We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ariogan Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were very happy with Catherine's B&B, it was nice and quiet and the breakfast was superb. Catherine was very friendly and helpful, we were happy to have chosen Ariogan!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Ariogan is essential part of Scottish break for us
Super service nothing is to much trouble.
Very comfortable and cosy in garden suite.
Perfect location close to Oban ( 3 min drive)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

*** Our advice - BOOK EARLY! ***
To be honest, we had struggled a little to find midweek accomodation in Oban in July, despite looking 6 months in advance! Luckily, Cath had a family room and a double room still available so we grabbed it. We had a lovely stay at Ariogan and would definitely recommend. The rooms were very cosy, the beds very comfortable, everything spotlessly clean, lashings of tea and coffee in the room including shortbread and a jug of fresh milk, fresh flowers in the room and at breakfast, an excellent breakfast including a local smoked salmon and scrambled eggs option, and top quality fare for the traditional Scottish breakfast. Yum!
Although Ariogan is a couple of miles from town, a taxi in the evening was only about £6. We dined at the Waterfront, which was also fantastic.
Cath runs a great B&B and is a charming hostess. She was lovely to our son, 5, who thinks she is marvelous. Thank you for a very memorable trip!
The following day we headed 40mins up to Port Appin which is a beautiful spot and also highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robsterid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Ariogan is a great place to stay as a base to explore Oban, the Isle of Mull and Fort William. We received a great welcome there and it really lived up to the positive reviews. It is situated just out the town and is a nice and quiet place to relax. This is very much a family home and the owner went out of her way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The breakfast was of very high quality. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourist100London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

What a great find! 4 of us stayed here on Saturday night, we struggled to find accomodation in Oban, but somehow found this on the internet.
I would highly recommend this B&B it's only 2 minutes drive from Oban centre - away from the crowds and into true countryside.
The rooms were excellent, we even had fresh roses and lillies in our rooms, which was unexpected. Lovedly comfy beds and a great peaceful nights sleep - it was so quiet.

Cath our host for the weekend couldn't do enough for us, the breakfast was huge and delicious. When we left on Sunday morning, we all decided we would return in the future, and would recommend it to all our friends too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed in this B&B for one night and had a very pleasant experience. Owner was most
welcoming . Room and adjoining sitting room very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent - great choice and ample portions. Would definitely recommend
Ariogan Farmhouse. Thank you, Catherine, for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WimseyRenfrewshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2005

Mrs. Catherine Murphy was a delightful hostess. Located on a country lane a mile south of Oban, this warm, well-appointed guest house offered a quiet oasis on our journey this summer. Of the 3 rooms available, we treated ourselves to the one with a sitting room for an extra 5-10 pounds. Payment was in cash, no credit cards were accepted at the time we were there. A trip to her backgarden provided a lovely view of flowers, the hills, and lots of sky! The greenhouse served as entry way from the parking area & it blossomed as well. Mrs. Murphy's breakfast and afternoon tea were excellent. A breakfast room for the other 2 guest rooms was an option for people who wanted more socializing. We greatly enjoyed our stay. Mrs. Murphy indicated that, at least in 2005, her American tourism was down -- although many Swedish and European visitors took advantage of her fine hospitality. So, if you are from America & heed our advice to stay with her, let her know the couple from Cincinnati say hello!

3  Thank CincyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barndromin Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Braeside Guesthouse
Braeside Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Kilmore
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
492 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheep Fank Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Elderslie Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariogan Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariogan Bed & Breakfast

Address: Upper Soroba, Oban PA34 4SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $46 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ariogan Bed & Breakfast Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing