We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful hotel close to all amenities in Oban. Great room. Fabulous baked eggs for breakfast. Harry the manager so friendly as is Rory (probably spelt wrong) evening reception. Plenty space in room and if you look under the sink unit in bathroom there is all the space you could need for your toiletries. Overall first class and will be back. See you soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, sorry I haven't replied sooner! It was a pleasure having you both here and we hope that we'll see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    238
    88
    26
    10
See reviews for
91
497
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The owner of this hotel has got his business head well and truly screwed on. With the Groupon deal, two of us got to stay in this brand new hotel for two nights with meals at two of the nicest restaurants in town all in - £189

The two restaurants are owned, or part owned, by the guy who owns the hotel - good thinking bat man!!

The food at The Waterfront Sea Food Restaurant and the Cuan Mor was excellent (see my reviews). The hotel, being new was very clean and tidy. There were one or two niggly bits re service, but the staff were all very helpful and nice.

A definite must visit. A good base for exploring Oban and the surrounding area with plenty to do

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Real_Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Having not long opened we were still finding our feet when you stayed, but I'm glad that overall you were happy with your stay. We hope that you'll visit again and see how far the team has come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I took my parents here for my dads retirement as a treat! They were thrilled with the hotel! Mum loved the bathroom decor so much she is going to base her bathroom at home on it! The ambience of hotel is wonderful! Attention to detail is great there is even a hand painted wall in the lounge! The baked eggs at breakfast is an amazing idea! My only complaint is the showers were so good you did not want to get out! We will definatley be returning and recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. Many of the guests are amazed by the hand painted wall in the lounge and some are even attempting to re-create it! The showers are awesome. We hope that we will indeed see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked this hotel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews prompted by a Groupon offer. The hotel has many good points - though not 100per cent convinced by the uncritical 'rave' reviews posted since its opening a few weeks ago.

The good:
Staff are very helpful and welcoming in a low key way

Breakfast is beautifully prepared, given the constrictions of the kitchen, which is a
cupboard situated behind the bar which doubles as the breakfast room: fresh fruit
salad, great croissants, yoghourt, home made jam, freshly made pancakes- and the
hotel's specialty - beautiful free range eggs baked in individual ramekin dishes with a
delicious choice of fillings- good coffee

Beds are huge and very comfortable and have the added touch of duck feather and
down pillows, extra luxury

Free umbrellas!

The not so good:

There are no views: we booked a 'grand room' which was fairly large, but situated
at the back of the hotel (apparently the only front facing rooms are the smaller,
standard rooms ) facing into a high rock bank and very dark, even in mid afternoon.
To be fair, we have suggestions to make the 'view' more appealing - someone with a
rope ladder, or preferably crampons, could plant alpines or general rock plants to add
to the attraction and general interest of a rock cliff view! Actually, this could work! The r
ocks had really interesting features and strata - could be a positive asset

No parking - is a lesser problem, I guess, but not when it rains solidly for 48 hours!

Rooms are minimal and nice, but a bit soulless, the shower is too small and there is
no shelf room to put your personal toiletry stuff in the shower/toilet area

Ungenerous and sparse selection of coffee, tea options in inroom selection

These are mostly small niggles, and there is nothing the hotel can do about lack of views, but there are areas which could be improved without too much effort or expense- especially when Oban and surrounding areas are so dependent on weather - make the hotel a place guests really want to relax or snuggle in rain or cold days - that would make the hotel more attractive out of season which would be a real winner for Oban, surely

We were interested in the Christmas package offered by the hotel, and certainly haven't ruled it out yet -- but ---

Room Tip: Not sure - we had a ' grand room' which faced a dug out rocky bank, was dark and -initially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Anne, many thanks for your recent review of The Ranald Hotel in Oban. We appreciate all reviews and like to assure our guests that all our reviews are read by management and acted upon where necessary to ensure that each and every guest enjoys their experience with us not just once but again and again. We offer our guests four different types of rooms to accommodate different budgets and different people over 4 different levels at The Ranald Hotel. Due to its location, at no point on our website or literature, in words or images, do we promote any aspect of the views from our rooms and when asked our staff are more than happy to give our guests the option of different room offerings where available. Our cosy bar area is very inviting and most often, guests find themselves in here socialising with other guests, having a quiet drink or finding out more from our staff when not out exploring Oban and the area. Prior to arrival, guests are advised of parking options on our website and from our staff, with free parking not far from our hotel and secured, undercover parking at a preferential rate with Stoddarts - close by the hotel. Our rooms are simple, yet practical to avoid unwanted clutter and to make the best use of space available which we are often complimented on. In the bathroom, under the sink, there is shelving for the benefit of our guests to store their toiletries . Guests are most welcome to join us at the bar for coffee or tea or, if they would prefer, our staff are more than happy to provide additional tea & coffee sachets for the room. However, we are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that we will see you back at the hotel again in the near future – perhaps even this Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had a lovely overnight stay at the Ranald Hotel Oban. It is a new purpose built "metro" hotel specifically designed to cater for the discerning taste and high standards of todays traveller. Situated on Stevenson Street, it is away from the traffic and noise of the main road yet only a minutes walk away from the pier, and the train station. I arrived by car and was fortunate to park overnight right outside the hotel. Within 2 minutes walk from the hotel is free overnight parking, and a little beyond, there is secure under cover parking at a very reasonable rate. I was in a double room which had a very spacious ensuite shower room with generous fluffy towels and toiletries and a very powerful invigourating shower. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, (topped up as required -free of charge) television, hairdryer, safe, telephone, ipod dock and free internet access.The decor was contempory and thoughtfully punctuated with traditional tweeds of varying hues. Reception also featured a bar, designed with contemporary lighting and bespoke artwork, creating a relaxed, and comfortable area in which to partake of liquor or latte. The bed was sumptious and for those who could not resist leaving it a moment before they had to, a "grab and go" carry out breakfast was on offer. I on the other hand had read the breakfast menu which was very impressive and was delighted to see the bar transformed into a breakfasting room, complete with a buffet selection of breads, toasts, yogurts,fruits, juices and cereals accompanied by tea and coffee and your choice from the made to order selection on the menu. Spoiled for choice, I ordered freshly made pancakes with fruit compote (the speed of service was very impressive) and was not disappointed. This I should point out was inclusive in the room rate and as there were two of us (hubby) tremendous value and great service.
As I left the breakfasting room, I was drawn to the foyer which housed a large comfortable sofa and an internet desk with an interesting chair. Once on the chair I felt it my duty to make full use of the internet as hubby was upstairs hogging our laptop. How refreshing it is to experience this standard of accommodation, service and value in Scotland !

Room Tip: Rooms can vary to accommodate flexible needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of The Ranald for the TripAdvisor community. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at The Ranald on Sunday 7th October 2012. As it's only been open about 5 weeks, everything in the hotel was pristine. There's a lovely reception/bar area where the super breakfasts are also served. The room and en suite shower were excellent. The hotel is very well designed and decorated and it was simply a pleasure to stay there. Staff were friendly and helpful and we also happened to meet the decorator who worked in the hotel prior to opening, who was also very helpful in providing information about Oban. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope I'll have the pleasure of staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackinlays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It's nice that people take the time to leave positive comments. Mike the decorator is still in and out of the hotel making sure that everything is kept pristine. We hope that we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I purchased a 2 night weekend break in Oban for my fiance's birthday staying in The Ranald Hotel after having read great reviews, and was not disappointed!

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, with friendly staff who are only too keen to help you. As one of the bartenders explained, they've only opened at the beginning of September, so they are still working out some kinks, but I would absolutely not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends. Decor is tastefully decorated throughout both in rooms and the bar - contemporary Scottish, rather than 'tartanising' everything in sight which I've seen all too often in other places! We stayed in a Splendid Suite, which was gorgeous. The owner has clearly not skimped on their costs and it shows - beds were so comfy, with duck down duvets/pillows, decor - classy yet understated, and the power shower was awesome!

The bar is wee, but well stocked, and the breakfast is quirky yet lovely - pancakes were awesome, plus my fiance raved about the baked eggs with haggis. To make the best use of space, they don't serve any food on site (only space to serve breakfast, not a full blown restaurant) however we ate at both the Cuan Mor and the Waterfront Restaurants (which are owned by the same person as the hotel) and had brilliant lunch and dinner there respectively, so this never proved to be an issue.

While some folk have commented that there is no lift, I've been to plenty of wee hotels in Scotland, and have rarely seen a lift yet! I understand that some folk may struggle with the 3 flights of stairs if they find themselves staying on the top level, however it wasn't a problem for us, and I've every faith that if you mention it when you book they'd accommodate you on ground/lower floors.

All in all a gem of a boutique hotel in Oban. Well done to the architect, owners and staff alike for making it work in a difficult space, at a difficult time in difficult market. You've really raised the bar for the rest of Oban's accommodation!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Splendid Suite and it really lived up to the name - I would definitely recommend!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. It means a lot to myself and my team. We certainly would accommodate people on the lower floors if requested and they were available. We hope that we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
938 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing