We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, nothing special, good location, average value”
Review of Rowantree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rowantree Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This medium-sized hotel has no old-world charm, but was clean, and adequate for one night. The staff were friendly. Room 209 (100 pounds) was a little small and water pressure very whimpy. The floor was laminate and our twin beds rolled around way too easily. It had the feel of a college dorm maybe, and had two large dressers too big for the room. I think the wireless internet was free. The restaurant, a clean, newish American-style BBQ joint, appeared in good shape and busy, maybe about a dozen malt whisky offerings. But we didnt not eat there. We skipped breakfast as well because we were out late.

The location was good, right on the main street that runs along the harbor, though there are no good views from the hotel. They had free secure parking behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Rowantree Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 343 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2011

arrived to find what looked like an agricultural building in the heart of Oban very out of keeping .The room was clean but basic and had a musty stale smell. Breakfast was laid out the night before with only the cooked breakfast put out in the morning, there was no sign of any waiting staff and the eggs were like rubber nearly inedible
Cost was £95 b and b very overpriced in my view

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farmerdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The room was clean and tidy but I didn't lilke the laminate floor it was cold under foot. Night porter did a near enough job on the breakfast and was cheer ful. Shower mixer is not great as the water is seperate out the head, cold on one side hot on the other. Good parking out back for a town centre location. Over all not bad.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out back
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foster1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed at hotel for the weekend with partner and 2 children, hotel room was very clean, well decorated with a very comfortable double bed. Staff were exceptionally helpful especially as one of the children were ill. The Steakhouse restaurant is a must if you are staying in Oban even if not in the hotel, def need book a table especially on the weekend as extremely busy, food in restaurant was better than TJi Fridays or other such restaurants. Excellent menu, excellent food and service. Full cooked breakfast or contintental buffet in the moning was very fresh and topped up regularly. Overall fantastic stay, will be returning and would recommend. Sandra Glasgow

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed in room 109 for one night and at first glance all appeared well. We got a reasonable deal through laterooms and didn't have high expectations, we were only in Oban for one night. Very happy on arrival, the room was spotless as was the bathroom which is very important! We didn't have a great view even though our room was at the front of the building but it wasn't a huge concern as we were in Oban to experience the town.
However, on returning after a lovely night out our problems began. There didn't appear to be any problems with the bed to start with but through the night myself and my partner both woke up on numerous occasions -the bed was like sleeping on bricks and ridiculously uncomfortable. You can also hear every move of your neighbours and those above you which is a little off putting.
Our rate included breakfast which was ok, to be honest we weren't impressed. My partner is vegetarian and had limited options from the cooked breakfast and we had to request brown bread to toast rather then it being readily available....and it took half an hour to appear!
Staff are very pleasant but on the strength of the most uncomfortable night we have ever had I would hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luizeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This is a basic tourist class hotel with off street parking behind the hotel. We booked two double rooms and were assigned two very nice large rooms at the front of the hotel. The second of the two rooms had not been cleaned and another very small double on the back was assigned. No consideration was given in the rate charged for this very cramped room. The response received was that all the rooms were the same rate. Really? Seems like poor business management, at best.

The rooms have been updated, but the same needs to be done with the rest of the hotel.

The restaurant serves a good steak.

Room Tip: Confirm what you are paying for.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The actual place wasn't too bad, room was small and basic but had what you needed. The visit was ruined however by the strong smell of chip pan, strongly in the room and even stronger in the bathroom. I presume it was to do with the venting from the kitchen below being too close to the vents from the bathroom but it was at times unbearable, and sadly the only thing we will remember from our stay at the Rowantree!

Oban is a nice place though and the seafood is awesome!!....

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommytyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantree Hotel

Address: George Street, Oban PA34 5NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $77 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowantree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 24 recently refurbished bedrooms to a 3* plus standard all fully en-suite and offers first class bed and breakfast accomodation. The Rowantree hotel is somewhat unique to Oban - a town centre hotel with its own large car park, free to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rowantree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantree Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing