We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxed”
Review of Oban Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oban Backpackers
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly and relaxed”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight as it made an ideal starting point for a cycling trip out of Oban. The hostel is in a great central location with good facilities, high level of cleanliness and relaxed vibe. Free Wi-Fi is certainly welcomed - take note SYHA!

Great value too, recommended!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Cycle trip finished in oban.7 guys so booked out a dorm. Clean tidy and comfortable. Had a meal and a few beers in oban and then back for comfortable sleep. Had earplugs in so heard no noise. Scone for breakfast wss incredible. .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsa360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

So cheap, so central, so easy ! So i will be back in the near future.
As above clean and friendly.
We were actually upgraded and accidentally had breakfast with the owner. Which is by the by. He was pleasant and answered all our tedious tourist questions dutifully and politely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milesr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

you feel like you walk into a little community and everyone is very helpful and warm the receptionist who helped me check in,plan my journey,let me in drunk and generally smiled at me was greaaaat !! I stayed in Homer and the beds are really good they put this sheet on which keeps our feet warm nice touch!!

Room Tip: room 6 all the way !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss-p-piggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We backpacked around Scotland recently and this by far was the best hostel! Great comfy (and sturdy) beds, clean facilities. a fantastic kitchen and lounge area. The daily fresh soup made was also amazing! A really friendly hostel in a cool wee town. Plus they do your washing for you for a small fee, so that was a godsend when travelling out of a suitcase/backpack.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

With an incredibly friendly and laid back atmosphere, Oban Backpackers hostel is perfectly situated just a minutes walk from the towns centre and harbour, and offers clean and spacious interiors. Very friendly, helpful and attentive staff, nice touches like free tea and coffee, pool table, open fire and the "honesty-box help-yourself breakfast" all add to the communal vibe here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBeck1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlliOBAN, Manager at Oban Backpackers, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi JoeBack1987,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time here with us! It's great to hear that you had a relaxing couple of days here.

We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon - perhaps for some more hillwalking?!

Cheers from Alli and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Oban Backpackers is by far the most comfy, clean, and friendly hostel I have ever stayed in.

I originally came here so as to find other long-term accommodation for the summer, but I found the staff and long-term residents so friendly that I have settled here for much longer that originally planned.

The hostel is comfortable, laid-back, and kept impeccably clean, and has plenty that sets it apart from the crowd. A wood burning fire (which really helps on the colder nights), a beautiful painted mural on the wall above (a massive map of the local area), and freshly baked scones for breakfast.

In short Oban Backpackers is more like home than any other hostel or hotel I have ever visited (and even some of the homes I've had), and that is the highest praise possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlliOBAN, Manager at Oban Backpackers, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Jack S,

Thank you very much for your review, your praise is really appreciated; it tells us we are doing our jobs well :)

A home away from home is exactly what we are aiming to achieve and it is gratifying to know that for you we have succeeded.

As you will have seen over the past weeks, our wall mural has had a makeover and is now brighter and busier than ever!

Wishing you all the best on your new life here in Oban!!

Cheers from all the crew.
-Alli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Backpackers

Property: Oban Backpackers
Address: Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5NZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Under New Management & Completely Refurbished in May 2013**The Original Oban Backpackers is perfectly located to enable you to make the most of your time in Oban. Just a 10 minute stroll from the bus, train and ferry terminals, our friendly hostel has everything you will need after a great day out exploring. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oban Backpackers Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing