We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap Oban hotel”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this hotel via the web as we had to stay in Oban for one night due to the ferry from Colonsay arriving after 22.15. It is an easy walk from the ferry - approx 5 mins depending on the amount of luggage you are carrying! I had forewarned the hotel we would be arriving late and we had an excellent welcome from the manager. The room was very 'bijou' - just add two bags and 2 back packs and it was full!
The room had been kindly warmed but unfortunatly it really was boiling so we opened the window whilst we had a welcome drink in the bar. The one downside is the lovely quiet road in front of the hotel was not so quiet. We heard a lot of groups of people returning seperately from the Oban high life (?!) shouting and swearing and generally seeming to want to annoy everyone with their high spirits on a Sunday night/Monday morning. Eventually at 02.00 we managed to shut the window (it is difficult when you are sleepy, even though there are instructions left in the room) and went back to sleep. It might be worth trying to get a room at the back. Despite this one inconvenience it was a good stay and exactly what we needed from a nice clean hotel made even better by the very imaginative breakfast.
We parked at the leisure centre whilst on our island holiday - as per the Tourist Information recommendations. It is just 10 minutes walk away from the hotel plus it is free and was safe for our car.

Room Tip: Try getting a room away from the road. Make sure you know how to shut the window in the middle of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anndrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald. We appreciate all feedback. We have added instructions on how to close the windows as part of the check-in procedures following your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 849 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just opened I believe the newest hotel in Oban. Very functional but cosy . walking distance to harbour and main st. Staff very friendly and helpful we also had the deal with Groupon The meals at both restaurants the fish house and Cuan Mor excellant !!!!!

Room Tip: we had a room at the back cosy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeamacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the meals at Cuan Mor and the Waterfront Fishouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the ranald,Lovely hotel great staff and celebs staying lol. Whoever thought of baked eggs and cheese over haggis is a genious.Stayed in a standard room at the front of the hotel no complaints even enjoyed watching the ducks battleing in the wee river against the current.Never stayed anywhere else in oban but if there is a better hotel I would be very surprised

Room Tip: room 212 front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. The haggis baked eggs is a personal favourite! We hope to see you again at The Ranald.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our Anniversary and were extremely pleased with our 2 night stay which was booked via a Groupon deal and was a complete bargain.

A ridiculously low price for a 2 night stay which included breakfast and two, 2 course evening meals taken at the Waterfront Seafood restaurant and the Cuan Mor restaurant.

The hotel had only been open 7 weeks when we arrived and everything was obviously new but that didn't detract in any way as the decor is modern and stylish. The Ranald is described as a Boutique hotel and only has 14 rooms. We were staying in Room 314 which I believe is one of their best rooms and it was to the rear of the hotel and certainly spacious as well as quiet.

The shower room was fine and the shower had some real power. We had a minor problem as the flat screen TV decided to stop showing any pictures on the screen but that was replaced and apart from needing to retune the new set (I think whoever installed it only looked at the first channel) all was fine.

Breakfast choice is a little limited as there isn't a full kitchen but that's made quite clear before booking and the options available were fine and the baked eggs quite a treat.

The staff were all really pleasant and helpful, booked us in to the restaurants and the tour of the distillery and were able to offer advice on places to visit.

The only slight drawback is the lack of any parking directly associated with the hotel but parking is available on the road at no charge between 6pm and 9am plus other parking available nearby.

A really nice hotel situated just a couple of minutes from the seafront and we'd be pleased to stay here again, especially if it's ever on offer at those prices again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prefdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Ranald. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary treat. Parking can be a bit of a problem in Oban but we are always able to recommend places. We hope that we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Loved this brand new hotel - the decor is modern Scottish - very swish and yet very welcoming.
The staff were all excellent, helpful, attentive and knowledgeable . Parking on the road outside was not a problem when we were there but there is a carpark within walking distance. It is ideally situated for the restaurants on the waterfront and is very quiet at night.
The breakfasts were the ultimate surprise - we expected just croissants and pastries so were delighted to savour baked eggs (mine with smoked salmon and my husband's with ham and mushroom) What a refreshing change to a 'full fried breakfast) The next morning I had a bagel with cream cheese and salmon - equally as yummy ! Fresh fruit salad and yoghurt was excellent too ! Who ever thought of this hotel is to be congratulated - excellent in everyway - just hope people respect the decor and soft furnishings - they are stunning.We were in a 3rd floor bedroom which was large and had an enormous very comfy bed. The bathroom had a decent shower ! I cant wait to return !

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you struggle with stairs ask for a groundfloor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elspeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Firstly I'd like to apologise for the oversight in not replying sooner! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us as well as the staff and breakfast. We hope that you'll manage to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent staff who assisted with luggage and directions for our shopping. A spotlessly clean modern room, great location and a special thanks to the cook who prepared a great breakfast of baked egg and salmon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Don, thank you for the excellent review of The Ranald Hotel following your recent stay with us. We love hearing from all our guests and in particular these lovely reviews are passed on to all our team and reassure them that their hard work is not going unnoticed by our guests. Customer service is at the core of The Ranald Hotel and we strive to ensure our guests feel thoroughly looked after from the moment they arrive until the moment they leave. It's also great to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and rest assured we have passed your comments onto Alex in the Kitchen. Many thanks, Don, and we hope to see you back at The Ranald Hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My partner and I booked the hotel through groupon. We stayed two nights, dinner, bed and breakfast. A lovely hotel situated close to all the shops but sits behind the main streets therefore it is very quiet and peaceful. Hotel is very modern and beautifully decorated, all the staff are very friendly and helpful. Drew the assistant manager is very nice, he recommended some great places to go and sight see etc. I recommend McCaigs tower and the whiskey tour. breakfast in the hotel was amazing, loads to choose from, both mornings we had the baked eggs which were delicious. We had a choice of two lovely restaurants for dinner, The Waterfront (a sea food restaurant) and The Cuan Mor, I don't like seafood therefore ate in The Cuan Mor both nights. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and the food is fantastic ( I highly recommend the steak pie). Over all we had a great weekend and will defo be back for another stay. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0x-kara-x0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The Groupon deal proved very popular. Your comments were appreciated by Drew and the rest of the staff. We're glad that you enjoyed Cuan Mor as well. We hope that we will see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
448 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $85 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranald Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing