We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream Ever!”
Review of The Pokey Hat

The Pokey Hat
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The Pokey Hat is an Ice cream parlour selling delicious homemade Italian Ice Creams. The ice creams are made fresh daily, in house on the premises, we offer a wide range of flavours which change regularly at reasonable prices and in the summer months we are open from 10am till 10pm 7 days a week. In reply to a lot of tourist questions, yes our shop did belong to Princess Diana's mother Frances Shand Kydd at one time where she ran a successful card and gift shop.
Restaurant details
Description: The Pokey Hat is an Ice cream parlour selling delicious homemade Italian Ice Creams. The ice creams are made fresh daily, in house on the premises, we offer a wide range of flavours which change regularly at reasonable prices and in the summer months we are open from 10am till 10pm 7 days a week. In reply to a lot of tourist questions, yes our shop did belong to Princess Diana's mother Frances Shand Kydd at one time where she ran a successful card and gift shop.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I went into the Pokey Hat for 2 reasons.....

1 - How do you not go into a store called the Pokey Hat?
2 - The history behind the site itself. If you look into the history of shops in Oban, you will know what I mean.

I purchased 2 rather expensive ice cream cones and soon came to realise that you get what you pay for!!! The Pokey Hat has the best ice cream on the planet. They have ruined ice cream for the rest of my life.... but thank you for doing so. It is wonderful!

    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank max-o-million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, you are absolutely right we are a bit more expensive than the other ice cream shops in Oban, this is because we make all our ice creams from scratch on the premises and use only the best quality Italian ingredients, which makes our ice creams a far superior quality. I am really glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went everyday loved all the flavours and choice oh how I wish we had one here, Youll need to be brave to attempt the olympic torch (eight scoops) maybe you could share it with a few friends

Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review of our Ice Cream, glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Firstly, how anyone can resit going into an ice-cream shop called "The Pokey Hat" is beyond me. Secondly, if the name doesn't captivate you, the shopfront will!

We bought 4 rather "pricey" cones of varying flavours on a hot sunny day. Only when you taste the ice-cream does "pricey" really become "exceptional value"- I kid you not, with 15 YEARS of catering experience behind me, THIS is good ice-cream indeed. Worth the money for sure.

My 9 year-old daughter managed to drop her single scoop on the pavement outside so went back in to pay for another scoop. The staff not only replaced her ice-cream, but also the cone and DID NOT CHARGE HER A PENNY!

This is outstanding service, going the extra mile for a customer is hard to come by there days, but the owners here clearly have the right ethos here. It would be easy to to take the money again, but in this case the reputation & respect the owners get for adopting this attitude deserves recognition.

Well done Pokey Hat Team!

RECOMMENDED*****

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your fabulous review, am so pleased to read your comments with regard to the quality and costs of our product, we feel we do offer value for money as ours is aimed at the luxury end of the market and this is reflected in the ingredients we use. Have congratulated the staff on your behalf.,and with regards to your wee girl dropping her cone, well accidents happen, and we believe it's nice to be nice and value all our customers business in the hope they will return again in the future. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The best place in Oban for an Icec cream, lots of selection, my boys have a different 1 every visit.

Thank EBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments, hope you and your boys continue to enjoy our Ice creams when you visit Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Had the turkish delight in a sugar cone and it was devine. if you visit Oban don't miss it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swiftsport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed your Ice cream, hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pokey Hat also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Pokey Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing