We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strathnaver Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$1,184
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
86
31
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
31
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseplenty of car parkingtown centreother guestslovely guesthousegood nights sleepexcellent staybreakfast was excellentfive minute walksea frontcooked breakfastlovely viewtea and coffeebiscuitsyogurtaccommodationensuite
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 128 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A well located property with spacious grounds and adequate parking, but utterly outdated in the 21st Century. The property is clean, and well maintained but needs a complete makeover at the room price charged - the highest B & B rate we paid this holiday by almost £20 per night, and higher than hotels in Falkirk and South Queensferry the week before..

I note the comments by some reporters as to the "welcome" It has to be said that one feels like a naughty schoolboy rather than a welcome guest at check in.

Breakfast was good and the service and helpfulness at this point beyond comment. 2% surcharges on credit card payments do not sit well with high per diem room rates. We paid by traditional means

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBirdFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great family run b&b ,very friendly and helpfull ,also rooms are modern and comfortable ,good value for money,also good location for the town and pier ,recommendable

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmcd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Well what can i say that has not already been said. Thankfully in this day of the internet you can find out what somewhere is like before you go there by reading the reviews. No doubt there are some people in life who will never be happy it doesnt matter what you do for them. As my wife used to own and run a very successful hotel we know what the customer is looking for when they decide to come and stay. Take it from us you will not be disappointed if you go to the Strathnaven Guest House. We had already been there two years ago for a quiet weekend so that my wife and i could spend some quality time together. (Yes even at 64 years of age we cherish those moments). This time our daughter and partner came along with us. After driving for 5 hours to get to Oban were met by Irene who gave the four of us a great welcome. The rooms were warm and very inviting. I am not going to comment on the cleanliness of the rooms because as you will have gathered by reading the reviews that everywhere is spotless. A great nights sleep was had by all and then downstairs for breakfast. Two of us opted for cereal and toast whilst two of us opted for the full Scottish breakfast. My heart surgeon would have had a heart attack if he had seen what i ate.!!!! Certainly enough to keep me going all day. Acting on Irenes advice we decided to visit Inverary jail and spent a great day there. All in all four very happy people left Oban to go home . If Irene and John dont have room for us the next time that we plan to go to Oban then we aint going.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldman4749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Could not have recieved a nicer welcome. Lovely B&B with views. Super room, very comfortable and nicely decorated.
Breakfast - more choice than you can imagine.
Perfect location for the town.
Very helpful hosts - giving loads of advice about Oban and sight seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at The Strathnaver Guest House from 20 August until 1 September 2011 during which time we enjoyed exceptional friendliness and hospitality from our hosts John and Irene Mackay. Nothing was too much trouble for them and when they learned of the nasty fall my husband had on the Isle of Kerrera, further injuring an already damaged knee, John and Irene wouldn’t hear of us hiring a taxi to take us to the local hospital. John stopped what he was doing and happily drove us to the A&E department returning later to take us back to their guest house. A few other helpful, chauffeuring trips by John made it easier for my husband, now on crutches, and me especially as we had no car – doing our bit for the environment - we’d left the car at home and travelled by train.
To make things easier for us Irene suggested we move to a similar room on the ground floor, saying new guests could be located in the upstairs room we’d vacated. She and John also helped with the relocation of clothes and belongings.
Strathnaver enjoys a delightful situation with lovely views of the bay from the large, picture windows in both the dining room and the beautiful guests’ lounge. It is not a ‘new build’ house so retains much character while the Mackays have made an excellent job of providing the facilities which today’s travellers expect. The two en-suite rooms we had were extremely comfortable, tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean with ample wardrobe and drawer space to store our clothes and the usual ‘bits and pieces’ we’d amassed.
Public parking facilities in Oban are not great and many of the holiday accommodations charge for this facility. Guests at The Strathnaver however, enjoy ample, free and safe parking.
Breakfasts offer a good choice; they’re tasty and well presented and there’s plenty more if you need, plus you never have to wait for ages until your piping hot cooked choice appears.
Having a wealth of knowledge of the area Irene and John are always keen to help and pass on to guests information on trips, ferry bookings, the best places to visit and how to get there, and so on.
In the time before ‘the accident’ we enjoyed spectacular visits to the Islands of Mull, Staffa, Iona and Kerrera, attended the Oban Highland Games, visited the Scottish Power Centre at Falls of Cruachan, took an open deck bus trip to Seil Island and Easdale and visited the Sea Life Sanctuary near Connel Ferry. We missed out on Tiree and Barra – but that’s another reason to return again to Oban and the Starthnaver Guest House. Thank you both again for your kindness.
M & D

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morganva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews