We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best moules?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wide Mouthed Frog
Ranked #42 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night July 2012. Room was clean with wonderful views over marina even in the rain! Evening meal in busy restaurant had the fattest moules mariniere ever seen and the king scallops were delicious although too much balsamic. Agree with others that TV was far too small.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking yacht marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimPamRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in a disabled ground floor room, it was nicely furnished and clean. The tv is tiny. The first day I had to give my husband a shower he'd only been in it a couple of minutes and the water went stone cold, as I was part way he had to finish with a very cold rinse. I left it half hour and the water was hot again, so I also had a very quick shower which ended up going cold.I phoned the reception and the girl was very helpful and got in touch with the owner who arrived a couple of hours later and said he would get it fixed the next day. The restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was of a very high standard and breakfast was excellent. The staff are very friendly. We really enjoyed it there despite the cold shower, it is a few miles out of Oban and needs to come down a bit in price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This look great on the website but turned out to be in need of renovation. I can only comment on our room of course which was a disabled room. The shower curtain was disgusting, the shower floor was slimey when wet, we only got one shower out of the available hot water before it turned cold, the televison microscopic, the window blinds were broken and hanging badly and there were a number of less significant things wrong with the room that I won't mention as I am not going to be picky. However if you lumped everything together it told the story of a once nicely furnished room which had seen better days and was in serious need of renovation. It was overpriced and was only worth £40 per night....it was a real dissapointment. On a plus we had to leave early to catch a ferry and as it was too early for breakfast we were offered a packed lunch [which we didn't take advantage of] which we thought was a nice thought. We won't be staying again needless to say.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spent a night at The Wide Mouthed Frog. The welcoming was friendly and had that 'staying at a friends house' feel to it, which is what I like. The member of staff was really helpful and was a good laugh aswell as easy to have a conversation with and would even come out to have a bit of banter, which is a nice touch.
The room was a bit on the small side, but that wasn't really a problem. The view was beautiful. My only tiny complaint is the style of the bed coverings, they were a little old fashioned looking.

The breakfast in the morning was really nice and again the service is nice and relaxed. They also didn't 'rush' us out the hotel either. I think check out is 11am, but they give you time at your own pace.

Definitely would consider staying here again when we visit Oban again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We drank and sat out on the grass area ...beer and setting were great!

next time we went in we ordered fish and chips and kids fish and chips....both really fresh, and tasty! Kids devoured the food!

Friendly and fast service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here with friends in adjoining rooms on a day when the weather was very poor. However the welcome was warm and friendly and the service was excellent. The excellent food in the restaurant was reasonable priced and very tasty. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If staying as 2 couples, rooms 6 and 7 are great and accessed through a private dedicated entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way to Kintyre. We loved this place! The room was large and comfortable and our Labrador was welcome too. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant, and then relaxed in the bar with our dog at our feet. The breakfast was very good too, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is excellent: lovely view of the marina and islands, and a very convenient place to stay. We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
2.9 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
1.9 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
843 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oyster Inn
Oyster Inn
#3 of 8 in Connel
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wide Mouthed Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wide Mouthed Frog

Address: Dunstaffnage Marina, Oban, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $119 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wide Mouthed Frog 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your The Wide Mouthed Frog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wide Mouthed Frog Hotel Oban
The Wide Mouthed Frog Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing