We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a basic night's stay at a very reasonable price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jeremy Inglis Hostel
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Reviewed June 12, 2012

we stayed at the jeremy inglis hostel in scotland at the weekend for one night. i don't think i would have liked to stay longer. it's a really cheap deal, £15.00 per night and basically you get what you pay for, it is clean, and central. the chap who let us in was friendly and helpful, the beds were basic but clean. for breakfast i would say eat out, but then i'm not really a chatting round the breakfast table early morning mingling kind of person!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annetteuk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Jeremy Inglis Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 106 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights 22nd / 23rd of March for the first time. Really enjoyed our stay. We were offered the pick of the rooms as it was just prior to the start of the season. Friendly bunch of hostlers and staff @ JIH, rooms comfy at a good price.

Some of the rooms are located at the front overlooking the river, gets noisy at 2300-0030 due to the circle of life that is the youth of that fair town enjoying the fruit of the vine (bit like we did umpteen moons ago). Weather was great over the two days, a day return to Colonsay was £18.90 each on the CalMac ferry from Oban Pier and worth every penny for the scenery, make sure the sun's shining though.

Kitchen facilities at the hostel, and continental breakfast were excellent . Big Tesco 3 minute walk from hostel. You have got to try the fish and chips at the chippy at the far end of town. They have a photo of Rick Stein from his visit to the chippy on the wall. Fantastic local fish and a warm welcome awaits. Small portion haddock & chips £3:80 - heaven.
See you again next year Jeremy.

Room Tip: All rooms clean and functional. If you're a light sleeper request inward facing room away from t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fossil367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a few nights here and loved the atmosphere. The rooms were cozy with a soft clean bed, and working heaters that kept our room very comfortable. The kitchen area was very accommodating with complementary tea, coffee and cereal, bread and home-made jam. (very unlike any other hostels I've been to!) We really felt like we got our moneys worth during our stay. The two running the place are very nice and easy to get along with. If you are looking for a nice cozy stay that will make you feel at home this is the hostel for you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 for one night and it was warm and comfortable.
After reading about Oban and knowing we were visiting when it was going to be cold and wet I didn't want to shell out on anything too expensive so Jeremy Inglis Hostel suited us.
The rooms are on different levels and although it's all a little dated it was very comfortable. Shared shower, large kitchen and just off the main street.
Be prepared and bring wet weather gear and if you have the chance, catch the train from Glasgow as it is a beautiful way to get here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausamanda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have attended the sales of Highland cattle held in Oban every October and February for quite a few years and stay here every time now.

I have used a couple of the Oban hotels in the past but they are frankly over priced and sometimes not particularly friendly....give us your £50 plus, here's your key, parking on the street, you have to pay at the meter, breakfast might be included but finishes at 9 and rooms are tiny with an ensuite shower of sorts.

So an alternative approach, a little independent hostel providing a bed, extra blankets, an electric heater in the room, a shower in an adjoining room and a help yourself breakfast (at any time in the morning)...for £15 each.

if you want to be pampered....stay in a hotel....better to save your £££ and stay at Jeremy Inglis.
ps...it rains a lot in Oban....even the hotel windows leak!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I cannot believe these reviews! Me a a group of friends stayed here after missing the ferry at the end of November. We were greeted by the owner who was fine, but weren't sure about being met by the small growling dog that roamed around the building. He showed us to our rooms, we were split into to rooms on the third floor. Me & my boyfriend had one & our three male friends got the other. Our room - Bed sheets all crumpled, looked & smelt like they had already been slept in. Beds & sheets well past it. Our window was leaking badly with water all over the window sill. No heaters in the room, absolutely freezing. And every time you went in the room you'd hit your knees on the meter box that was there. Beds & sheets well past it. Our friends room was much the same no heater, but very smelly sheets ( BO! ) Shower room, - no one went for a shower tells you enough. Kitchen was disgusting!! The remains of a Sunday roast were on top of the fridge, and it looked & smelt like it was from the Sunday before. Dirty. Read the Visitor book & couldn't believe it was the same hostel. All five of us slept in our clothes & couldn't wait to leave, it was a uncomfortable, very cold night & if we could have slept on the ferry we would have. Don't waste a penny staying here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.....
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank candygirl1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Very basic accomodation but with clean beds, good washing facilities and a very friendly atmosphere. Jeremy himself is a bit of a character but after a long drive his humour was just what was needed to cheer us up.
I would certainly use this hostel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMcL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeremy Inglis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeremy Inglis Hostel

Address: 21 Airds Crescent, Oban PA34 5SJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
£15 Per Person Per Night For Shared Dorms, Twin,family Rooms, From £21 Single Occupancy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jeremy Inglis Hotel Oban
Jeremy Inglis Hostel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing