We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenrigh Guest House
Ranked #3 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Iona gave us a lovely welcome after our long drive from London, the rooms were beautiful and pristine with everything we needed.
Our ground floor room was spacious with a nice big shower and huge windows but sadly no net curtain so the room has little privacy from the car park, (here I must apologise to the man sitting outside the hotel opposite drinking his early morning tea who I accidentally flashed!)
The breakfast was amazing, my daughter had the fresh fruit pancakes which looked spectacular.
We only stayed for one night before our trip to the western Isles but if I were staying longer in Oban I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: The ground floor sea view room is a beautiful room but don't walk out of the en-suit butt naked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fobgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    73
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
75
237
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

On arrival at Glenrigh we were greeted by Iona, made to feel very welcome, shown to our enormous bay fronted ground floor room with a queen size bed and stunning sea views. Decanter of complimentary sherry in our room was a very nice touch. Breakfast was fantastic, couldn't have had more choice, staff were very attentive and professional. Food was exceptional with a huge choice including pancake stack with bacon and fried egg and a fruit version for vegetarians. Good honest home cooking. Ample parking and an excellent sea front location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerwife67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for two separate nights before and after a 9 day trip to the Outer Hebrides. We loved the view across the bay from the guest house. We had asked for a sea view and could just about see the bay from our open window at the side of the house! The window in this bedroom is very large , we were in room 4, and it felt a bit overlooked by the owners house across the way and people in the car park outside. Maybe blinds or nets would afford more privacy , we had to close the curtains which made it dark. The welcome was warm and the breakfast superb and the cost was not excessive for the standard of the accommodation. The duvet was a bit heavy for the time of year , which meant we were too hot in bed, and if we folded down the duvet we just had a sheet which was then too cold! But all in all we would definitiely return to stay here and want to thank the owners for their hospitality and high standards.The sherry decanter in the rooms is something we haven't found anywhere else! I think my husband was secretly hoping for whisky!

Room Tip: If you want a bay view make sure you have a room with a window at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely B&B with beautiful views of the bay. Hostess was very friendly, room lovely, clean and a good size. Our stay in Oban was unplanned as we meant to head straight to Mull, but really happy we happened over this place as it gave a great way to start the holiday.

Room Tip: We were in the, what seemed, purpose built extension behind the main building. Room was plenty big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGtoLDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Glenrigh Guest House after our return from the Isle of Coll. Unfortunately it was only overnight. If I come back again it will be for a longer stay. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide range of food available. the view from the front yard is great - ferry's coming in and out. A nice walk into center of Oban and restuarants. My wife forgot her favorite small pillow and she called and they graciously shipped it to the USA. Staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck6491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights at the start of a Highlands road trip in the second half of May with my daughter, using it as a base for the area and specifically, visits to Mull, Iona & Staffa. We were in room 8, which offers stunning panoramic views of the bay, super-comfy beds, great bathroom & overall excellent facilities. Everything is clean & elegant, and there are lovely little extras – sweets in the entrance hall & sherry in the room to name only two – that make the difference between "good" & "excellent". Owners Gilbert & Iona seem to have thought of everything. They are a great team, running a slick operation with pride, commitment & meticulous attention to detail. As hosts, they couldn't have been more welcoming, warm & accommodating. Nothing, it would seem, is too much trouble. On our first morning we needed to be at the ferry pier for 07:30 AM – a very early start for the highly-recommended Early Bird Special 3-Islands tour. Not only were we presented with delicious, perfectly cooked bacon & eggs & tea at 7:00 AM (a full hour before the regular breakfast service begins) but Gilbert also ran us the mile or so into town in his car so we didn't have to find all-day parking (very difficult in Oban) or call for a taxi. Yet another example of those lovely little extras. We sampled the full cooked breakfast menu on our second morning – what a delight! Super food, beautifully presented & cheerful, friendly, efficient service. I'm already looking forward to returning here next year & have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who is looking for that extra special "something" while visiting Oban.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked Glenrigh for the start of our (camping trip) to the Outer Hebrides and so enjoyed it that we booked it again to celebrate the end of our holiday. We would now find it hard not to return to this high class act next time we are in Oban. As others have said, excellent, full range of breakfast choice, good parking and a short walk along the prom to the main town. Our first room in the attic (we booked late) had a lovely view at the back, but as we had been camping, Iona took pity on us and selected a room with more space and a view of the sea for our return... much appreciated. Also loved the discussions about haggis and black pudding, and as I type this one of the haggis is in the oven... just need to sort out which malt to start off with...Thank you, we will be back and hoe the weather will be as kind to us.. can't really beat a cuppa tea on the front lawn watching the ferries come in and out.

Room Tip: Room 4.. bedroom with separate sitting area and view of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.3 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenrigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenrigh Guest House

Property: Glenrigh Guest House
Address: Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenrigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenrigh Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenrigh Guest House Hotel Oban
Glenrigh Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing