We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barriemore Guest House
Ranked #4 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Airdrie north lanarkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner arrived no booking necessary was offered the suite and wow was amazing and got a discount also friendly staff management helpful stunning views clean room we liked it do much decided on another night but had a different room not as nice as the suite but still a lovely room breakfast was lovely even tho we left early in the morning there was a breakfast bag made up for us both will definitely visit again and would recommend to anyone

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Weeman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    77
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
75
223
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A really lovely guest house...warm welcome and lovely atmosphere. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the water, and what a beautiful room it was. A pair of binoculars awaited us on the window sill and we made great use of these to view the passing traffic on the waterways as the ferry's pass by regularly.
There were a number of small touches that made this place special - sherry/port in the room and real wine glasses (I have come to loathe the plastics throw away cups that are more common than not!).
The breakfast was enjoyable as well. My husband ate the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and was delighted with this - a generous serve of smoked salmon fillet.
The hotel is located an easy walking distance to town.
The only very small downside was that the wifi was a bit hit and miss. We had to go out into the stairway to pick it up. It may be that our room was a bit far from the modem.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the water to enjoy the sea faring activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a lovely room overlooking the bay. There was even complementary sherry in the room.
Breakfast was excellent and nicely served. There were many choices from the full Scottish to lighter dishes. Sorry our stay was so short.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreamay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

very good location , nice atmosphere and very good room! It was also a not bad price to be on Saturday. The best think is probably their breakfast, they have a different breakfast every day, that day was salmon with scramble eggs and of course they have all kind of Scottish breakfast apart. Definitely a very good experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDaniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

first time at the barriemore guest house and we were very impressed with our rooms and location stunning views and breakfast was very nice we all fell in love with oban and the sea views the great service very friendly and efficient nothing was to much trouble we were there for my sisters 50th birthday and she got a lovely bottle of champaigne left in her room very impressed thanks againfor making us all happy and welcome

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a sea view its worth the upgrade stunning location very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonymcivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trefriw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have stayed at The Barriemore four times now. Always the same weekend in October, the highland cattle show and sale weekend. We were in Oban to buy a highland cow, but also to a nice weekend together. Have marked us as a couple staying, but was business also.
This time we were upgraded to a room with a seaview and it was a beautiful room - right in the top of the buliding. some may struggle with the stairs, but we were fine and thought it was a really nice room. Great size and very comfortable. Bathroom also a good size.
Staff were great - all very friendly and efficient. Advice on eating out etc great.
Breakfast great - lots of choice, arrives very quickly - great service. Only small niggle would be that because we live on a farm our eggs and sausages are great quality and really tasty. Didn't like the sausages and the eggs were bland. But we are spoiled of course!
Thanks for a great stay though :)

Room Tip: The sea view is stunning, worth trying to get a room at the front, but consider that the top floor m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleri368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Barriemore on part of our honeymoon around Scotland. We had only planned on staying in Oban for 2 nights, but immediately fell in love with both the city and Jan (one of the owners) that we extended our trip by another night. The guesthouse was beautifully kept and they went above and beyond time and again to make us feel welcome. Thank you!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
0.1 mi away
MacKay's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barriemore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barriemore Guest House

Property: Barriemore Guest House
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barriemore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barriemore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barriemore Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing