We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful staff and management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wide Mouthed Frog
Ranked #39 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have used the Frog for the last few years because of its location but this year will be the last. Staff are dreadful. Bar staff can't serve and won't serve. Takes forever to get served. Place is run to the chef's demands not the customers'. Breakfast is advertised from 0800-0930. Chef didn't turn up til 0800 so we had to miss it. Next day tried to get breakfast in an empty restaurant at 0915 but the chef was pretty much shutting up shop already. It's just a surly atmosphere in what could be such a good wee place. Everything is an effort to them. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awooga71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for The Wide Mouthed Frog
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 273 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited during west highland yachting week and were treated appallingly. We were consistently ignored at the bar, the breakfast chef turned up late so we couldn't have breakfast in time for sailing and on the last day when we turned up asking for breakfast at 9.15 am we were told we couldnt be accommodated despite service being advertised until 9.30 am. We were offered some breakfast rolls but were rudely told we were not allowed to sit at tables. They really need to get a grip and start trying to be pleasant to their customers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Spilly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fabulous location on the marina. Don't be put of by the outside the inside is really nice. Food was good and reasonable prices.service was a bit inexperienced but friendly.Room and ensuite were lovely but could do with a bigger than 18inch tv screen
Overall an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1AMCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had been out for the day in Oban and on the way back to our holiday cottage at fort William there was a road traffic accident and the road was closed overnight so we needed somewhere to stay. It was 11pm when we arrived here having been looking for bed and breakfasts but not having any luck. They had two rooms available that needed servicing so whilst we had a few drinks in the bar they quickly got the rooms ready, they were so friendly and accommodating after we had been stuck in the traffic queue for more than four hours was so lovely to be greeted with such a welcome. The rooms were very comfortable, and so we finally got a good nights sleep. Excellent home cooked breakfast in the morning and very reasonable price. Will definitely stay here again some time :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithstoneley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I really loved this hotel. From the moment we arrived, Cathryn made us very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and I was always met with a smile.

The location was great, relaxing and tranquil with arguably better seafood than in Oban itself.
It was utterly relaxing sitting with glass of wine in hand looking out towards the marina.

The room itself (room 1) was spotless and all facilities you would want. Good quality furniture, flat screen tv and lovely comfortable bed. The bathroom was immaculate.

Breakfast was first rate and Cathryn even catered to my individual breakfast request with no hesitation of fuss.

I felt extremely welcomed and looked after.

The hotel location is great, a short trip into Oban and lovely to return to.

I look forward to my next trip to the Wide Mouthed Frog! Thank you Cathryn and your excellent team. A great business through and through.

Room Tip: There are some separate chalet style rooms with their own balcony which I was looking at enviously a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

When travelling on the Hebrides ferries, we've stopped overnight in some dreadful smelly dated dusty old rooms in Oban's town centre hotels. The Frog for us is now a clean alternative.
For a quiet lie down after a good fish supper, the Frog has always given us a good sleep before our journey ctd. southwards.
Staff have always been friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Marina view gives an open vista if you need it
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great location, good accommodation, but badly let down by poor quality of customer service, from the two managers who seemed to lack any experience of the hospitality industry. Lack of ambience,in bar area which was poorly stocked and offered little choice. Surly chef who refused on two occasions at breakfast to cook an omelette! Breakfast seating area had food remains on the floor and uncleared tables despite being quiet. Breakfast was poor, and lacked effort and imagination. No effort to make their customers feel welcomed and looked after. Could be a great business if managed by the right people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.9 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
482 reviews
2.7 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,792 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oyster Inn
Oyster Inn
#3 of 8 in Connel
335 reviews
2.7 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wide Mouthed Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wide Mouthed Frog

Address: Dunstaffnage Marina, Oban, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $122 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wide Mouthed Frog 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Wide Mouthed Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wide Mouthed Frog Hotel Oban
The Wide Mouthed Frog Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing