We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #82 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Derby, UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just the job”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Palace Hotel is a family run place above a shop, fronting the harbour. It's attraction for me was its proximity to the railway station. I was greeted warmly on arrival, to the point I didn't need to say who I was. Granted, I'd rung earlier to let them know I'd be arriving by train and it was going to be a bit late in the evening, so I guess that was the clue when a lone Englishman presented himself on their doorstep!

I think I was the only guest in residence as once I'd been given my room key I neither saw nor heard another soul. Combined with the effects of a long journey leaving me not feeling like going out and exploring Oban's bright lights and nightlife, the end result was a very quiet evening.

The room was at the back of the hotel, though that meant I had a view of McCaig's Tower up on the hillside above the town. Everything was spotlessly clean and both the room and the residents' lounge have every facility you'd reasonably expect in an establishment of this nature. Wish I'd thought to ask for the WiFi password before the proprietress disappeared into her quarters, though!

Perhaps the highlight of the stay, in a bizarre way, was getting up for the loo at four in the morning and looking out at the early dawn light illuminating the tower.

Refreshed and revived by the decent shower, I was on my way in the morning, reflecting on an excellent choice to stay at the Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derby_Dave_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgoban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.

As a result we now have the details for the wifi shown at reception so that they can be viewed by guests at anytime.

We pride ourselves on having somewhere that guests can relax and read a book, play the piano or just admire the view and even when we are full it can still be tranquil most of the time due to different arrival and departure time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    33
    15
    24
See reviews for
27
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Location, location, location. On the main road over looking the harbour. Bright rooms, clean linens, all round good experience! But if your looking for posh, go elsewhere. Comfort was the name of the game. Didn't have the breakfast but am sure that it was up to standard. Managers were helpful and accommodating. No free wi-fi.

Room Tip: The manager actually allowed us to view the rooms that were available and let us pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deacondawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgoban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.

As a result of your review we have replaced the egyptian cotton towels with new super soft 20% thicker towels to add a little more comfort.

BT openzone offer many broadband customers access to their network for free. We also have free wifi at the bar subject to minimum spend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

At £140 breakfast not included, it's a scam. The room was OK, though very small, the windows let a lot of (cold) air in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank FranciosL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgoban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
We are surprised that you thought that the price was a scam. £ 140 for a sea view room for 3 over a bank holiday weekend is very competitive for the area. We make it clear on our advertising that breakfast is not included. We have breakfast options starting from only £5 and fruit juice, cereal, cooked breakfast, tea and toast for £9.95 per person.

We were fully booked that weekend with every guest paying a similar amount per person.

The room you were in is one of our largest rooms and is around the average size for a uk hotel, we have 1 larger and several smaller rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Black Isle, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

If you are looking for luxury accommodation, you need to look elsewhere.

However, my family and our dog found ourselves unexpectedly needing a room in Oban one November evening. (As seasoned travellers know, kids and dogs aren't always welcome in Scotland.) After being turned down at one hotel and scared away by the £165/dbl rate at another, we rung The Palace.

The friendly man on the other end of the line said he could accommodate us and gave an amazing rate. When we arrived to look at the room, he handed us a couple of keys and directed us to look at the rooms at our leisure.

Having no pre-conceived notions about The Palace, we took the place for what we found: a tired Edwardian hotel that had all the earmarks of being run by a couple of good-hearted people doing their best to overcome years of neglect.

I speak from experience when I say that they are fighting what may very well be a losing battle -- the vast expense and time of renovating and maintaining one of these places (and there are hundreds of them within 100 miles of here) is enough to make you want to find a bridge to jump off. On our visit, there was clearly renovation work going on, which we took to be a healthy sign.

So what about the room? We chose one in the front with water view, which was perfectly serviceable, and made up for its faults (detailed -- with varying degrees of exaggeration -- in previous posts) with some truly thoughtful extras, such as bedwarmers and little toothbrushing kits (the latter desperately needed on this impromptu stay). Although not completely modernised, the room was very clean and beds comfortable. To our delight, we found that the beds were made with a top and a bottom sheet -- no roasting/freezing with only a duvet on top. (Are you listening, Sofitel?) We were able to walk to a first-rate dinner, enjoy all the benefits of being on the High Street, sleep well and wake up to a stunning view of the harbour.

As for other reviewers’ complaints . . . Parking: our host thoroughly briefed us on the situation. Missing elevator: visit Amsterdam sometime and you’ll never moan about stairs again. Scarcity of staff: learn to read between the lines -- when a Scottish hotel says it's "family-run," that means there won't always be staff around because often the staff is merely a couple, one of whom might be out fetching beer that never turned up on the delivery whilst the other is dangling from the roof trying to coax a bird's nest out of the gutter with a billiard cue. You mustn’t expect constant attention, which is why there’s a service bell.

This was a perfectly fine place to sleep in Oban. Romantic? No. Polished? No. Good value? For us, yes, but perhaps not for others who paid 3 times what we did. Friendly and honest? Yes. We have done much worse in Scotland, and paid more to grumpier people for the privilege.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anderjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We are a small family run hotel in a building that is over 100 years old and we are constantly doing repairs and making improvements.

The rooms are of varying shapes and sizes (and prices) however we try and remain competitive for the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lakes
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I've stayed here on many occasions with my father, who's 80. It's on the sea-front and the view is second to none. There's always a warm Scottish welcome and the breakfast is more than adequate. The only downside is that there's no lift and I could imagine that this might be problematic for some folk - be aware that you'll need to climb at least 2 flights of stairs. Book a room at the front - the view with the ferry coming and going is very poetic and makes you just want to jump on one and take off to the islands!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room - might be more expensive - and could be noisy as I don't think there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamSouthLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgoban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are always looking at ways in which we can improve our service to our customers so please feel free to pass on any suggestions that would make your stay with us more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I booked this "hotel" through a booking site on the internet, I wish I had read the reviews before I booked it,. It is a very basic B&B and not very clean. The room was very small and dingy the bathroom adequate.This place needs gutted from top to bottom.
There is no lift, so god help the people who get a room on the top floor.
No car park so we had to pay £9 a day for parking on the street.
The only nice thing I have to say about this place is that the staff seemed very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgoban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We advertise the hotel as a small family run hotel that offers room only accommodation with breakfast as an optional extra since due to our location we have many customers leaving and arriving out with most peoples standard times in order to make connections with ferries, trains, planes etc.

There are 2 car parks nearby that offer free parking 24 hours per day and on street parking is free between 6pm and 9am.

The building was purpose built as a hotel over 100 years ago and the owners have tried to retain as many of the original features as possible. The rooms are however or varying shapes and sizes and wherever possible we try and offer our guests the choice of rooms that are avaiable.

We have a constant repair and improvement policy in place and our prices are set to reflect the costs associated in providing our services.

As we have 4 floors in the building we let guest know that we do not have a lift and try and keep the lower rooms for people with reduced mobility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I booked a family room as it had a double bed and all the double rooms were reserved. I paid £160 for what turned out to be a dirty, squalid, badly equipped, poorly furnished, tatty decorated small room with one three quarter bed and one single bed. The "mini bar" was unplugged in a wardrobe and looked like a fungus factory inside. There were long black hairs inside and on top of the bath. There was scum round the bathroom door frame, tiles and sink which needed a good scrub. In the bedroom the window sills were filthy, the windows broken and there were cobwebs on the ceiling. The small TV had a freeview aerial which showed about three programs. In the morning the breakfast was cheap, burned and prepared well in advance despite there only being 1 hour between 8 & 9 to "enjoy" it. I asked for a slice of black pudding to be told "there is none left", I was the first person in that morning.
Avoid this hotel. It is expensive, dirty, penny pinching, has no parking, no Internet, no restaurant, no bar, no telephone in the rooms, no room service etc etc etc.
It is an embarrassment to the Scottish tourist industry and the owners should be ashamed of themselves for charging up to £220 for a night in this dump.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psm916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgoban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We were not aware of any problems with cleanliness if we had we would have offered to either change your room or to have it re-cleaned.

We do not have any rooms in the hotel with a ¾ bed all our double beds are a standard size of 4' 6” wide.

Most of the rooms have had the 14” televisions replaced with ones ranging from 19” to 26” with most having freesat providing around 100 channels. All of the others should be able to receive around 20 freeview channels.

Although our standard breakfast times are between 8am and 9am a significant number of our guests book breakfast at 7am. Our ingredients are personally selected to ensure quality and value for our customers.

We do not have telephones in the rooms as most people now use mobiles however we do have a payphone on the first floor.

Wifi – BT Openzone is available in the lounge and dining room. In addition to this we are able to provide usb and mifi modems should you wish this service in your room. If your computer has a good antenna you may also be able to receive BT Openzone in your room. There is aslo a computer in the guest lounge for customers to check their emails when they do not have there own computer with them.

We offer a selection of wines, beers and spirits in our dining room and there is an additional wifi router in this room to ensure the best available signal for those wishing to use there computer.

There is no private parking for the hotel but there is a pay and display car park to the rear of the building and several others close by. On street parking is free from 6pm till 9am.

Our prices are a reflection of our costs in providing our services. The price of £220 is our highest price for 4 people in our largest sea view room. We offer a range of promotions and disounts throughout the year with prices from £35 per person sharing a double or twin room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#67 of 93 in Oban
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 93 in Oban
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a small family run hotel with traditional decor.It is a purpose built hotel dating from around 1905. Where ever possible be have tried to retain the original features of the building.There is a feature staircase and unfortunately no lift. The bar/dining room and reception are on the first floor while most of the guest accommodation is on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors.located in the centre of Oban overlooking Oban Bay. We offer a choice of rooms from a small single to a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The recently added lounge bar offers stunning views over Oban bay. Light meals are available and booking is required for dinner. Wifi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing