We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B but it can be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornloe Guest House
Ranked #23 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during a family holiday, occupying 2 rooms. The location is very good for quickly reaching Oban center. Double room was very nice, at the last floor with a good view on Oban and its bay, clean and spacious. The single room was less comfortable, on the back of the house, with sufficient (but not good) cleanliness and orderliness. The breakfast was average, but not memorable. Moreover, due to high number of rooms (in my opinion, of course) the breakfast room loses a bit of "privacy".
Ultimately, I think that it could offer a quite good welcome, but that does not happen because there is a feeling too similar to that of a hotel rather then a warm B&B. In truth, it must be said that this is probably due to the fact that we stayed during the more crowded time of the year (August). Anyway, to be reviewed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RenatoPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Thornloe Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We paid extra for a sea view room with breathtaking views and I would really recommend doing so. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The little touches, such as bathrobes, decanter of sherry and chilled water were really great. There was even a fridge in the room The whole place was spotlessly clean and breakfast was tasty and generous. The guest house is on quite a steep hill, just behind the Main Street but is only a 5 minute walk. There is a beautiful decking area with fantastic views, but unfortunately the weather wasn't dry enough for us to take advantage of it. Having such a marvellous view from our room allowed us to soak up the sights of boars and ferries coming in however with a glass of wine. We had a fantastic time and would go back again.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view- well worth it
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights: the view from the bedroom window was fantastic. Everything was spotless but welcoming. Val was really friendly & the perfect host, offering suggestions of where to visit. Very close to town centre but remarkably quiet. The king-size bed we shared was blissfully comfortable. We sampled nearly everything from the breakfast menu (over 4 sittings!) and all was delicious. We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front offer fantastic views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are going to Oban and want somewhere that is central with good views, good breakfast, quality accomodation and helpful owners then this is it!

Due to the sparce train service I arrived late(more trains next year which having checked before was no problem), to be shown a warm and inviting room on the third floor. Keys to come and go as I pleased, after a filling breakfast, checking out the day on the WiFi it was a few minutes walk into the town centre. Parking is no problem if you travel by car.

Lashings of hot water and biscuits with the in room tea and coffee! What more could you want?

Visit Oan and stay at the Thornloe. I concur with other reviewers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noggin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can not fault this beautiful guest house. Everything was spotless and fresh. We stayed 2 nights in a beautiful room with a magnificent sea view. Very welcoming and everything you could possible want ...parking, excellent breakfast, central location, quiet and of course clean. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 3 ...fabulous views
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hefe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On my first trip to Scotland, this was one of the hotels that I stayed at. I only wish I had stayed more than one night because my room was amazing! I had a beautiful view of the bay, a 4 poster bed, the room was bright, beautiful and clean. Breakfast was so good, and Val was an amazing host. I love this hotel. If I make it back to Oban, this will be the place that I stay. Oban was a beautiful location with friendly people. Definitely visit Oban and stay at Thornloe if you are visiting Scotland!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The room was clean and fresh and bedding and towels where first rate.. We slept very well.

The breakfast was also excellent with a good range to choose from.

If we come that way again we will definately stay again and we;ve already reccommended it to other friends.

One word for our stay at the Thornloe. SUPERB. ;-)

Room Tip: The service is so good here that I think any room would be appreciated.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mistresswinckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Heatherfield House
Heatherfield House
#20 of 94 in Oban
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
0.1 mi away
Greystones
Greystones
#9 of 94 in Oban
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blair Villa
Blair Villa
#30 of 94 in Oban
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briarbank Guest House
0.3 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornloe Guest House

Address: Albert Road, Oban PA34 5EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $81 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House with Stunning Views across to Mull. Situated on a hill less than 5 minutes to George Street the main street in Oban. 4 of our 7 en suite rooms have sea views. Thornloe is strictly non smoking throughout house and grounds. Children over 11 welcome. 7 en suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thornloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornloe Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing