We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay in the heart of oban”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in september 2013, having read some reviews about the age of the hotel I would have to agree that it is a little dated however our stay was perfect. Our double room was warm and spacious (particularly large spacious bath/shower room). View across the bay of oban was incredible and bed was really comfortable. Breakfast in morning (included in price of room) was lovely, both the cooked and continental breakfast (we particularly loved the haggis which we were wondering if it had been sourced locally?) For a good compromise between price and location I think we got an amazing deal with this hotel. We had a lovely weekend away for my 25th birthday and cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

thank you for a lovely review of our hotel,
i want to take the time to agree with all of your review yes the view from are hotel is one of a kind. the bed which you like are new due to are refurbishment which has been taken place over the summer so it has not happened as quickly as planned but it is still being done. we welcomed the arrival of all our new lounge furnature this week which make a big differance as well.

thank you again for posting such a nice review of our hotel.

from all management and staff at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for Regent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Yet again went here for another overnight stay staff as friendly as ever,room was clean and tidy.cost of this night for two b,and ,b. Was £60 good value,,only thing was water was tepid in the morning,possibly due to bus load of spaniards levying early.also breakfast was not to hot either,nothing worse luke warm breakfast,but waitress was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montgomery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

thank you for leaving a review,
yes we do try and make the hotel value for money. i can only say sorry about the water issue. as you said we did have a coach leaving early and it takes time for tanks to fill back up and heat to correct tempreture. regarding your breakfast i hope you asked for a hotter breakfast. and if you brought it to my attention i would of rectafied this problem straight away.

thank you for taking your time to review the hotel and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

from all management and staff at the regent hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Value for money but hotel a bit tired looking. Food excellent and staff helpful. Lift out of action for most of stay, was always on point of being repaired by outside engineer. Hotel is very central and conveniently situated for ferry, train and busses.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

thank you for posting a nice review of the regent hotel,
yes it was a shame the lift was out of order for some of your stay with us. but it was something we needed a specialist to look at and fix so it did take longer that normal.
but its nice to read that are staff where good to you and very true the hotel is close to all main transports around oban and further.
thank you again
from all the managment and staff from the regent hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed in August 2013 with a tour group. Regent is an old hotel, in need of some improvements, but the fact its right on the waterfront makes up for this, excellent views. Very friendly staff, WiFi available. Room was clean and presentable. Only thing the bathroom was very small and if you accidentally forgot to close the door the steam from the shower would shut off the fire alarms. Ate breakfast in the restaurant, hot food not readily available. Waiters asked if you wanted it, then it would be presented. The breakfast I chose was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for reviewing,
yes we are in the middle of refurbishment of the hotel,infact this week we have recieved all are new lounge furniture which looks very nice. over the last year we have changed many of our rooms,and all rooms have brand new beds in them aswell as flat screen televisions,and brand new phones.
yes the steam from the showers do set of the fire alarm if bathroom door is left open but i like to think it is better to be safe than sorry. we are very lucky to have such a hard working team within the hotel all our staff always go the extra mile for a guest.

thank you again

the regent hotel management and all staff from the regent hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel has restored my faith in bespoke hotels - the last 2 have been horrible.

Nice clean, spacious well decorated room with all that you need. Prime position for the harbour and town.free wifi in room .

Food fine - good selection on menu

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your review,
it is a pleasure to read that we have restored you faith in are company. atleast we can show our staff that all there hard work is paying off.
as well as our chef's do take some time to pick and choose what complements each dish.

so thank you again.
regent hotel managment and all staff at the regent hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was fantastic value for money and has a beautiful situation on the Oban Esplanade. Quirky in nature, very friendly staff combined with the beautiful views over the harbour made our short stay very enjoyable. If you are catching an early morning ferry the hotel will arrange for an early breakfast with fast and efficient service prior to your departure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrkookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for leaving you review.
yes we are very lucky to be in such a beautiful area of the country. quirky that is the first time the hotel has been called that but we will take it as a possitive point. yes we are always asked about early breakfasts for guests rushing for the very early ferry and with that we decided to offer a earlyier service.

again thank you

the regent hotel management and all staff at the regent hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This must be one of the worst hotels that i have ever stayed in The hotel needs to be closed down and given a good refurbishment The decor is appalling and the rooms are very basic i cannot find anything good to say about this hotel other than stay away from it

Room Tip: Cannot advise anything regarding choosing a good room as in my opinion there is not a good one at th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigade02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

thank you for taking the time to post a review,
i am sorry you can not think of one good thing to comment on during your stay at our hotel, as several of our previous guest's have found atleast one good point about there stay. and since your stay afew guest's have posted possitive comments. but thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

regent hotel management and all staff at the regent hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
982 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $56 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing