We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant

The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 92 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Set in idyllic Oban on the North West coast of Scotland, Waterfront Restaurant offers sumptuously fresh fish and seafood in a cutesy boathouse-style setting. Whilst enjoying stunning views over Oban Bay, guests can sample fine local catches, delicious fish classics and an impressive world wine list.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

we recently visited resturant on visit to oban,food is excellent quality large portions,had a lovely view of oban from table beside window,staff so helpful and food served with a pleasant smile from both members of staff who served us,would definately visit again,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,432
    513
    150
    44
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

from the moment we walked in,we were treated very well & the staff seemed to be genuinely interested in what kind of day we had. The food & portion size were excellent, the scallops were the best I have ever tasted. I would strongly recommend this restaurant, even for what I would call a quiet Tuesday night the restaurant was well full, which tells me its a place that thrives on it reputation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 154IANW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wow cant wait to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a great Restaurant. Went there with family, and all I can say is so glad we did. The staff were very organised and pleasent. Food was excellent and the prices were very affordable. Very big portions and very fresh. Will be back in December.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank siberianpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We came across this restaurant whilst visiting the Lochs & Glens in Scotland - during our trip to Scotland we were disappointed with the food so were delighted to find somewhere that dispelled the stereotypical myth of the type of cuisine on offer. We were there for lunch and found the restaurant staff to be very helpful and friendly. The menu contains a vast choice and even the set lunch menu offers many choices. We were both very happy with our selection and the fish was wonderfully flavoursome and plentiful, accompanied by a delicious house wine. We're sorry we live at the very end of England as if this restaurant was near to us we would be regular visitors, we'd love to work our way through the menu!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lsbarkasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food great - service abysmal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was part of a party of 17 who had pre-booked (2 months ahead) a table for lunch. We arrived early was seated by ourselves as we had to find our own ?reserved tables. We ordered starters and maincourse and waited, and waited, and waited. Eventually starters arrived in dribs and drabs, this was ok due to size of party and the starters could not be faulted for taste and portion size. However only 8 of the party was there to eat these as they had to go for the start of the Shinty Camanacht cup final.
Then we waited again over 60 minutes infact and with no satisfactory explanation coming from staff who seemed to be totally disinterested. We paid for the starters that were provided and left.
At the time the restaurant was virtually empty so that was not the reason for such poor performance. Also to add substance to this review the standard of cleanliness in the toilets left a lot to be desired, also maintainance was rubbish with no locks on toilet, no toilet paper and no soap. Overall a good place to get drunk in but not for eating. Ironically the only reason we picked the Waterfront was due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieHussar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing