We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, lovely boutique hotel!! Very clean & modern through out, staff were all friendly. Parked nearby no issue at all nearly no hotels have parking in Oban. Breakfast was nice & a little bit different will defiantly be staying here again!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! It's great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to The Ranald Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again if you happen to return to Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    249
    93
    26
    11
See reviews for
95
510
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, Fife
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel to be spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Lewis who was chatty and showed a genuine interest in the customers. Price was good and location was central. We will return the next time we want a trip to Oban.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving such a kind review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel, so much that you are going to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the next few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a lovely break at the Ranald. The room was modern and well equipped and we were just a short walk to the front. Parking is a bit limited but that was not a huge problem. The staff were very friendly and we will definitely be back to this hotel. I would strongly recommend the a Ranald.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us a lovely review on TripAdvisor! We love to get such positive comments from our guests and I will make sure they are passed on to all the staff. Thank you once again and I'm very delighted to hear that you will recommend our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked late on our IPhone. Everything was fine at reception, We had a warm welcome and were shown to our fully equipped room which was very comfortable. There was only a shower in the spotless bathroom.

There was no view because we were at the back of the hotel, but that did not bother us. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the lounge. They only have a small pantry but everything they turned out was first class.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We will stay at the Ranald when we are next in Oban.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay at The Ranald Hotel and liked all our modern amenities that are included in our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great boutique hotel in Oban. Spotlessly clean. Our room was small, however we expected that as it was advertised as a compact double room.Great Bathroom with good power shower, beautiful white luxurious towels.Breakfast was lovely with a choice to suit most tastes. Staff were excellent, any request we made was accommodated with a smile. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving a review of The Ranald Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and will recommend The Ranald to your friends and family. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aviemore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great hotel for our first stay in oban. We chose the grand room which was of a high standard and comfortable although i must admit we were rarely in the room as we were always out sampling obans scenery and activities.
A special shout out to Lewis who looked after us with professional courtesy.
If i can suggest one thing to the hotel please get a private parking area for your guests as the meters outside are not cheap at 80p for 40 minutes although its free between 6pm- 9am.
We would highly recommend the Ranald and will be back sooner than later

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmcgowan142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Ranald Hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Lewis is a great asset to our team and works very hard to provide excellent customer service so I will let him know his great work is being recognised. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is spotlessly clean. We got a great deal through an offer booked early and got a grand room. Comfy bed, well appointed room,superb hot shower and a great breakfast.
Not sure if I could have expected more really. Central location ideal for town centre, ferries, railway station.
No lift so it may not be great for everyone but it keeps the bus trippers away!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benthespaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! It's great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to The Ranald Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
961 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing