We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly and great views”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #81 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Warm, friendly and great views”
Reviewed April 16, 2006

I stayed on the top floor, which if you can cope with the stairs, provides fantastic views across the harbour.

The bed was very comfortable with electric blanket, good heating in room and it felt cosy. Space to unwind on the 2 armchairs as well.

This friendly town centre hotel provides excellent value for money and the breakfast overlooking the harbour was just right.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

It is now possible to relax in front of an open fire at the bar but should you still have to work we now have fibre optic bt wifi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    33
    14
    23
See reviews for
27
46
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 25, 2005

Really enjoyed my stay, close to all attractions, rooms provided with refreshments and fridge. Friendly staff, non obtrusive. Will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words this is exactly what we are aiming for.

We hope that you will stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2004

The hotel is in desperate need of upgrading. When I arrived the first thing I noticed was the smell. It had a foostie smell which seemed liked they were tryng to cover up with overpowering perfume plugins. The rooms are still in the stuck in the 60's -although I apprecaiate the room was cheaper than most hotels so I shouldn't really moan about that.
There was no phone in the room, so when I ran out of towels and toliet roll (due to the cleaning staff not replacing it) I had to run down several flight of staircases to ring a bell (which wakes the whole of the hotel up) and wait for a member of staff to come along. The rooms are very cramped and not as clean as I'd like and if your placed near the top of the hotel and your not so fit, then your in trouble.

Saying all that the staff are very nice as with the breakfasts they provided which I suppose makes me feel a bit guilty for writing a poor review.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you for the time taken to write a review.

In the past the hotel had a pests welcome policy and there could be many dogs staying at anyone time. This is no longer the case. We apologize if something had been missed while cleaning your room and would have been more that happy yo try and resolve the situation if we had known about it.

We have tried to maintain the victorian feel of the building and decorate accordingly.

There are now telephones in every room with usb modem for internet with calls and data at cost price. Several rooms have large screen tvs and all have mini bars.

If you choose to visit again we believe that you will notice significant changes however the decor is still or an older style even in the areas that have recently been refurbished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#18 of 93 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#67 of 93 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a small family run hotel with traditional decor.It is a purpose built hotel dating from around 1905. Where ever possible be have tried to retain the original features of the building.There is a feature staircase and unfortunately no lift. The bar/dining room and reception are on the first floor while most of the guest accommodation is on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors.located in the centre of Oban overlooking Oban Bay. We offer a choice of rooms from a small single to a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The recently added lounge bar offers stunning views over Oban bay. Light meals are available and booking is required for dinner. Wifi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing