We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alltavona Guest House
Ranked #11 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Yes, BandBs offer trade-offs. This one, like many, is a converted Victorian home. Our bathroom was great. But the bedrooms are tiny and too much extra furniture crammed in makes the room virtually impassable. And the public area downstairs is a tiny room so jammed with a few chairs and a table of flyers for local attractions, that you cannot walk around! The owner seems to be trying...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank pickiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments and feed back as guest house owners we try to accommodate our guest needs.

Changing the linen and throw when you asked and moving things you did not like!

I note from your review you found your room cramped and small, this room had a double bed and if you are used to a King size bed or super King bed you might have found it smaller than you were used to.
We have had another great review from a guest who stayed in the same room you occupied for four nights and they were delighted with this room.

Perhaps with two large suitcases the room could appear small.

I also note that the table in the hall did annoy you and this is to be removed which would not make the small sitting area not so cluttered.

This is also my home and my taste in decor and furniture but take your comments on board.

As you state I am trying and I must also say that some of our guests are also trying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Alltavona Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We cut short our stay at this b@b as we didn't feel it was up to the standard which it was graded.
A deep clean of the toilet was also required. For this reason we also didn't take breakfast. I will be e-mailing the tourist board as I feel they are just "rubber stamping" the grade already given for each establishment.

Room Tip: Please understand that the photos of the rooms are many years old and decor is of a poor standard.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
30  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

I am sorry you did not like Alltavona when entering and you did not enjoy your visit and disappointed that you did not stay and refused to pay the full amount due for the one nights stay.

I am sorry you did not feel that Alltavona did not meet the four star standard that Visit Scotland , Hart Holidays , Bits Tours ,Mitchell Guide, Rick Steves Tours, Scottish Accommodation Index, British Travel Company, Celtic Resin,Sean Buckley, Absolute Escapes and Rabbies Tours have given.

All these companies have visited Alltavona and have continued to do business with Alltavona for 14 years.

The rubber stamp as you call it has been issued for 14 years by all individual companies and individual grading officers , surely all the above can not be wrong.

The cleaning of our bathrooms are cleaned daily and dispute your alligation your bathroom needed a deep clean!
The grading officer in fact did visit Alltavona two days before you arrived and we received top marks for cleaning.
I hope when other reviewers read your review they will also read the other reviews which rave about the cleanliness and good standards which we have achieved.

We do take all guests constructive comments into consideration and try to rectify any problems which might occur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night and generally really enjoyed it. We were greeted by a member of staff who was very happy to help and showed us to our room despite not appearing to know about our booking (we had the email confirmation so were able to show him that). Unfortunately the tv was not working (not that we came to Oban to watch TV but its nice to be able to catch the news) so after the same member of staff had tried unsuccessfully to fix it, we were offered another room. We had the choice of 3 rooms but went for 9 which was next to the other room and was perfectly adequate for our needs. The bedroom was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and we slept well. As noted in other reviews the bathroom was small with nowhere to lay out your toiletries. Breakfast was good and we liked the buffet style as you can choose exactly what you want. My only observation with regard to breakfast was that the fried eggs were a little hard as they had been sitting in the buffet pan keeping warm. It might be nice if these could be cooked to order so as to enjoy them at their best. The only thing I felt the Alltavona was missing was a little atmosphere / ambience as we did not see anyone except the young man who helped us when we first arrived and a girl who was there to help at breakfast time alongside the young man. They were both friendly enough but lacked some of the warmth I associate with Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EvMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Booked With Alltavona Guest House, excellent room, wonderful location, excellent breakfast, a nice walk to and from the town, and good for watching the boats coming in and out. I recommend this lovely B&B to those who go to Oban .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank day_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A very cozy and comfortable accommodation with a wonderful bay view (at least from our room) and we had a warm welcome by the owner. Great plus: free wifi. There is also a small TV. Comfortable bed, nice small bathroom, very clean, but unfortunately only few places to leave your things.
Breakfast was good, the times were alright, you were able to choose what you wanted from the buffet. There were only two things that really disturbed me at that moment: The milk and orange juice placed on our desk for two wasn't nearly enough for two. 250 ml is only enough for one person. We got more after asking since we wanted no other drinks but the juice, but the staff left the impression of being a little annoyed by that. This is something I think could be improved.
Our overall rating is good anyway; compared to other B&Bs we know it's a place to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dania D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A long overdue review! My wife and I visited in April, 2012. We had a front room, with a fantastic view over Oban harbour. It was sunny, and the sunsets were great. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff very pleasant, and helpful. The breakfast was fine, and from Alltavona it is very pleasant to walk into Oban, along the sea front.
Obviously, being on the sea front, it is worth booking a front room, if you want a spectactular view.

Room Tip: Worth booking a front room, preferably on the 1st floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazdamanHazlemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Alltavona in early June and really enjoyed our stay.The owners were away.But we were well looked after by their staff team, Lovely clean room, breakfast excellent, Good location to all amenities.Looking forward to going back again and meeting the owners.A house full of character.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alltavona Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alltavona Guest House

Address: Alltavona Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $143 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alltavona Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alltavona House is situated on Oban's select Corran esplanade overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding Islands. Alltavona is a family run guest house famed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. Guests arriving at Alltavona for the first time, are immediately aware that this is a house of outstanding quality, where no effort has been spared to provide a level of elegance and refinement in keeping with its original character. Magnificent unobstructed views. Four star Visit Scotland Tourist Board Grading and Four star AA Grading. Ten minutes walk into town,queit location ,private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alltavona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alltavona Guest House Hotel Oban
Alltavona Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing