We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenrigh Guest House
Ranked #4 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The moment I walked into room number 9, it was a delight, the view was amazing. Very large room, lovely bathroom, Hugh bed,everything was unforgettable. I couldn't have wished for anything better. Thank you everybody for a lovely stay. I look forward to my return!

Room Tip: The room with sea view is a joy to behold
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    76
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
81
257
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed it. There was plenty of parking, excellent wifi and the breakfast was fantastic. The range of foods available in the cold buffet was great and the full Scottish cooked breakfast certainly set us up for the days activities! The lady who runs the b&b and her staff were all friendly and very helpful.

Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the bay. The bathroom was quite new and exceptionally clean, the shower was very good. The staff cleaned the room every morning whilst we were at breakfast with ninja like efficiency!

The only things we would have liked was some facilities for smokers, and a bath in the room. But overall we very much enjoyed our stay and if we were to visit Oban again we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie_F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a lovely Victorian house still retaining some architectural splendour, the stair case is a fine example of the era. The stairs are a bit of a challenge with your cases if your room is on the top floor. New extensions have been added with sympathy to the bilding.
Our room was on the top floor with a good view of the Kerrera Sound, the shower room seemed to be a fairly recent intallation of very good quality and excellent standard of cleanliness. There was no road noise but there was some whistling wind noise from the window area, a light sleeper could have problems.

The breakfasts have an excellent variation of cold buffet and traditional cooked food, quality is high and you won't be hungry until your evening meal time.
Staff are very friendly and smile as the look after you, nothing is an effort to them. We were amazed to find that our room had been cleaned and prepared whilst we were at breakfast, the welcoming sherry in a decanter in our room was very much appreciated as was the sample of malt whiskey in the hall.

Easy road access and spacious parking facilities are just the icing on the cake.

We will be back to visit Scotland and the friendly hospitallity, if in Oban we would defintely stay at Glenrigh.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room, if stairs are a problem mention this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Great short stay in Oban at the Glenrigh Guest House. Ample parking for all guest cars, fairly central location, lovely room with beautiful sea view, and friendly attentive staff.
Breakfast was a delight with a vast choice of food, freshly cooked and from the cold buffet.
Guest information was readily available about restaurants, places to go and things to do.
We will definitely return on our next visit to Oban.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were delighted by this hotel, more so than the other place we stayed in Oban. The building was beautiful with a grand staircase. We had an oceanview room, and the facilities were lovely. Nice shower and exceptionally good breakfast! The only downside was that the bed was a little hard, but it was very nice to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This B&B is located in a stately building on right on Oban's promenade overlooking the bay. Our family room was in the annex, so there was no seaview, but you could sleep with the window open and enjoy the fresh air. The room was clean and nicely furnished, next to the coffee and tea amenities there was Sherry offered, which is quite unique! The bathroom has a shower only, but hot water was available instantly. There's also good Wifi reception in the room.

We weren't too happy with the 2 single beds, which were on the small side and had slightly aged boxspring matresses, which you could feel everytime you turned around. The children shared a sofa bed, which was fine.

The breakfast served at Glenrigh Guest House was the best in our entire Scotland trip. Lots of choice (full Scottish, smoked salmon, sweet ot hearty pancakes) plus toast, cereals, yoghurt, toast and fresh fruit. Superb!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex which is were the family rooms are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilaAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The lady running the guest house was very pleasant and very helpful. There is a variety of delicious foods on offer for breakfast and always plenty of it.The rooms are very clean, spacious, tea, coffee and biscuits in room, they tidy them every day and they offer to change your towels everyday. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Glenrigh and would recommend it to everyone :-) Oban is a spectacular place to visit beautiful scenery and friendly people. Thanks for making our stay a very warm and pleasant one. k x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrigh Guest House

Property: Glenrigh Guest House
Address: Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenrigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenrigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenrigh Guest House Hotel Oban
Glenrigh Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing