We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Crosple Cottage

Crosple Cottage - the perfect hideaway for couples any time of the year
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crosple Cottage - the perfect hideaway for couples any time of the year
Cool and shaded in summer, warm and cosy in winter!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Crosple Cottage - the perfect hideaway for couples any time of the year
Cool and shaded in summer, warm and cosy in winter!
Set amidst rolling green fields. Perfect solitude.
Wonderful views to Loch Melfort
Smart TV, log burning stove, solid oak floors & original art work in living room
Intimate dining for 2 with far reaching views down to Loch Melfort
Well equipped kitchen
View from the kitchen sink
Cast iron roll top bath, underfloor heating and walk in shower.
Cast iron roll top bath, underfloor heating and separate walk in shower.
One of the pretty lochs you can fly fish on just a few minutes walk from the cottage
View from the house
Crosple Cottage
Sunset on Loch Melfort.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lulurose7...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very relaxing stay in a top quality cottage. Little extras such as flowers, wine and cake were very much appreciated. Cottage has breathtaking views. Great place to recharge the batteries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandiland...
Queensbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful location”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Jennie and Rory are the most welcoming of hosts. A lovely cosy well thought out property for 2 - there's not many of these around with this kind of quality and cleanliness. The furnishings are of a high quality, the kitchen is very well equipped and everything just seems to have been thought about. The provision of fresh cut flowers in every room, home made cakes and a bottle of wine were very nice touches. Toiletries and towelling robes are also provided, as well as a couple of bikes for guests to use. One thing I would have liked would have been somewhere outside to dry clothes however there is a dryer in the utility room. It's wonderfully peaceful but not too far from civilisation for you to feel cut off - Oban is only 30 mins away. We will go back, as we didn't get chance to use the wood burning stove which would make the cottage even cosier (if that's possible). Just note the gravel drive is very steep for the last couple of metres.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully enchanting cottage”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My boyfriend and I travelled to this beautiful little cottage last Sunday and very reluctantly left on Thursday. Words nor pictures can describe how beautifully finished this little cottage is, not to mention the wonderful views and the very amusing sheep and lambs that surround it. The only warning I would give is that the gravel path is quite steep and if it has been raining, can be quite hard to negotiate your way up, so make sure you bring a slightly sturdier car. In saying that we only struggled once after a lot of rainfall with our mini. However the shortbread and bottle of wine left for us by the lovely Jenny left the drive as a distant memory. Not to mention the beautiful bath and unbelievably comfy bed! We were so sad to be leaving, but hope to return very soon!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfganga...
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Very friendly hosts, the cottage itself, furniture, kitchen equipment, bed and bathrooms are new, high quality and very clean. Built at the most beautiful place with view on the water and landscape, lovely birds and sheep all around. The most perfect place to relax.We surely will be back at Crosple Cottage soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“splendid isolation”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well appointed house in a lovely location .Jennie was very welcoming and showed us around.The information pack covered everything that we needed.
We enjoyed walks from the cottage door which were detailed in the pack .
The cottage is well placed for visiting the islands or for the Argyll coast .
For anyone who likes to visit gardens ther are a number nearby.
We would definitely return if visiting this area again.

W. Ramage

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We honeymooned at the cottage over the new year, it was simply amazing! Peaceful, beautiful scenery and just everything we could ask for! Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Tranquil Retreat”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Crosple Cottage, tucked away on an Argyll hillside, provides complete privacy without being remote. Very quiet too - even the sheep, occasionally gazing through the fence which surrounds the property, didn't disturb the peace when we were there.

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Jenni, co-owner of the property. Later, on one of our walks, we met Rory, her husband, and had a friendly, entertaining and informative chat.

Though the Cottage accommodates only two persons it is not at all cramped and we very quickly settled in to our temporary holiday home. In particular we appreciated the cleanliness, warmth, very comfortable bed, power shower and hot water always on tap.

We packed a lot into our short stay and plan to return for a longer spell, and a rest.
Tasteful décor, homeliness and a warm welcome no doubt all contribute to the relaxed ambiance of Crosple Cottage, a very special place, in every way worthy of its 5 star status.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy.
Liked least: The coombed ceiling in the bedroom though this was never a problem even for my husband who is 5' 11" tall.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing