We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Glorious views from a fine old house”
other travelers have booked this property
Creag-an-Fhithich From The Loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Creag-an-Fhithich From The Loch
Orange Winter Sunset A Golden Late Summer Evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Creag-an-Fhithich From The Loch
Orange Winter Sunset
A Golden Late Summer Evening
The Kitchen
The Dining Room
The Sitting Room
The Downstairs Hallway
The Pink Room and Bathroom
The Blue Room
The Green Room
A Red Squirrel - trying to get into the food box
The Wildflower Garden Path
Low Tide
Winter Day
Scenic Walk. Take a stroll along the track to Ardmaddy and pass the famous wishing tree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
oldromant...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glorious views from a fine old house”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The great attraction of Creag-an-Fhithich is the view from the front door across the sea loch to the hills beyond. Breakfast, lunch, teatime, evening drinks, supper, late-night scotch, there was never a moment when it was less than perfect. We did have astonishingly good weather, but the view would be magical in any conditions. There are also easy walks nearby. The house is spacious and comfortable, and if it's a bit retro that's half of its charm. It has the welcoming feel of a family home. The kitchen is well stocked and everything was easy to find. We also liked the 'secret garden' just beyond the main garden. For activities, we recommend David Ainsley's Sea Life Adventures boat trip out to see the seals, porpoises and whales (the latter if you're lucky)--he's well informed and full of interesting details. For drinking, we recommend the Oban single malt as being perfectly balanced (we tried several...)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2018
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay on Loch Melfort after such a long journey from Singapore! The secret garden (also known as The Wilderness) is a work in progress that nature always wins! Glad everything was to your liking, including the local whisky! Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
npgriffit...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Wonderful and comfortable traditional stone house in a spectacular waterfront setting . Beautiful gardens with scenic barbecue area. Will be sure to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2018
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and managed a barbecue too! Look forward to your return visit sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare021
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We spent a wonderful week here a few years ago and promised ourselves we would go back. We managed it this year and weren’t disappointed. The cottage is in a beautiful location with stunning views across the Loch. The house is spacious and well appointed, with everything you could need, including lobster crackers and seafood picks - we recommend the fresh lobster and crab from the Seafood Hut in Oban. We had a couple of cool days so really appreciated the log burner in the sitting room. There is lovely garden to relax in but also plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. The owners are very helpful and both booking and checking in are easy. We very much hope to return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2018
We are always especially delighted to welcome back returners! I hope you noticed some improvements in the garden and the house. The Oban Seafood Hut is a must-go-to for fish eaters. We are glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A lovely, very well equipped house”
Reviewed June 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful location on loch. Many historic and scenic places to visit in the area and a week was not sufficient to do and see all that we planned. House spacious and ideal for our extended family. Highlights included visit to Easdale Island, boat trip to Corrievrechan Whirlpool and exploring Kilmartin Glen. Oban and sea life centre good for a wet day. Only disappointment failure to climb Munro near Ben Cruachan because of very bad weather!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2018
We are very pleased that you were able to use the house as a base for your very busy week. You should come again to bag your Munro on a better day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
638suzie
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Holiday Home in a STUNNING location”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Creag-an-Fhithich for a family holiday in June 2017 and it did not disappoint. There was ample room for all 9 of us (including a toddler) and so much to see and do in the surrounding area. (Highlights include Arduaine Gardens, Oban Distillery, Day trip to Mull, so many Castles/ beautiful drives and our absolute favourite, the art hut on the other side of the Bridge over the Atlantic)!
The House itself is charming with stunning views across the Loch and has all the necessities you could need. Easy to book and very friendly.
We had such a super holiday and will most certainly be returning to Creag-an-Fhithich .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted that you had a good time in Argyll and enjoyed Creag-an-Fhithich. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archie199
Bristol
1 review
“A lovely family home with an incredible view.”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a lovely, roomy comfortable home with all of the amenities that you could desire (even a garlic press). The views are astonishing and the wildlife is abundant; the seals were a particular highlight. We had a fabulous week doing local walks and visiting Oban.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your walks in the area and visited Oban. Glad that the garlic press came in handy and that you liked the house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W
St. Bees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday, wonderful house”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at Creag-an-Fhithich in late July / early August with family and had a great time. The house is spacious and well kept, with a well stocked kitchen and beautiful views from the front. My 2 young boys loved playing hide and seek in the house and exploring the garden.
There were plenty of things in the area to keep us occupied during our 2 week stay. Lovely walks (short and long), nice gardens (not just Arduaine, but others on Seil too), and days out. We had a day trip to Mull, and a day out on the Jacobite train as well several days exploring Seil and Easdale Island).
We saw lots of wildlife both local to the house and further afield: Heron and seal from the front window, a sea otter just to the west near Melfort pier, Golden Eagles near Loch Awe, and again near Crinan. And then on a boat trip from Seil, we saw porpoise and the giant Sea Eagles.
Can't recommend this place enough - would love to come back again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review. We fully agree with you that Creag-an-Fhithich is a grand place to base a west coast of Scotland holiday on, however we could be accused of having a slight bias.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing