We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage - lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bracken Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bracken Cottage
decking bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Bracken Cottage
decking
bedroom
living room
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christie2...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb cottage - lovely location”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, everything you could wish for. Well furnished, warm and comfortable with a pretty woodland garden. We found the beds very comfortable and the kitchen/utility were well stocked with all appliances.

Although the cottage is quite close to the road we weren't troubled at all with traffic noise.

Just two things for any future guests, there is no mobile phone coverage at the cottage, but good wifii. Also if there was a shaver point anywhere we didn't find one, so best to take a shaver adapter.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property itself an location
Liked least: No mobile coverage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool...
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely secluded cottage”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful cottage set in picturesque grounds with lovely mature garden. Spent one week here in June, weather was fabulous so spent a lot of our time outside in the garden.
Could have done with a barbecue and some loungers but outdoor furniture was comfortable.
Very clean cottage and spacious.
Needs to invest in better mattresses as our sleep was poor due to quality of the mattresses.
Overall would recommend to family and friends but not if anyone has a dodgy back....
No mobile phone signal which could be a problem in emergencies but had WiFi so whatsapp came in very handy. Maybe install a landline payphone?
Very busy road right next to cottage so could be a problem for unruly dogs or adventurous children.... Definitely need a car to get around as no sidewalks on quite a dangerous road...

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and cleanliness
Liked least: Road and mattresses
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
1st August 2015: new matresses installed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Had a lovely peaceful week. Enjoyed watching the birds especially the woodpecker. Ideal spot and will return.

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinlA69...
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern , spotless cottage in great location”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked Bracken Cottage last minute for a 3 night stay. Property was extremely well presented and the owners obviously take great pride in maintaining the cottage to a high standard. We were welcomed by the owner who took the time to show us around , explain how things worked and gave us some information on the local area - she was a very genuine lady.

The property is about 3 miles or 10 mins out of Oban and as such is an ideal base for exploring the West Highlands, close enough to access civilisation - supermarkets and restaurants but far enough away to enjoy some peace. The cottage is well fitted out with dish washer , washing machine, drier etc so no need to compromise on the home comforts.

The cottage is located just off an A road but there's very little traffic and despite being a lightish sleeper it didn't disturb me at all.
Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann1155
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than home from home”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This beautiful cottage is just outside Oban. We found it excellent for two couples as it has two bedrooms both with a bathroom, at opposite ends of the cottage, so we each had a certain amount of privacy. Everything was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped. Oban is a gem, a trip across to Mull is recommended. Plenty of places to eat out nearby.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: The squeaky floors, and sensitive smoke alarm.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyandme...
worthing
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“perfect cottage”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely week staying at Bracken Cottage. We have never been to Oban before.

The cottage was perfect for us. It is beautifully presented and has everything we needed. Susana the host is charming, and went out of her way to make our holiday special.

Although it looks traditional from the outside, the cottage is only a few years old so benefits from modern standards, including being warm.

The cottage is surrounded by a fence to stop our dog from roaming too far and there is loads of wildlife to see.

We would thoroughly recommend Bracken Cottage.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light and airy feel
Liked least: Nothing - but if I was really fussy I would say the floors are a bit squeeky and knives could do with a sharpen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinclairb...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My daughter and I stayed here in April of this year and found it to be excellent. Susanna was most helpful. The cottage was comfortable and warm.
There was plenty of wildlife to watch. Oban was only five minutes away.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing