We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Excellent Service. Spotless. First class staff. Not very modern but the food more than makes up for that. Couldn't fault anything. We were there for a wedding which took place in the hotel. The bride, groom and guests all had a great time

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sociableperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We are very grateful of your lovely review and we were very happy to be part of the wedding celebrations.


We hope to see you all again soon .

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed one night at this sea front hotel two weeks ago me route to oban. At the third attempt finally got a room which was suitable. The first two were awful with the wallpaper hanging off. Was a good hotel in its day but really needs some money spent on it.
On the plus side however - good location - inexpensive - friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast vey good and well served. White linen table cloths were a bonus.
If you don't expect too much you will be fine.

Room Tip: Wifi free at reception. Ask for a sea view room. They tend to be bigger and better decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank karylaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I am sorry that you had issues when you arrived at the hotel, however I’m glad that our team managed to rectify this and that you found positives through the rest of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were looking for a three night stay in Oban,and to be honest all we could get was the Regent Hotel..Yes it comes with mixed reviews,and yes a bit rough round the edges.We were on the fifth floor,with a view to Die for,Oban Bay looked fantastic.The room was a twin,fine beds,good size room,and good facilities for cloths etc.Clean with a very nice bathroom/great shower.The breakfast was for us included in the price, and was a fine choice(Link Sausages Were Superb)
The location of the hotel is great,and it would have to be said the building is interesting in a good way.The price was fine for the three nights,and I would like to thank a very attentive and hard working staff..As for Oban town,great place

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the breakfast.
I will pass your kind comments on to our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after 4 days of camping and it surely felt good. It's a bit old and the bathrooms are small, but it has everything to make you feel comfortable for a night. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is quite good. Also the location is very good (next to the sea, center, next to tourist information and oban distillerie). We would advise it to travelleres on a budget.

Room Tip: ask for a view to the sea. we didnt do it, but we have heard that other travellers just ask it and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raquel3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed the food and found the team to be friendly and helpful. It was also nice to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the surrounding area.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our fourth visit to the Regent was this month. The reason we keep coming back? It's cheap.

The bedrooms are a bit hit and miss. This time both couples had super big rooms with a cracking view over Oban Bay. When the weather is good the view is stunning. On previous visits however we have had pokey back rooms with a horrendous view over the derelict site at the rear of the hotel. Very big differences in the room quality for paying similar amounts of money so make sure you request a sea view... Cleanliness has generally been ok with some small niggles.

We usually go to Oban for a night out or a gig so we haven't tried the restaurant, the breakfasts are pretty bad though. Possibly if you turn up sharp for the start of breakfast its better but by 9.30 everything looks like it has been stewing under hotlamps for some time. Bearable for a sausage but terrible for the eggs. I tried on this visit (by returning my eggs twice) to get a runny yolk but it seems to be beyond them.

What is good for us is the fact that there is a night porter so it's always possible to get a drink if you are arriving back late to the hotel and the staff are generally helpful and friendly.

On two of the four occasions we have visited we have had to evacuate the hotel because of fire alarms early in the morning. Maybe we're just unlucky...

As a place purely to put your head down for the night it does the job but don't expect many luxuries.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam_Bisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I am sorry that you had problems with the breakfast quality , I hope your next visit will prove to be a better breakfast experience .

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

i read quite a few reviews about this hotel before i decided to book and stay there. Let me start by saying the stay at the hotel was great. We where only there for 2 nights, but loved the area and the hotel so much we tried to stay another couple of nights, but it was fully booked so had to move to another B&B near by. The room was clean and comfy everything you needed was there. the Breakfast was very nice, with a lot of choice if you wanted to pay for something different. The staff where very friendly and helpful. The Bar area inside and out was very nice too with very reasonable prices too. What more could you want?

Room Tip: There seems to be a lot of see view rooms which i didn't have, but where we where it looked over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We really appreciate such a wonderful review and are happy to know you had such a nice time at the Regent Hotel Oban.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Overall this hotel could be a great place to stay if some money were spent on decor and also a lick of paint.
Bed was very uncomfortable and the whole room was run down .
The staff in the dinning room were fantastic and could not do enough to try and help all the guests . Excellent location and would not have minded spending more on my stay if my following comments were put into place.
Definitely a 2 star hotel at present .

Room Tip: Definitely budget . Shop about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I’m sorry that you found your bed to be uncomfortable but happy to read that our team made you feel welcome and you enjoyed our location.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $52 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing