We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel in Oban” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ranald Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New hotel in Oban”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent and welcome new hotel in Oban. Met by owner Paul, who made us very welcome. Impressed by all the staff who were all very friendly and all eager to make our stay enjoyable. Lovely Scottish tweed decor throughout hotel and rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was great with a good choice of quality ingredients and products.
Lot of hotels in Oban appear very tired so Ranald is a great new addition and will hopefully set a benchmark for others to aspire to and up their game.
Hotel pricing is about right (lookout for special offers) and compares with some of the very good guest houses in area.
Overall, my wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Ranald Hotel and have no hesitation in recommending hotel to others or staying there again.
We ate at night at the Seafood Temple, which was expensive but very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jock17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for us. Your comments were passed to the staff. We certainly hope that The Ranald is a sign of things to come in Oban. We hope that you will indeed decide to stay with us again and perhaps try our restaurant Waterfront Fishouse if you fancy a change from the Seafood Temple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    230
    83
    26
    10
See reviews for
86
480
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just home after 2 nights away staying in The Ranald. Could not of picked a better place to stay in Oban! The whole hotel was spotless. The room was so comfortable to stay in as it was lovely and warm and beautifully decorated, modern but still very Scottish!
The 'made to order' breakfast was excellent, food was piping hot an very tasty the staff couldn't do enough to help in making sure u had everything you wanted!
I found the assistant manger was great, he was very friendly and made us feel very welcome every time we have our trip to the bar! He helped us in many ways as we didn't know much about Oban an needed a little guide on what to do and where to go. Overall I had a great stay an will defiantly be back with my family in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarahfeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of The Ranald. We're glad that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to welcoming your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We came on the 3 th of september 2012 , and the hotel was just open for 2 days, The room was excellent with a kingsize bed!! the manager was very friendly and made us as comfortable as possible .
the employees where very friendly too , I even got a umbrella when it started to rain !
when we are in that neighborhood again we will certanly come back to the ranald hotel in Oban ,uk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Maud, thank you for leaving us such a great review. It was a pleasure having you both with us and we certainly hope that we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying in this brand new boutique hotel just yards from the waterfront. So fresh and clean on arrival, lovely welcoming staff and a cute wee bar (nice wines).
They check you in at the bar which I think is a great idea - check in and an arrival drink - Love it !
Loved my room - The decor is amazing , big comfy beds, nice paintings, soft colours , with a rich feel. Shower fab - great start to the day.
The staff are so nice, all very smartly dressed from Sean (I think) , Harry and Rory, and the great breakfast from Alex - I didnt go for cooked but saw other guests getting stuck into pancakes. salmon bagels, hot croisants plus so much more. So enjoyed my granola,yogurt and berries, toast and tea. (daily breakfast at home now)
I think the rates are so reasonable compared with other places I have stayed at in Oban.
Its a few minutes walk to the front and just along the harbour is a great place to eat, Cuan Mor - once again a great place run by nice people and friendly staff....and an amazing view !!

Will not stay anywhere else on my next trip if I can help it.

Thank you "Ranald"

Room Tip: A suite if its in your budget !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hapytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
It was great to see your review when you posted it. Sorry I'm just getting around to replying now! We certainly hope that we will indeed see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

A lovely hotel, nice location being only 2 minutes walk to the main street, very clean, very helpful staff wonderful breakfast, this is how staying in a hotel should be like.

Free wifi throughout, PC for customer use in lobby, bags carried to room upon checkin, beautiful decor and bedding.

Service with a smile in the morning goes a long way and the staff in the morning were very professional - including the receptionist upon check out.

Overall, a must and very good a value for money - I would highly recommend this hotel and will be back to stay for sure!!!!!!!!!

The hotel is stunning throughout, the attention to detail is amazing. All local hotel owners should come along and take a 'leaf or two out of this book', it may do them some good. Tremendous!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
It's always great to hear from our business customers as well. We hope that we'll see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

As we visit Oban on a regular basis we thought we would try something new that was on offer for travelers who visit Oban, and as we’re there quite a number of times throughout the year, we we’re always looking for something new and different to what was already on offer, something totally new.

The Ranald Hotel, a newly built hotel that Oban hasn’t seen for years is a must for visitors coming from far and near, and is situated within minutes walking distance of the Caledonian MacBrayne Ferry Terminal and Train Station.

On arrival all staff give you a very friendly welcome, and make you feel right at home from stepping in the door, you can also see that a lot of work has been done by all to getting this new venture up and running, one that I was impressed with and will certainly return to.

Our room was very comfortable and warm with an excellent ensuite with a lot of thought going into the design, a Kingsize Bed, Flat Screen TV, iPhone Docking Station and Complimentary wifi throughout the hotel, a Hairdryer and Small Security Safe supplied in the room as well.

The Lounge Bar / Breakfast Area is a relaxing area to either have your breakfast or a drink before exploring what Oban has got to offer.
Breakfast in the morning is of a continental style with a good selection to choose from and thoroughly enjoyable.

Our overall stay at The Ranald Hotel, was very enjoyable, and we will certainly return to this new hotel where we felt it was very cosy and relaxing, Harry and his team make you feel very welcome from the minute you walk through the door, and look after you very well till you leave.

Well done to all at this new venture, Best Wishes for the Future...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Robert. Thanks for leaving the lovely reviews, not only here but on Facebook as well. Sorry I'm just leaving a reply to this one just now. We hope that we'll see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a pleasure to have this Metro Hotel in Oban.
Welcoming staff meet you at the door and take your bags to your room while you have a refreshment with Harry in the bar. The decor through-out the hotel is a real success, some really nice touches.
Breakfast-time gives you lots of interesting choices, crunchy pastries and fresh fruit smoothies all made to give your taste buds a morning workout.
I am looking forward to returning to this splendid hotel soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roderick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Sorry I took so long to reply! It's been great having yourself and your daughter staying at The Ranald on many occasions now. We hope we'll see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Property: The Ranald Hotel
Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing