We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is stellar, best of any during our month-long trip in the UK.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathnaver Guest House
Ranked #32 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights in September. We were so impressed with this place that I was moved to write this review - something I rarely do.

Everything was great about this comfortable, clean, spacious place. The food was unbelievably good. So much better than most places we stayed. But the warmth and charming personality of Irene, the owner, was the high point. She is a gem! It was like staying at your favorite aunt's home. She was so good to us that when we informed her that we had to catch a "before breakfast" train ( I think it was at 6:00 a.m.) she packed us each a delicious lunch to take on the train with us! Boy did we appreciate that when our two-car train to Glasgow was stranded for several hours when trees fell onto the track in front and behind the train. We had food to eat thanks to Irene!

Both my husband and I highly recommend this wonderful place to stay.
I wish we could go back and stay there longer!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheddarheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Strathnaver Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here in late Sept/early Oct, 2012, and found the hosts to be very friendly and helpful. Our ensuite twin room was larger than expected and comfortable, very clean. While the decor was not to our taste, I wouldn't call it 'outdated' as 1-2 other reviewers have, but might choose a little more neutral style. There is (free) WiFi available, TV in-room, plus tea/coffee. There is also a large guest lounge with magazines and a larger TV. The on-site parking is a big plus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booking weeks ahead online, the reception could not be better arriving on a Sunday around noon, the single room was up grated to a double with lovely linen and soft towels, bath room was very clean.
Only Joghurt was missing for the perfect breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a bay view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immac12, Owner at Strathnaver Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello Yvonne


Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with us. I am sorry that we didn't offer yogurt for breakfast during your stay. Because of your feedback we now put natural yogurt on the breakfast buffet table! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I visited this guest house on the 14th and 15th August 2012 and from the moment we set foot inside the door we were made to feel welcome. There is not much you can say when you have nothing to complain about and this really was the case here. The owners have been in the business a long time , ( over 20 years if my memory serves me correctly ) so I think they know what they are doing by now. The only reason the location has a four is because of the short walk uo the hill but that would not put me off staying here again. The views of the bay once you get up the hill make the climb worth it. So if you want a clean friendly guest house near the centreof Oban that serves good breakfasts for a very reasonable price then this is the place to book.

Room Tip: Just ask and the proprietors will give you the best available room. All very nice
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraserburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We found this little gem of a B and B after trawling round Oban and turning down two pretty awful looking places, one of which looked like it was owned by Uncle Fester (From the Adams Family!)
Anyway what a find, sadly we only stayed for one night, the welcome by Irene was lovely, the place spotless and very well maintained. It is a lovely old house with many original features. Breakfast was very good and the service was extremely efficient. We had a very happy stay on the last night of our holiday and will definitely put this one in our address book to return. keep up the good work John and Irene!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012



We are a couple from Barcelona and we have enjoyed a lot Oban. We were impressed by the guest house, owners are a lovely couple and the rooms were perfectly clean. Breakfast was complete and tasty.
To sum up, it is a place to fully recommend about and we totally would go again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anukka2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After being in a dire B & B the night before this was like heaven! Although our room was rather small it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A good hearty scottish breakfast, well cooked and well presented. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corriemar Guest House
0.5 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 94 in Oban
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maridon Guest House
Maridon Guest House
#35 of 94 in Oban
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathnaver Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathnaver Guest House

Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $91 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm highland welcome awaits you from John and Irene MacKay who have run the guest house since 1990. The house is situated on the main A85 road and stand in its own grounds with the front overlooking Oban Bay. The town centre, ferry, rail and bus and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. There is excellent free parking for all guests' vehicles. Free Wi Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Strathnaver Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathnaver Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing