We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystones
Ranked #10 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I spent 2 nights at Mark & Suzanne's stunning home.
On arrival I was warmly welcomed by Mark & Suzanne, I was then shown where everything was and shown to my room (room4) a standard double on the first floor overlooking Oban, all I can say is wow.
The room is stunning well decorated and furnished every attention to detail is thought of.
The bed is very comfortable which made for a good nights sleep with quality bedding.
There is good storage space in the room.
Tv with a good selection of channels and good wifi with no signal issues.
Tea, coffee, bottled water with biscuits is supplied.
The ensuite is beautiful a good warm powerful shower with toiletries provided and nice soft towels.
Breakfast in the morning is excellent you have a good choice of continental or cooked, the food is excellent and fills you up for the day.
Mark & Suzanne are warm friendly hosts they make you welcome in their lovely home.
Their house is very comfortable where you can relax and enjoy your stay.
The view from your room watching the ferries go back and forward and the scenery is fantastic.
Highly recommended with excellent levels of comfort and service.

Room Tip: All rooms would be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saltire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 212 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is our first ever review on Tripadvisor but as this has to be the best B&B we've stayed in, felt compelled to share our experience. The turret room really is something else, with stunning views over both the harbour and the Sound of Kerrera. The room itself was immaculately clean with great seating in the walk-in bay window which was perfect for sitting in with a glass of wine (wine glasses and corkscrew thoughtfully provided) watching the sun go down over the harbour. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean with a fabulous deep bath in the centre of the room and a wonderfully unique walk through shower. Mark and Suzanne's hospitality is second to none with lots of tips on where to eat and how to make the best of Oban and surrounding area. As the road which runs alongside Loch Lomand was down to a single carriageway at the time of our visit, Mark recommended an alternative route home via Inveraray. We're so glad he did as this route was much more scenic. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. We highly recommend the porridge with whisky and brown sugar! The fresh fruit was very nice too.
We had a lovely few days in Oban and the highlight was certainly staying in this B&B. The only problem we had was dragging ourselves away from the views from our fantastic room. Wow!

Room Tip: The turret room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Not_Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Fabulous B+B in the heart of Oban, perfect for a luxurious night away in the middle of winter. It doesn’t matter what the weather is like outside (bad, in our case) as it is the ideal excuse to indulge in beautiful surroundings (and a bottle of wine!). Mark and Suzanne are great hosts - welcoming but not intrusive. Breakfast will set you up for the day (whisky porridge is a must, at this time of year!). We stayed in the turret suite which is amazing, particularly the bathroom with a bath in the middle of the room and a marble fireplace. Can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the turret suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandman-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a bedroom with a harbour view. The room itself was spacious, beautifully decorated and very clean. Laura and Andrew did everything in their power to ensure that we felt welcome: greeting us at the door on arrival (as well as both bidding us farewell!), giving us useful hints and tips to enjoying Oban and its surrounding area (Andrew's idea to walk around the Isle of Kerrera we especially enjoyed).

Everything throughout the house is maintained to facilitate the guests' comfort: the guest lounge is arranged with a folder, filled with hints and tips for things to do and photocopies of maps for walking enthusiasts; there is a cupboard filled with books and DVDs for rainy nights in; and a decanter of sherry for a pre-dinner drink.

The breakfast was excellent and served in the beautiful dining room with views over the Oban Harbour. All-in-all a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camila_rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polomarco, Owner at Greystones, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Greystones (though you appear to have copied our names from the previous incorrect review!).
Mark and Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

In the hill of Oban is the Greystone Guesthouse just a 5 minutes walk from the main street. Already the outside of this old building looked very nice and inside you will get a warm welcome from Laura and Andrew.
The rooms are spacious and even look larger with the white paint and the high ceilings. They are decently furnished and decorated in a modern fashion. With a sight over the bay of Orban that I would like to say is priceless. WiFi throughout the building, a lounge with literature, sherry and recommendations of the local restaurants complete this high class service.
Breakfast is rich and with fresh ingredients on the cooked as well as on the buffet side.

Overall a very good Guesthouse which is worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darktemptation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polomarco, Owner at Greystones, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Many thanks for your review of Greystones and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here last August (though you appear to have mixed up our names with someone else!).
Mark and Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

If your look for somewhere to stay in or around Oban then Greystones is the place! We stayed in the large sea double and it was incredible, everything from the stunning view to the brilliant bathroom. Mark and Suzanne were lovely hosts very welcoming friendly and helpful, plus the breakfast are fantastic both in taste and choice. You really couldn't stay in a better b&b.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Square19902001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had the opportunity to be in Oban in October 2013 and chose to stay at Greystones. There are many B&B accommodations in Oban but we chose Greystones due to the wonderful reviews that were posted on Trip Advisor. The Turret room room was recommended and so we went for it. WOW, WOW, WOW is all we have to say. When we arrived we were graciously greeted by Mark and Suzanne the owners who checked us in. We had seen pictures online of this room and you always wonder how true the room is to the photos but in this case it exceeded our expectations. The room is filled with comfort and luxury. The panoramic views of Oban from the room are incredible and the bathroom OVERSIZED and opulent. The breakfast menu also fabulous! All we can say is you simply MUST stay here! Thank you Mark and Suzanne.

Room Tip: Go for the Turret room as it is so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hindy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,840 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Aspen Lodge Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones

Address: 1 Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $145 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greystones 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand baronial townhouse with stunning views of Oban bay, Greystones combines luxury and comfort with unique contemporary interiors. Elegant bedrooms with Egyptian cotton bed linen. Designer bathrooms with indulgent baths and luxury toiletries. Imaginative breakfasts featuring smoked salmon, kedgeree and the traditional Scottish breakfast. Relax and unwind in style with friendly personal service and exceptional attention to detail. A hidden gem in the heart of Oban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Greystones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing