We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barriemore Guest House
Ranked #3 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great Weekend.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a great weekend in Oban and the Barrimore was a wonderful place to stay. A warm welcome for all and my parent both in their 80,s felt at home. Lovely breakfast i will return next year. I stayed in the suite and the views were stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    79
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
77
237
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Barriemore Guest House, its a lovely welcoming place at the far end of Oban with superb views of the islands & the ferries on their way to Mull.
We had a spacious en suite room at the top of the house with sea views from the side window, the room had recently been decorated & was very comfortable with a TV & free wifi - the decanter of sherry certainly helped us unwind after our long journey !!
The staff are helpful & friendly giving advice on good places to eat & where to visit, its a pleasant 10 minute walk into town - I would suggest a trip up to McCaigs tower (he also built Barriemore House) fantastic views of the whole of Oban & out to sea, If you cross the road from the guest house & walk to your right you can see Dunollie Castle & beautiful sea views including a lighthouse (in the distance)
The cooked breakfast set us up for the next leg of our journey - delicious.
If I was to return to Oban I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had the family suite. It's good value for what it is but with a few tweaks it could be much better. The carpet has seen better days and the bathroom needs refreshing. A little fridge in the living room would be a great addition so you could have fresh milk for tea or chill drinks. The owners are lovely and very helpful and the breakfast was great

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steviem71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having only spent an overnight, this is the perfect spot to rest up and enjoy Oban's history. Rooms were comfortable and quite large, and gave the feeling that I was waiting for someone who had been out to sea.. Much history must have taken place here. Definitely the place to experience Oban

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were well looked after during our recent stay. The huge bed was very comfortable and the location and views from our mini suite enhanced our experience. The owners and manager were very welcoming and gave us good advice on restaurants and sight seeing. There was a great selection at breakfast and the price was certainly competitve when compared with other places on our journey. Onsite parking was a bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms with water views enhance the Oban ambience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The couple who run this guesthouse are amazing. Rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated, besides being very spacious. All rooms have en suite facilities and great sea and island views. Location is excellent only a few minutes from town centre, a beautiful walk along the promenade. We could choose our breakfast from a menu and I must say it was always delicious. Service always with a smile. Private parking no problem. Fully recommend this B/B...a great experience.

Room Tip: Attic room best
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NTD206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon trip in August 2013. The room was clean, large and the staff very welcoming. The location is excellent, a beautiful walk along the sea front to get to the bars and restaurants.
We had a room at the front of the house, with a lovely view out to the sea.
Private parking is provided and spacious. The breakfast was good, and the service at breakfast was excellent.
They also left us a bottle of rose fizz and a note of congratulations on our marriage, a lovely touch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise6732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barriemore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barriemore Guest House

Property: Barriemore Guest House
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barriemore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Barriemore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barriemore Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing