We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee hotel but stick with standard room”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great staff and surprising variety at breakfast, despite having no proper kitchen. The rooms are really comfy and very clean but don't pay to upgrade from a standard. We did, for £25 per night extra; plus points - two tiny chocolates and two small bottles of water on the first day (not replenished) and a small sofa at the end of the room (from where you can't see the tv). Minus points- upgraded rooms are no bigger than standard but the bathroom is reduced to half size to make room for the sofa and deluxe rooms are at the back of the hotel looking onto a cliff rather than over the street like standard rooms. Overall a really nice hotel but standard rooms are better than the more expensive upgraded ones.

Room Tip: Don't pay to upgrade rooms. Standard rooms have a bigger bathroom and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Ranald. Tripadvisor is a great way of letting future guests get an understanding of the hotel by people who have actually stayed and experienced our establishment. The chocolates are handmade especially for us by a local company and although we don't routinely replenish those particular items they are available on request. I will, however look in to perhaps changing this. Being on a side street we don't have the sea views at The Ranald and we can't hide the cliff at the back, but it does ensure that they are our quietest rooms The rooms are bigger than our standard and have superkingsize beds rather than kingsize. I'm happy that your overall impression was good and we hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 840 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Ranald for two nights. It was a great experience. In spite of the fact that it is off season in Oban, the staff were so helpful and knowledgeable making sure we saw all the sites and even helped us book tours. It is in a great location, if you're there to pass through or to spend some time as it is close to transit. Breakfast was fabulous, the facility was neat and clean and at a great price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorJandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

I can't thank you enough for your wonderful review. I passed your comments on to my staff and they are always delighted to know that our guests have left us having had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We are all dedicated at The Ranald to helping our guests in whatever way we can. I hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you come to Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just had a wonderful 2 night stay at The Ranald Hotel in Oban. We took advantage of a Groupon deal and have to say it was great. The two restaurants (The Waterfront and the Cuon Mor) were also part of the deal and served fantastic food. The Hotel itself was very modern and comfortable with some quirky touches and whilst it does not have a sea view a two minute walk away you are right down on to the waterfront and after all who wants to stay in their room anyway?? Breakfast was more continental than 'fry up' however the baked eggs are supberb. Thanks to the Ranald and we will be back.
Linda and John Fullelove
xx

Room Tip: Restaurant marks are based on the Waterfront and Cuon Mor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Linda & John, I can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience of The Ranald with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. I have passed on your kind comments not only to the staff here but to the staff at our restaurants too. It always gives the staff a boost to hear that they have helped make someones stay special. The Groupon deals have been very popular and we have our own planned for later in the year. The breakfast is certainly different to what people are used to, but I'm glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our one night stay in the Ranald was a very pleasant surprise indeed. Having stayed in a number of more "traditional" hotels in Oban over the years, this was a real change for the better. Modern, clean, cosy and with excellent service, it will certainly be our venue of choice for future visits to the area. Breakfast was a little quirky - but none the worse for it - and actually fitted in completely with the rest of the Ranald “metro” experience. They certainly make the very best use of the available space in the bar/dining room/reception area! The two guys behind the bar could not have been friendlier and were clearly eager to help. Our room (a standard double) was front facing and, whilst not huge, it was well appointed and perfectly in line with the boutique theme of the place. There was a terrific shower in the compact, but perfectly adequate, bathroom.
One minor pain is the parking situation around the hotel (and in much of Oban), but at least you can park in one of the bays right outside the hotel for free from 6pm until 9am and, helpfully, you can load up the meter the evening before for the first two hours of paid parking in the morning.

All in all, our short trip to the Ranald has certainly whetted our appetite for more of the same.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EeeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ranald experience! Parking is a total pain in Oban! The whole community is trying to get this addressed. Generally there's the options that you mention and we are always able to direct people to other spots. We hope that The Ranald will be the sign of how Oban looks after it's visitors as without all of you none of us could be here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I decided to surprise my wife for Christmas this year by booking a trip away. The last time we were in Oban was after we got married, so figured it would be the perfect place to enjoy Christmas.

After hearing about the Ranald Hotel from a deal on Groupon, I looked at the hotel in more detail and found they offered a 3 night stay over Christmas. This included breakfast at the Hotel each morning, and dinner on Christmas Eve at the Waterfront Fishouse, Christmas Dinner at Cuan Mor, then Fish & Chips for lunch at the Waterfront Fishouse and Steak Pie for dinner at Cuan Mor on Boxing Day. As we both love Oban I booked directly with the hotel.

We arrived on Christmas Eve and were met by Harry. He took our luggage and quickly showed us to our room on the first floor. As we were at the back of the hotel, the view outside was one of a large rock, so not much to see, but on the plus side at least it was quiet. Our room was modern and spacious, with a large comfy double bed at one end, and small 2 seater sofa at the other. The bathroom was small with walk in shower. The room was also nice and warm, which is exactly what you want on a cold winters night in Scotland! The hotel is just off the main street in Oban, and never more than 5 minutes walk to one of Oban’s varied Restaurants and Pubs.

We went down to the bar for a drink before dinner. Harry booked our table for dinner, and served us a couple of Birra Moretti’s. We also took the opportunity to talk to him about the hotel, and about things to do in Oban during our stay. Be sure to look closely at the hand painted tartan feature wall! Which my partner is planning on trying to recreate at our house!
We left the hotel to dinner, and also visited a few of Oban’s Pubs before returning to the hotel for a nightcap. The hotel now offered complimentary homemade Mince Pies, which were fantastic!

We were really looking forward to tasting the baked eggs we’d read so much about…but unfortunately we slept in on Christmas Day and missed breakfast. So we made a point of setting the alarm at a decent time for breakfast on Boxing Day. As the hotel in branded as a “metro” hotel, breakfast consists of fruit, cereal, pastries, and the hotel’s speciality of Baked Eggs which are cooked to order. I had baked Eggs with Haggis, while my wife had Baked Eggs with Salmon. Both were fantastic! We couldn’t believe more hotels don’t offer them!

Throughout our stay, we found the hotel clean and tidy, with Harry on hand to look after us and advise us on things to do in Oban. After viewing other hotels in Oban, it’s clear that The Ranald is totally different to the competition. While other Hotels in Oban may offer entertainment, the dated décor counts against them. If you want a modern, warm and welcoming hotel, look no further than The Ranald. If you do, you won’t be disappointed!

We're already looking forward to our next trip to Oban and The Ranald Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish_MandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Martin, thank you so much for taking the time to review The Ranald. It was a pleasure having you both here for Christmas. I'm glad you enjoyed not only your stay with us, but our restaurants as well. I hope that if you do end up trying the tartan feature wall that you'll send us a picture! I hope that we'll see you back at The Ranald again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visit Oban a couple of times a year and this is by far the best hotel we've stayed in. Perfect location in the centre of town, near the pier and railway station. The rooms are clean and modern, very warm, a large comfortable bed, powerful shower, blinds and good heavy curtains to block out the light. Service was excellent from the moment of booking and throughout our stay. Delicious breakfasts, a welcome healthier alternative to the usual fry ups in other hotels. We got a good deal this weekend and would definitely stay at that price again, worth every penny.

Room Tip: No lift, so if this is a problem for you ask for the ground floor. Rooms at the back may have no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillG767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

I was delighted to read your review. We aim to offer great customer service at The Ranald and try to give something a bit different that you wouldn't find elsewhere in town. We could rave about our hotel ourselves but it means so much more when it comes from our guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at The Ranald soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had an excellent stay at the Ranald Hotel which is ideally located - just a few minutes walk from the train and bus station, and not even two minutes from the main street by the seafront. Plenty of restaurants and bars also within five minutes.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Check-in was very quick and I was given a helping hand with my suitcases up to the room, which was much appreciated as it was on the top floor.

I had a spacious room with a large and comfortable bed, including plenty of pillows!! All the Freeview channels were available on the television and there was a desk which was handy for any work I had to do on my laptop. Free wi-fi was provided, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The alarm clock also included an iPhone/iPod docking station.

The bathroom was also spacious and the shower was extremely powerful, which is always a bonus. The cleanliness of the room, and also throughout the hotel, was of a high level.

Breakfast was provided and was the perfect way to kick off the day - a wide choice including cereal, breads, fruit, yoghurts, tea/coffee, juice, the highly recommended baked eggs and more.

All in all, an enjoyable stay at a very clean hotel with a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Ranald. I have passed your comments on to all of the staff. They are always delighted when their hard work is appreciated like this. The staff are always at hand to offer assistance with luggage as it can be a trek up the stairs seeing as we don't have a lift! We hope that you will choose The Ranald for your future stays in Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,007 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oban
Price Range: $84 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing