We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Margaret S” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornloe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thornloe Guest House
Ranked #20 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Margaret S”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A delightful guest house with a comfortable and well-equipped room . The beautiful sea - view made getting up in the morning a pleasure! The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful . One of the benefits was the proximity to the town which meant the car could be safely left parked at Thornloe. Val and Alan were welcoming hosts with Val being extremely helpful after I had a fall at the harbour . ( I did appreciate the cushion !)

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea-view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    49
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
157
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were lucky enough to have the room with the 4 poster bed which was very comfortable and spacious. The view from this room is spectacular and every morning of our 3 day stay when I pulled back the curtains we saw the most beautiful scenery and sunrise.... and a sperm whale which had strayed into the bay! I do hope it has survived! The situation of the house is very convenient within easy walking distance of the the town centre and the ferry terminal so we had no worries about finding parking spaces. Val is an excellent hostess and provided lovely breakfasts as well as good information about restaurants for our evening meals. When one of our party had a slight accident she couldn't have done more to be supportive and helpful. This is definitely a place we would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

From the minute I was welcomed in and shown my room, with a beautiful sunny sea view, to eating my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs breakfast the next morning, I couldn't have felt more at home and relaxed. Val and Alan are a great example of hosts who have a warm welcome for you with lots of info on hand for local attractions and restaurants, yet giving a relaxed feeling in their lovely home. I had a great sleep in the very comfortable bed and it was a very peaceful room and the lavender and heather body wash and shampoo were a lovely Scottish touch. If I had any criticism it would be that between Alan's great cooking, Val's great hosting and the very comfortable rooms they are seriously underselling themselves and their facilities with such an inexpensive rate...a definite return trip is needed....before they go up!!! :)

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cramond_cougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently chose to stay at Thornloe after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor; we were not disappointed. We stayed in Room 6 which had been advertised as having ‘a sea view’, I am often wary of these claims as ‘the view’ is often only seen if you have a very good imagination! Not so here, the view was amazing, looking out over Oban Bay across to the Isle of Mull. We were able to watch the ferries, boats coming and going and on the weekend we stayed there was even a sperm whale in the bay; I could’ve spent the entire stay just gazing out of the window.
The room was spotless and the bed enormous and extremely comfortable, I enjoyed the best nights sleep in ages.
The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice to cater for any taste all washed down with a large pot of excellent coffee. Val our host was friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even making us an early breakfast and recommending places to eat.
Location wise it's perfect, only a few minutes walk into town and access to all that Oban has to offer. We would recommend Thornloe as the place to stay in Oban. Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junkeep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

An absolutely brilliant B and B
The room was comfortable and en suite facilities very modern, the breakfasts were very very good.
The hosts were congenial and not intrusive, but available for advice and tourism tips. - we would definitely stay here again. Walking distance to town and off street parking okay.
We were here for three days and could easily have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room with harbour views are dearer, ours was not on harbour side but very very good anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Thornloe. Our Family room was large and airy, with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was delicious with everything we could ask for. We travelled with two small children who were well catered for. Val was a wonderful host. We would definately stay at Thornloe again when we come to Oban.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed several days here and had a large room with views of Oban. We also had a large ensuite. We had delicious breakfasts each morning. It is situated above the main town and is a short steep walk up the hill. There is a small area of off street parking which was fine for us as we were there out of season. There is a garden with bbq area which looked inviting but the weather was not so I dont know if guests use this when the weather is better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushkin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Sandvilla Guest House
0.5 mi away
MacKay's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.0 mi away
Heatherfield House
Heatherfield House
#16 of 99 in Oban
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornloe Guest House

Property: Thornloe Guest House
Address: Albert Road, Oban PA34 5EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House with Stunning Views across to Mull. Situated on a hill less than 5 minutes to George Street the main street in Oban. 4 of our 7 en suite rooms have sea views. Thornloe is strictly non smoking throughout house and grounds. Children over 11 welcome. 7 en suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thornloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornloe Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing