted TV/DVD and iPod docking station.
Christmas at Barcaldine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jacqui G
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The 2 bedroom bungalow is located in a quiet area. It is very clean and has everything that is needed for a comfortable holiday. However we travelled to Oban by train and the location of the bungalow was at least 30 minutes walk up a steep hill just off a busy A road. We are keen walkers and we also hired cycles but the long walk up the hill at the end of each day proved problematic especially if we wanted to go back into Oban for an evening meal. So if you are without a car you need to have this information. There was a bus service but with restrictions at certain times of the day.I would only recommend this property to older travellers if they have a car.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you found the cottage very clean and comfortable, something all our guests have commented on. As you mentioned the cottage is located in a quiet area which is just on the edge of town. This aspect of the cottage has proved popular with many of our guests but I appreciate that it's all down to personal preference. The property description does advise that it is a 20 minute walk (4 minutes by car) into town, downhill going, uphill returning. Hope you continue to enjoy holidaying in Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Dear Caroline,
Thank you for the instructions.We arrifed safety at the house. The house is really nice! Thank you.
Best regards,
Patricia

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
Hi Patricia, I'm glad you liked the cottage. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jochen R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal as base to explore Oban and the surrounding”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very well equipped, nothing was missing what you might need. Good working WiFi, Flatscreen-TVs. A wonderful welcome basket not to forget to mention! Close to the bus stop into the centre of Oban (transfer about 5 minutes).
For a wonderful week we felt home. Ideal base for touring around to Glencoe, Isle of Mull, Inveraray, a.s.o..
We enjoyed it staying at Bercaldine Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome basket
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Always happy to know our guests have enjoyed their stay. I hope you had a super time in Scotland and have left with good memories. Welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Barcaldine cottage was a real gem. Just on the edge of town, it's an easy five minute drive to Oban's bustling harbour. The house itself was pristine, cozy and comfortable. The kitchen had every utensil you might need and we were even greeted with a basket with organic eggs, chocolate cake and shortbread. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Barcaldine cottage to anyone and look forward to staying there again soon :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern comfort and coziness of the cottage.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay. Welcome back any time. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Quality Modern Accommodation”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Situated in a small enclave of modern Bungalows in the former grounds of the Glen Hotel the cottage is well equiped with modern fittings and furniture.Both bedrooms were comfortable although cupboard space was limited.A large modern flat screen TV and video is provided with plent of DVD's Freeview TV's provided in both Bedrooms. WiFi access is good with no problems connecting. Galley Type Modern Kitchen well provided. Situation on outskirts of Oban close to bus route and within walking distance (downhill going uphill returning)
Underfloor heating and electrical panel radiatore are very effective and were a boon in the Oban summer rain storms!!
We stayed four days and having visited Oban regilarly over a number of years this is one of the best .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's much appreciated. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable and relaxing stay”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This property is excellent and well decorated and totally supplied our needs, has everything you require for a short or long stay, not too far out of Oban and the buses Run very frequent and take about 10min to the centre of Oban, we had a brilliant time exploring Oban with the lovely fresh fish and chips on the pier to finish, we took the ferry across to Mull and a visit to Tobamory is a must the views from the top deck of the bus were spectacular and seen lots of birds and wildlife no golden eagle but maybe next time. We also took a run in the car to Aurdaine gardens which again is well worth a visit with its tranquil setting and beautiful gardens and lovely views, only about 30 minute journey away from Oban, we finished our last night with a meal at the lovely Glen restaurant which is right on your doorstep very friendly staff and the food was excellent. All in all we had a wonderful time and would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone looking for a getaway as very quiet area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and peaceful
Liked least: Distance from Oban not walkable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate feedback. We are glad you had a good time and would be very happy to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Localdine...
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Immaculate and peaceful cottage on the edge of town”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed 4 very comfortable days in this cozy cottage located just 5 minutes drive from Oban central. It has high quality virtually new fittings and equipment throughout and the bathroom is especially impressive, the heated towel rail was much appreciated on a cold June morning! The location is very quiet, almost in woodlands, no great views but then its also very sheltered. Part of a small close with adjoining retirement style cottages. We also enjoyed a visit to the Glen restaurant and pub which is close by but does not disturb the peace at all. Ideal for a touring base with comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen and a good sized lounge and 3 TVs ! Our Thanks to Caroline for providing such a good place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of furnishings and fittings, peaceful location
Liked least: No direct contact with owner on arrival or departure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing