We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean, and a little luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, and a little luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel looks brand new and so do the rooms. Everything is clean and shiny and nicely decorated. Only slight negative was the awkward square sink which was not easy to use. The breakfast options were limited with the only real cooked option being baked eggs which were very nice. Don't come here if you want a full fry up. The service was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwitRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have had some fantastic feedback since we opened in September 2012 and all TripAdvisor comments are discussed with staff so that we can see where we are succeeding and where we need to look at improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    230
    83
    26
    10
See reviews for
86
480
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently spent two nights here on our honeymoon. I would say it's the best hotel experience we've had in Scotland. Staff were friendly and attentive, room was modern with everything we could want in working order, breakfast was fab and good value for money. We're already planning another trip to Oban and will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeithTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. Such kind words! I have passed this on to the other staff. I'm delighted that your experience was such a positive one and look forward to you both staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I recently stayed in Oban. I can say that the Ranald is a fantastic hotel. Superb breakfast - I think Alex Polizzi would be bowled over, friendly staff, modern furnishings, efficient use of space, quiet at night and a decent selection of whiskies. I will be returning! Plus I'm trying to recreate their highly inventive "baked egg" at home. If you want to find out what it is then I suggest you try if for yourself. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tachbr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review! I can only hope that Alex Polizzi would indeed enjoy a stay here with us, we'd certainly give her a warm welcome! I hope you managed to try the baked eggs at home. We hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I’ve Just returned from a two night stay at The Ranald. Firstly i work occasionally in Oban so have to stay overnight or more so have a gained a good feel for the standard of Hotel in Oban. The Ranald comes out TOP. Price wise is what i would and will expect to pay in Oban. Lesser hotels charge more and really can’t justify their price. The Ranald rooms are stylish, clean, comfortable, WARM (-2DegC outside). The bathroom and shower are fantastic. The bar is small and quirky but lovely and welcoming. All the staff i met and talked to could not do enough and i felt they were sincere in customer service and friendly. The breakfast is continental with a twist. Baked eggs is a speciality and i am currently on the net getting the recipe as so impressed. If i was to speak to the management directly i would suggest only two recommendations. The room i was in had a street light outside on the next door building wall. The light spillage into my room was bad even with the curtains fully drawn. A slightly longer curtain would stop this as the light was spilling through the sides. Only other thing is they fit TRV radiator valves on the bathroom towel rails as they are literally red hot to touch (kids ect). Two minor things and will not stop me booking my next trip to Oban in the Ranald.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Ranald. We have discussed the issues that you raised and are looking into solutions. All comments are brought up in our management meetings. I'm pleased that your overall experience was a good one and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here Wednesday & Thursday nights 21/22 Nov.

Booked on the strength of the trip advisor's reviews - not on the street map image!
It is impossible to believe that this site was a "Garden Centre" until a few months ago!

The Ranald has been open for a matter of months and at this point in time it really does offer a high-class level of accommodation. I really hope that the high levels of service and accommodation are maintained.


The decision was made to book a standard room over a Bijou due to staying for two nights; having looked in a Bijou room - I can say that for a one night stay it would have been perfectly adequate. We were not disappointed in any way with the room, service, breakfast offering or any other aspect.

The bed was very supportive and comfortable, the shower superb.
Tea and coffee facilities were in the room -
Space was plentiful in the room the only issue being a small hanging rail that faced the wrong way meaning that it was difficult to access clothes at the back of the wardrobe.

Wonderful works of contemporary art were everywhere in the hotel and allied with the warm furnishings really lifted the ambiance of the block walls.

Breakfast is served in the room that doubles as a bar in the evening - sometimes it was a little busy having less tables than the number of guests. The variety of foodstuffs on offer was less than one would expect in a "traditional" hotel - the Ranald is far from a traditional hotel and its' baked egg offered a delightful and filling culinary experience. Toast, cereals and croissants provided sustenance.
For drinks; smoothies and juices were available along with lovely fresh brewed coffee and tea.

The day-time parking is potentially difficult although the staff were very helpful in showing me a free car park and even printing and colouring a route map for me, Overnight we managed to park outside the hotel on both evenings.

We had a drink each evening in the bar - Moretti on draught at £3.90 for two halves.
The waiter was very helpful - providing the parking details as well as explaining a little information on other pubs etc.
(by the way - the chicken lives in the garden at the rear of Stevenson Street!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a detailed review for the benefit of future guests. I wondered what was going on when Rory sent me the picture of the chicken! We haven't seen it again since. Parking is always a problem in Oban but most guests have been very lucky in managing to park right outside. We'll always offer directions to nearby carparks. The hanging rail in the wardrobes actually pull out to allow access to the coats to the rear. I'm pleased that your overall impression was so good and hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just back from a couple of days at the Ranald hotel, our room was very nice with a good bathroom and a very comfortable bed. the hotel is in a great location and has a very nice bar. The best thing about the hotel is the quality of the staff, they could be used as an example for how scottish hotel staff should be, efficiant, freindly and cheerful. I'll certanlly go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald. I have passed your lovely comments back to the staff. It's always good to know that their efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banknock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at the Ranald hotel and we were very impressed with this great, modern metro hotel which had only been open for a few months. Everything about it was 1st class. The room was so comfortable, thick pile carpets, thick comfy mattress on the bed and and the best power shower we have had in a hotel for years. The decor is very modern and very well co-ordinated throughout. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was amazing , the baked eggs were a whole new experience for us, not to be missed, and we would highly recommend the haggis filled one. The homemade pancakes were great , especially with the home made jam. The bar was well stocked and very reasonably priced, infact we found it to be cheaper than a few of the bars and restaurants in the town, thus why it seemed to be well used by the residents. Well done to the owners and staff on this new hotel. You have got everything perfect, don't change a thing. We will definitely be back

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Divmacgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Ranald. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your comments on to the staff. The haggis baked eggs are my favourite. We certainly hope that we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing