We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need after a long train Journey!”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just back from the Ranald Hotel in Oban after a very pleasant night. Arrived late the previous night after a long train journey from Glasgow. Arrived at the hotel and was given a friendly welcome - shown to a lovely pleasant warm room with a very comfortable bed. Reading the other reviews I realise that this hotel is not for everyone (ie no bacon and eggs at breakfast) but for me personally I cannot fault it. Very friendly staff who certainly know about customer care. I have stayed in a lot of hotels recently with my work and believe me customer care is top of my list next to cleanliness. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I stayed mid week and had a room on the front and it was very quiet - but like every other hotel if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review Mairi. We strive to ensure that every guest has a fantastic experience at The Ranald and I'm pleased that we delivered this for you. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 843 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice room on the 3rd floor. Rather a lot of stairs for us but we were a last minute booking so no complaint ! The staff were pleasant and we had a a good nights sleep on a comfy bed. The breakfast food was quite enjoyable, but there seems to be more rooms than tables. ... breakfast was hectic.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you have mobility problems. No lift !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbwhite258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald. The breakfast room can get quite busy, but we always make sure everyone gets breakfast. The lack of lift can be a problem for some, but staff are always on hand to assist with luggage and if you let us know at the time of booking we can try and accommodate guests on a lower floor if required. We hope that we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! Our room was very clean and decor really modern&comfortable. Have to say that the shower was probably the best shower i have ever had, really powerful&great for a hangover cure:) Staff were really friendly&gave us lots of useful information on things to see and do in Oban. I would recommend this hotel and hope to return with friends in the new year!

Thanks for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyhawkeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming yourselves and your friends at The Ranald next time you visit Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I guess it depends on what you're looking for from your accommodation as to how you'll rate this hotel / B&B. If all you want is a room with ensuite facilities and a comfy bed, this gets two thumbs up. If you'd like tissues, soap or a mini bar in your room, you'll be disappointed. Free wifi - absolutely, in the breakfast room and all bedrooms. Parking - no; on street metered (between 9am - 6pm) or there's a multi-storey (pay & display) car park down the road. There are 4 room categories; we chose standard (2nd lowest) and this proved fine. However the modern ensuite just wasn't practical - plenty of room but no surface on which to place a hairbrush let alone a full sponge bag. We were on the top (third) floor and there is no lift. Fine for us but those a little older or with more luggage should ask for a room on the ground or first floors. Breakfast was hectic - get there before 8.30am as it became too full to accommodate all guests and menu items had started to run out. All in all a positive experience but as another reviewer has commented, perhaps a little more akin to a smart, modern B&B than a hotel.

Room Tip: Room 317 is on the top floor looking out over the canal / river. Lots of stairs but comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzielass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Many thanks for your recent Review. We appreciate all reviews, whether negative or positive, and all are discussed at management meetings with action being taken where appropriate to ensure that all our customers have a great experience staying at The Ranald Hotel in Oban. The Ranald Hotel is termed a 'metro' hotel due to it's location, conveniently located in the town centre of Oban within easy walking distance to a variety of great restaurants and amenities and its facilities. On our website, we clearly detail what we have on offer at the hotel, our location, parking options to ensure guests are made aware prior to arrival as well as dining options. Sleep quality and comfort are at the core of The Ranald Hotel. In our en-suite cabinets, to avoid unnecessary clutter, there is adequate storage space for toiletries and we are often complimented by our guests on how practical our en-suites are. Although we have no lift in the hotel, our staff always offer to carry luggage up to the rooms and back down for ease and comfort of our guests and if availability permits, are more than happy to move our guests to rooms lower in the building should this be an issue. Any guests with mobility issues are encouraged to let us know at the time of booking or prior to arrival to ensure they are given a suitable room. Breakfast is served between 7.00am til 9.00am Monday to Friday and 7.30am til 9.30am at the weekend. There are always plenty of options for all our guests. If guests wish more of anything, we are always happy to oblige should we be asked. The breakfast room does get busy at peak times but we will always ensure that everyone will be served. We thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Smart, modern,trendy, spotless, great beds and decor

£85 for one night, not the cheapest .. no

however we have been to oban on many occassions but have never found a hotel or B&B that give delivered what we hoped for on a tight budget
this time we treated ourselves just a little bit and are so glad we did

if you NEED to have a full scottish breakfast then it might not be for you but on every other level this metro hotel delivers big time.

We shall see you next year :)

Room Tip: we had the Bijou room and it was a more than adequate size and a very nice place to spend some time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubadaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this hotel via the web as we had to stay in Oban for one night due to the ferry from Colonsay arriving after 22.15. It is an easy walk from the ferry - approx 5 mins depending on the amount of luggage you are carrying! I had forewarned the hotel we would be arriving late and we had an excellent welcome from the manager. The room was very 'bijou' - just add two bags and 2 back packs and it was full!
The room had been kindly warmed but unfortunatly it really was boiling so we opened the window whilst we had a welcome drink in the bar. The one downside is the lovely quiet road in front of the hotel was not so quiet. We heard a lot of groups of people returning seperately from the Oban high life (?!) shouting and swearing and generally seeming to want to annoy everyone with their high spirits on a Sunday night/Monday morning. Eventually at 02.00 we managed to shut the window (it is difficult when you are sleepy, even though there are instructions left in the room) and went back to sleep. It might be worth trying to get a room at the back. Despite this one inconvenience it was a good stay and exactly what we needed from a nice clean hotel made even better by the very imaginative breakfast.
We parked at the leisure centre whilst on our island holiday - as per the Tourist Information recommendations. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the hotel plus it is free and was safe for our car.

Room Tip: Try getting a room away from the road. Make sure you know how to shut the window in the middle of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anndrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald. We appreciate all feedback. We have added instructions on how to close the windows as part of the check-in procedures following your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just opened I believe the newest hotel in Oban. Very functional but cosy . walking distance to harbour and main st. Staff very friendly and helpful we also had the deal with Groupon The meals at both restaurants the fish house and Cuan Mor excellant !!!!!

Room Tip: we had a room at the back cosy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeamacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the meals at Cuan Mor and the Waterfront Fishouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oban
Price Range: $84 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing