We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regent Hotel”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Regent Hotel”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

i read quite a few reviews about this hotel before i decided to book and stay there. Let me start by saying the stay at the hotel was great. We where only there for 2 nights, but loved the area and the hotel so much we tried to stay another couple of nights, but it was fully booked so had to move to another B&B near by. The room was clean and comfy everything you needed was there. the Breakfast was very nice, with a lot of choice if you wanted to pay for something different. The staff where very friendly and helpful. The Bar area inside and out was very nice too with very reasonable prices too. What more could you want?

Room Tip: There seems to be a lot of see view rooms which i didn't have, but where we where it looked over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We really appreciate such a wonderful review and are happy to know you had such a nice time at the Regent Hotel Oban.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    329
    244
    154
    144
See reviews for
117
530
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Overall this hotel could be a great place to stay if some money were spent on decor and also a lick of paint.
Bed was very uncomfortable and the whole room was run down .
The staff in the dinning room were fantastic and could not do enough to try and help all the guests . Excellent location and would not have minded spending more on my stay if my following comments were put into place.
Definitely a 2 star hotel at present .

Room Tip: Definitely budget . Shop about
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I’m sorry that you found your bed to be uncomfortable but happy to read that our team made you feel welcome and you enjoyed our location.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Spent two nights in this hotel, the room was small but with a harbour view it more than made up for the size, the room was clean and so was the bathroom.
Our 3 course meal was served by very helpful staff, the food was very good, breakfast also I could not complain the staff cannot do enough.
Car parking was my only worry, however we managed to park in the street at the side of the hotel.
The location is perfect, would stay again if in Oban.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
It was very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the views to be very nice and the team helpful and that you enjoyed all the meals during your break.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is situated right on the water, in the heart of the adorable city of Oban. The rooms were pretty basic, and the lift is super tiny (we ended up carrying up our bags from the lobby because the wait was so long). The hotel offers a really nice seating area outside, overlooking the water. It was the best part of the stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We appreciate your comments on the hotel and happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Regent and in Oban.


Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clydebank
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

If I was asked to sum this hotel up in one word it would have to be 'disgusting'!!!! I have never seen such a run down shambles of a building actually being put forward to paying customers as hotel accommodation. The bedroom we were allocated had windows that didn't open, a bed that must have been there before the war and walls and paintwork covered in dirty marks yuck!!! To top it all there was no extractor fan in the bathroom therefore it was covered in dampness with wall paper peeling off. The rest of the hotel wasn't any better but It would take to long to actually describe it in detail!! Come on Easy - Breaks, you are not promoting your own company positively while recommending this hovel to loyal paying customers - get it removed from your website please or you will lose many customers!

Room Tip: Don't choose any rooms - choose another hotel. I don't know what the owners do with their p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ponsettia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I am sorry you felt this hotel was terrible and for this I apologise, I wish our team had an opportunity to rectify these issues for you. I do feel on this occasion we did not meet our usual standards as we currently have an average rating of 4 out of 5 based solely on easy break customer reviews.


Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Visited hotel as member of a bus party and as bus tour hotels go it was average but food was excellent with good choice on menu.
The reception was fine but oh dear the lift - it was minute claiming it could carry 6 people but we found 4 average size people were squashed. With luggage only 2 people max would be possible with an average case each.
The bedroom was clean and comfortable although rather tired. The en suite was in need of an overhaul and re-grouted.
Dining room was very pleasant and the food excellent with a good choice at both breakfast and dinner time. The servive was very good and slick and the food was served hot.
Wonderful panoramic views from both bedroom and dining room.
All in all a pleasant stay and would consider using it again if in the area again on my own.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I was happy to read that although you found some issues with your room you still enjoyed the beautiful views from the hotel and found the meals to be excellent as was the team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Regent Hotel and Oban.


Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We decided to take a 3 night break to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and my wife's 70th birthday at the end of May this year, we chose the Regent Hotel, Oban, Scotland, that was our first mistake. We drove up and had reached a point 2 miles from Oban at 3pm and found a traffic jam caused by a fatal accident closing the road for most of the day, we had to take an 85 mile detour to reach the hotel in Oban an reached the hotel at 7pm. The worst was still to come as we were given a very small dark room overlooking a lane separating the old part of the hotel and the newest part, there were pigeons roosting on the window sills opposite about 10 feet away from our window. We then presented ourselves at the dining room for the 8pm for our booked meal, the soup was very nice, but I then had a pork chop covered in the most disgusting sauce I have tasted, my wife had Salmon fillet covered in Hollandaise sauce and again the sauce was disgusting, the rest of the meal was passable. In the morning the breakfast was not much better than the evening meal, and after that we decided to have coffee toast and fruit for breakfast and eat out in the evening costing us another £80 over and above the cost of the hotel break.
The only good thing about the hotel was the bed which was very comfortable. We have been on a few Easy-Breaks over the last few years and found this one to be the worst hotel we have been in, we will not be returning to the Regent Hotel, Oban and will advise our friends to do likewise. It seems Easy- Breaks keep their best rooms with the best views for the Coach Parties and Bespoke customers and put the Easy- Breakers in the old part of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cammyp06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I’m sorry that you feel this is the worst hotel in Scotland , I wish we had the opportunity to rectify the issues you encountered during your 3 day stay with us .
Our head chef has asked me to apologise to you on his behalf as your review has come as a shock to him and his team as we overall receive favourable reviews on our food .

To be clear this hotel has no official connection/ownership with easybreaks other than being a booking agent and at the hotel make no preference with regards to room allocation based on booking method /style or agent.



Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing