We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cream on a hot day”
Review of The Pokey Hat

The Pokey Hat
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The Pokey Hat is an Ice cream parlour selling delicious homemade Italian Ice Creams. The ice creams are made fresh daily, in house on the premises, we offer a wide range of flavours which change regularly at reasonable prices and in the summer months we are open from 10am till 10pm 7 days a week. In reply to a lot of tourist questions, yes our shop did belong to Princess Diana's mother Frances Shand Kydd at one time where she ran a successful card and gift shop.
Restaurant details
Description: The Pokey Hat is an Ice cream parlour selling delicious homemade Italian Ice Creams. The ice creams are made fresh daily, in house on the premises, we offer a wide range of flavours which change regularly at reasonable prices and in the summer months we are open from 10am till 10pm 7 days a week. In reply to a lot of tourist questions, yes our shop did belong to Princess Diana's mother Frances Shand Kydd at one time where she ran a successful card and gift shop.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great ice cream for the family all sorts of flavours all made on the premises. we had vanilla strawberry with real fruit but it is all great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scout2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review, really glad you enjoyed our ice cream and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 208 of 231 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

great tasty flavours. My favourite was the toffee. The kids loved chocolate, white chocolate and lemon

Thank janmax99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosanne73, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you Janet, glad you enjoyed it,! Hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A treat and a delight on a sunny day (actually, on any day!). Never know what exotic flavours will be on offer as each is homemade and depends on the makers inclination that day! Wish the take away cartons were more accommodating (larger and with lids) with a proper flat bottomed bag to carry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anotheradventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosanne73, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful ice cream selections and ohhh so creamy! The only thing I would fault them on is the lack of seating.. Some maybe in part to the location, but would be nice to sit somewhere to eat it it

Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our Ice Cream, with regards to the lack of seating, as I'm sure you will have seen when visiting us, the shop simply isn't big enough to accommodate any kind of seating area. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a must visit shop if you are in Oban, we all visited this shop at least twice. The best ie cream I have ever had, cones are good quality not your standard ones, I got two scoops, which filled the cone to the bottom and well above the top edge. The mint choc and Toffee riple are to die for. Service was very good, well set out and the shop was very clean.

Thank Andrina106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, glad you enjoyed our ice cream and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pokey Hat also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Pokey Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing