We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bracken Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bracken Cottage
decking bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Bracken Cottage
decking
bedroom
living room
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oban, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andyandme...
worthing
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“perfect cottage”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely week staying at Bracken Cottage. We have never been to Oban before.

The cottage was perfect for us. It is beautifully presented and has everything we needed. Susana the host is charming, and went out of her way to make our holiday special.

Although it looks traditional from the outside, the cottage is only a few years old so benefits from modern standards, including being warm.

The cottage is surrounded by a fence to stop our dog from roaming too far and there is loads of wildlife to see.

We would thoroughly recommend Bracken Cottage.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light and airy feel
Liked least: Nothing - but if I was really fussy I would say the floors are a bit squeeky and knives could do with a sharpen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinclairb...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My daughter and I stayed here in April of this year and found it to be excellent. Susanna was most helpful. The cottage was comfortable and warm.
There was plenty of wildlife to watch. Oban was only five minutes away.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pebblesan...
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gracious Hostess”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Susana was very easy to deal with answering every e-mail promptly. She was waiting at the Cottage to greet us and show us around. Bracken Cottage is well equipped and suitable for two couples traveling together. It is set in a beautiful garden. You do need a car as it is in the country. Being in the country means there is no internet or cell/mobile phone reception. Some of our party found the squeaky floors very annoying. It is well situated for touring the Oban area.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden
Liked least: the squeaky floors
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennadixo...
Tyne & Wear, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ideal Holiday”
Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Although only five minutes drive from Oban with it`s restaurants and shops this delightful cottage is in a private woodland setting full of bird life & red squirrels where even a roe deer may be seen. Immaculate,well equipped,light and modern but also warm and welcoming,as is the owner,it is well equipped with lots of books,cd`s,dvd`s and current magazines. After the delight of the fresh fruit and chocolates on arival the pot of homemade marmalade was the icing on the cake! All in all an excellent holiday.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful atmosphere and total cleanliness. Also the fact that dogs are allowed but it isn`t apparent in the condition of the accomodation
Liked least: Nothing loved area and property
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Reviewed June 10, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing