We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barriemore Guest House
Ranked #3 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a lovely room overlooking the bay. There was even complementary sherry in the room.
Breakfast was excellent and nicely served. There were many choices from the full Scottish to lighter dishes. Sorry our stay was so short.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreamay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Barriemore Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 421 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

very good location , nice atmosphere and very good room! It was also a not bad price to be on Saturday. The best think is probably their breakfast, they have a different breakfast every day, that day was salmon with scramble eggs and of course they have all kind of Scottish breakfast apart. Definitely a very good experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDaniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

first time at the barriemore guest house and we were very impressed with our rooms and location stunning views and breakfast was very nice we all fell in love with oban and the sea views the great service very friendly and efficient nothing was to much trouble we were there for my sisters 50th birthday and she got a lovely bottle of champaigne left in her room very impressed thanks againfor making us all happy and welcome

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a sea view its worth the upgrade stunning location very quite
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonymcivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have stayed at The Barriemore four times now. Always the same weekend in October, the highland cattle show and sale weekend. We were in Oban to buy a highland cow, but also to a nice weekend together. Have marked us as a couple staying, but was business also.
This time we were upgraded to a room with a seaview and it was a beautiful room - right in the top of the buliding. some may struggle with the stairs, but we were fine and thought it was a really nice room. Great size and very comfortable. Bathroom also a good size.
Staff were great - all very friendly and efficient. Advice on eating out etc great.
Breakfast great - lots of choice, arrives very quickly - great service. Only small niggle would be that because we live on a farm our eggs and sausages are great quality and really tasty. Didn't like the sausages and the eggs were bland. But we are spoiled of course!
Thanks for a great stay though :)

Room Tip: The sea view is stunning, worth trying to get a room at the front, but consider that the top floor m...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleri368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Barriemore on part of our honeymoon around Scotland. We had only planned on staying in Oban for 2 nights, but immediately fell in love with both the city and Jan (one of the owners) that we extended our trip by another night. The guesthouse was beautifully kept and they went above and beyond time and again to make us feel welcome. Thank you!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We would recommend staying here for the location, views and great service, very clean. Our room was so spacious and included lounge chairs to relax in after returning from a busy day of exploring. Breakfast was very nice and staff friendly and happy to look after us. The Manager was very efficient and ensured all was running smoothly around the Guest House. Don't hesitate to book directly with Barriemore as they will look after you.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Margie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had beautiful views from here across the harbour in this very well kept place. It was a bit costly, but it was the last decent bank holiday weekend of the year so it was reasonable considering all that.

Lots on offer for breakfast and plenty of good advice on restaurants and things to do the next day. Very good bathroom layout, plenty of space with a full size bathroom for each of the rooms our party stayed in. It was a short walk into the centre of Oban along the promenade, mill pond stil in the evening and fresh and airy the next morning when we deiced to head over to Tobermory for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barriemore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barriemore Guest House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $134 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barriemore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Barriemore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barriemore Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing