We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & great breakfasts”
Review of Sutherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sutherland Hotel
Ranked #29 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location & great breakfasts”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

A good, basic, clean B&B in Oban. We had a seaview room which gave us a good view outside. Breakfasts were good and the coffee excellent - the best we had all week in fact!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine-Clitheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
72
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We recently went on a trip with work to Oban and stayed at the Sutherland Hotel. I have not stayed at a B&B for a long time and was very happy with it. The rooms were clean and the location was perfect for a walk along the waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

hotel is handy enough for bars, restaurants etc.
hotel itself is clean but very dated. all rooms really need refurbished and modernised apart from room 6 (for some reason only this room has been modernised)
and dont expect to iron your clothes when you get there, we asked the young foreign girl for an iron / ironboard and she said there was none???
breakfast was good but maybe they could change the variety on the cooked breakfast as the 3 mornings we stayed, it was the same items every day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

How rude can one be if answering to the public? Those Eastern girls do not like to move! They hate anybody that gets them away from their mobile phones... The breakfast is served with a SMILE... , the laundry lays on the stairs the better part of the morning (a menace!); and don't get the room downstairs - you'll get the garbage from breakfast thrown in front of your way... ridiculous! Simply the worst service I've seen in Scotland!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariliaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2010

stayed in oban for 3 nights (beautiful small town) and booked in to a guest house called sutherland house .on arrival the girl at reception was so friendly she booked our children in to room 2 next to our room .what a room it was stunning and as i told the owner the nicest room we had stayed in on our visit ,its just been completely refurbished and made our stay in oban even more memorable .thankyou for such a pleasant stay we will definately recommend to any friends heading to scotland

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneBodypump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Stayed at Sutherland House whilst attending a family wedding. The first night I was so cold that I went to sleep with my fleece on top of my nightwear. There was no central heating in the room. The only heater (an oil-filled heater) which had to be plugged into an extension lead under the bed was not working - the owner got it working for the second night!

Carpet in need of replacing and bedspread and curtains well passed their sell-by date.
The room was at the top of the house with a lovely view across the bay (if you could see it since it rained most of the time!) and the wind whistled through gaps in the rotting window!

In order to make a cup of tea the kettle had to be plugged into an extension lead that came out from under the dressing table and had to be placed below the basin -really good having electricity near a basin!

The bathroom had an enormous spotlight which at first seemed very strange until you realised that this was the only form of heating in the bathroom!!

The only good thing about the hotel was the breakfast room and the friendly member of staff who served the breakfast in the morning and also checked us on arrival.

I am not surprised that this guest house is not rated as it would not even meet basic rating with the Tourist Board!

This place needs a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to even one-star rating! The room tariff is too high considering the standard of the accommodation

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This is a nice little guest house, the views are lovely and it is right next to the centre but the room we had was terrible. It was next to the front desk, next to the kitchen and the back wall was next to the stairs. It all kicks off when the staff begin preparing the breakfast. The staff stairs are also next to the wall. It is a nice place, the staff are lovely but do not stay in room twelve.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouserstrousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
0.9 mi away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#24 of 93 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#18 of 93 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilchrenan House
Kilchrenan House
#8 of 93 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland Hotel

Property: Sutherland Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutherland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Sutherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing