We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place of good value in Oban”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenrigh Guest House
Ranked #4 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a decent guesthouse that is just outside, but within walking distance, of town.
I'd describe it as a 2-3 star facility, fine for casual travel with the family.
The rooms work but are a bit dated. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDDododuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Glenrigh Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 467 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family and loved every minute of our stay. Iona,Gilbert and the staff pull out all the stops to make you feel at home and welcome.Nice touches as well like sherry decanters in the rooms and whiskey decanter in the hall to help yourselves to. Breakfast has the best choice I have ever had at a guest house before and all the food is quality produce.
We were in room 8 which was big enough with a lovely view of Oban Bay with a great super king size bed. Next time we would ask for room 9 as it was slightly bigger.
Will definitely be back.

Dougie,Anne Marie & wee Eilidh.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 or 9.Great views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hafc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

There is just one disappointment with this Guest House. It is not possible to rate it better than EXCELLENT. My wife and I spend a travelling break here,occupying Room 8 on the 9th. of July this year. A lovely view from the large windows over the Bay. Very nicely furnished, and nicely furnished throughout. We were even provided with a complimentary decanter of sherry in the room for our pre-dinner drink . We set off the following morning after the heartiest of breakfasts.
If we were to be in the area again we would most definitely stay here again.
We cannot understand anyone finding any complaints at all with regard to the standards of this Guest House.

Room Tip: Speak to Iona
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baranda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Iona gave us a lovely welcome after our long drive from London, the rooms were beautiful and pristine with everything we needed.
Our ground floor room was spacious with a nice big shower and huge windows but sadly no net curtain so the room has little privacy from the car park, (here I must apologise to the man sitting outside the hotel opposite drinking his early morning tea who I accidentally flashed!)
The breakfast was amazing, my daughter had the fresh fruit pancakes which looked spectacular.
We only stayed for one night before our trip to the western Isles but if I were staying longer in Oban I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: The ground floor sea view room is a beautiful room but don't walk out of the en-suit butt naked!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fobgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

On arrival at Glenrigh we were greeted by Iona, made to feel very welcome, shown to our enormous bay fronted ground floor room with a queen size bed and stunning sea views. Decanter of complimentary sherry in our room was a very nice touch. Breakfast was fantastic, couldn't have had more choice, staff were very attentive and professional. Food was exceptional with a huge choice including pancake stack with bacon and fried egg and a fruit version for vegetarians. Good honest home cooking. Ample parking and an excellent sea front location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerwife67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for two separate nights before and after a 9 day trip to the Outer Hebrides. We loved the view across the bay from the guest house. We had asked for a sea view and could just about see the bay from our open window at the side of the house! The window in this bedroom is very large , we were in room 4, and it felt a bit overlooked by the owners house across the way and people in the car park outside. Maybe blinds or nets would afford more privacy , we had to close the curtains which made it dark. The welcome was warm and the breakfast superb and the cost was not excessive for the standard of the accommodation. The duvet was a bit heavy for the time of year , which meant we were too hot in bed, and if we folded down the duvet we just had a sheet which was then too cold! But all in all we would definitiely return to stay here and want to thank the owners for their hospitality and high standards.The sherry decanter in the rooms is something we haven't found anywhere else! I think my husband was secretly hoping for whisky!

Room Tip: If you want a bay view make sure you have a room with a window at the front of the house.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely B&B with beautiful views of the bay. Hostess was very friendly, room lovely, clean and a good size. Our stay in Oban was unplanned as we meant to head straight to Mull, but really happy we happened over this place as it gave a great way to start the holiday.

Room Tip: We were in the, what seemed, purpose built extension behind the main building. Room was plenty big...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKGtoLDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrigh Guest House

Address: Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $139 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenrigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenrigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenrigh Guest House Hotel Oban
Glenrigh Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing