We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great icecream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pokey Hat

The Pokey Hat
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pokey Hat is an Ice cream parlour selling delicious homemade Italian Ice Creams. The ice creams are made fresh daily, in house on the premises, we offer a wide range of flavours which change regularly at reasonable prices and in the summer months we are open from 10am till 10pm 7 days a week. In reply to a lot of tourist questions, yes our shop did belong to Princess Diana's mother Frances Shand Kydd at one time where she ran a successful card and gift shop.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great icecream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

There was a queue but you soon find out why! Great selection of ice-creams and good texture. I really enjoyed wandering around with great views and eating good ice-cream.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, glad you enjoyed our ice cream and hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    37
    15
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“PRICEY BUT GORGEOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Gorgeous ice-cream - almost on a par with Italy itself. Expensive but treat yourself - you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiddymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review, we are a bit more expensive but this is due to the quality of the ingredients we use, resulting in a far superior product, am so glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Let Down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Before our trip to Oban i read great reviews on this website aboutThe Pokey Hat so i was really looking forward to trying their homemade italian icecreams. The ice cream was not as wonderful as people described it. We found it very average indeed and nothing very special. Nardinis in Largs do much better ice cream than this place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Fabiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosanne73, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, am surprised you found our Ice cream a " let down" as we take great pride in our product and most people can't compliment us enough on it. I do however realise we cannot please everyone !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So Handy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We got our coffees and bacon rolls every morning while on holiday as was just round the corner from our apartment and so much better than cooking on holiday

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Silvertip37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosanne73, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I think you may have reviewed the wrong place as we do not sell coffee or bacon rolls we are an Ice cream parlour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
161 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wide range of flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I tried the pistachio and that was good if a little over sweet. I went back a few days later and tried the banana with chic pieces which was very good. I think the price is very reasonable. £2 for a single scoop in a cone is good value.

Helpful?
Thank LFKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosanne73, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks for your kind review, hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pokey Hat also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Pokey Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing