We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place!”
Review of Heatherfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heatherfield House
Ranked #20 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just back from a wonderful weekend in oban, this was our 1st time staying at the heatherfield and it truly is a gem. We were warmly greeted, the breakfasts were superb (especially the lovely sausages), the room we had was immaculate ( not a spot of dust anywhere!), with lots of thoughtful extras and the bed was super comfy. Mike and Julie who own the house are lovely and very helpful in pointing out best places to eat etc.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank vron73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Heatherfield House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 302 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

We only had one night at Heatherfield House, and arrived rather late as we went to Loch Leven and Glen Coe on our way from Mallaig. I wish we could have stayed longer as it is a really lovely B&B. We had a warm welcome from Julie, who came out to meet us when we arrived. She showed us to our beautiful room which was elegantly decorated and furnished. We enjoyed the little extras of chocolate and wineglasses and corkscrew. There are lovely cosy bathrobes too, which we didn't use, but would be great for relaxing in front of the TV after a heavy day's walking.
It isn't necessary to pre-order breakfast unless you want the fish options - which we did, it was so nice to find both kippers and smoked haddock with poached egg on the menu. The breakfast room is also spacious and elegant with a good choice of fruit, juices, yogurt, pastries and cereals on the buffet. Both the fish breakfasts were perfectly cooked and we enjoyed the change from the full Scottish a great deal!
Heatherfield is perfectly placed if you want to take the island ferries, go out walking or just explore the town. It has blessedly easy parking and we found it was quiet at night, despite being in the town. Friendly, elegant, luxuriously comfortable and great food - what's not to like? Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tourmaline118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here three nights. We had a Standard Room (i.e. least expensive). This fact may influence some of my opinions. We found our room a bit small for two people. The bed was not the most comfortable we have ever slept in, but was ok. However, these were our only complaints. Overall, we were very pleased with this B & B and recommend it.
Our room was very clean and nicely furnished. The bathroom was reasonably spacious and well ventilated, with a roomy shower. Good quality toiletries were provided.
Tea, coffee, biscuits and treats were provided in the room and replenished each day.
The room was cleaned to a good standard on each day of our visit.
Wifi worked well.
Breakfast was great. Hot dishes were cooked to order and were delicious. There was also a good selection of cereals, yogurts, fresh and dried fruits.
Off street parking is available.
Our hosts were very pleasant, friendly people who do a very good job of managing Heatherfield House.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Sadly only able to stay one night as, not surprisingly, fully booked.
An impluse trip to Oban so last minute booking.
We had a kingsize double room with a view over the bay.
The room and ensuite immaculate with nice little extras, chocolate, corkscrew and glasses as well as the usual tea/coffee making tray. Luxurious bath robes, clearly a lot of thought had gone into providing everthing needed for a comfortable stay.
Breakfast excellent, smoked haddock delicious.
Many thanks to Julie for directions to local beach which was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our third visit to Heatherfield House, but the first since Mike and Julie took over, and having enjoyed our previous stays we were a little apprehencive of what we would find; we needn't have worried! All the important things are offered to a very high standard - spotlessly clean, warm friendly welcome, attractive rooms and good breakfast. Don't go anywhere else - if you can get in!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acarter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

A Fantastic 3 day break in Oban helped by a stay at this Excellent Guest house. The room we had was impeccable, the House is full of character and the host's are professional, courteous, friendly and full of useful information. Its central location make it an ideal place for touring the area and for all amenities in Oban. We stayed in 4 good B & B Guest Houses on an 8 day Scotland tour, this was the best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stanlinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Sadly just one night in Oban but compensated by excellent Heatherfield and convenience to restaurants and the port. At £90 (double ensuite) on the top side of B and B prices in the area but for those on full breakfast - plenty to eat!

Room Tip: If taking a late shower (after 8pm) check first that there is plenty of hot water.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherfield House

Address: Albert Road, Oban PA34 5EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $108 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Victorian house overlooking Oban bay. Within a few minutes walk of the ferry and train terminals and the town centre with it restaurants and bars. Homemade and locally produced produce is served including fish and preserves. Ample private parking is available in the grounds of the house. Heatherfield House is a welcoming mix of luxury, comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heatherfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherfield House Hotel Oban
Heatherfield House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing