We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at the Regent Hotel with a group of friends in June. The hotel has a lot of character as it is an older building and, along with that, a few of the fittings do look tired. However, we found the great location (right by the waterfront, with great views) and helpful staff more than made up for that.
The manager was kind enough to book us tee times at the local golf course and a boat trip with local guide for the evening and the staff were happy to recommend local places to eat and drink.
The full breakfast was hearty and good fuel for the day ahead and the rooms suited us just fine as a base. The countryside is so beautiful around here you will want to spend the days exploring it.

If you are looking for a central base for a good price, you could do a lot worse than The Regent.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howser77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor
I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team were able to organise events for your group and also offer advice on night life and local dining options .I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team and to the kitchen team with regards to your comments on breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back to the Regent Hotel in the future.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    325
    239
    150
    136
See reviews for
113
520
55
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went to visit Oban for the weekend in May and stayed at the Regent Hotel. I arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and was welcomed by the friendly staff and also the manager of the hotel was very friendly and helped us organise our golf trip and also our boat trip around the islands. He was most helpful and nothing was to much for him. He also helped us out with suggesting places to eat.

The location of this hotel is one of the best in Oban and was very glad we stayed at this hotel as it had great views of the ocean and the islands across the water.

The hotel was clean, friendly staff in a great location and had a wonderful time in Oban for the weekend. The price was excellent.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is to visit Oban.

Room Tip: Take the boat trip around the islands. Speak to the manager of the hotel to book this wonderful trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 811Ally_B_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave to your kind review of The Regent Hotel.
I was very happy to read that you had a wonderful time during your stay and that you found the hotel very clean and the team at the Hotel very friendly.
I will pass on your comments to the team that organise the boat trips and I’m sure they too will be very grateful for your kind words.
We hope to welcome you back to the Regent in the future.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We (family of 4- Mom/Dad & 2 daughters) stayed here on a one night stay on a trip up the West coast of Scotland. We arrived early to the hotel where the receptionist stored our luggage and asked us to return after 3p.m to check in. The hotel was way better than expected! We had 2 rooms on the fifth floor (512 and 522). Both had beautiful views of the sea, couldn't have asked for better. Both rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The water was perfect. We had a great nights sleep. The hotel was right in the centre of Oban - lovely bars/restaurants close-by. We ate in Cuan Mor which was gorgeous -queues out the door. We had breakfast in the hotel which was perfect - extra charge for some items. The receptionist was nice and helpful. Jasmine the dog was super cute and even gave us a warm welcome :) Overall, a great hotel AND great value. Couldn't have asked for better! We will definitely be recommending to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view-amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments on The Regent Hotel.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms clean and comfortable.
We are also happy that you found our team very nice and helpful.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.nm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night (booked at the last minute while travelling around Scotland). I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised.
The decor is shabby but the rooms were clean and the staff are great.
Love the art deco look of the hotel it's great.
We had an amazing view out over the bay and also had an excellent breakfast. (Really good quality ingredients.)
We chatted to several guests while we were there and I didn't hear anyone say a bad word about this place.
If you're looking for somewhere that won't break the bank, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments on The Regent Hotel.
It is always great to read comment such as yours and I’m glad you found the rooms clean and that the staff were great. I will pass your kind words on the head chef and his team
We hope to welcome you back to the Regent in the future.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed in the Regent last week and had a wonderful time. Rooms are a good size and the views over the Bay are amazzing. They seem to have a good team of staff and would recommend it to anyone. Can't wait for my next trip to Oban.

Regards Stuart

Room Tip: Pay a tiny bit more and get a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments on Trip advisor.
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at the Regent Hotel and found the rooms a good size and enjoyed the stunning views and as ever I will pass on your kind words regarding our team .
We hope to welcome you back to Oban and the Regent in the not too distant future.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just back from a weekend at the Regent and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Friendly staff, great food and a sea view with plenty to see. The decor wasn't top drawer but the good out wayed the bad by far and I will be back.

Room Tip: I requested a sea view and got it much to our delight. I was there with my grandaughter who was ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosaleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments on Trip advisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the food great and the staff very pleasant.
We hope to welcome you back to Oban and the Regent in the not too distant future.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It took about 90 seconds to realise that I had made a terrible mistake booking a room here. Shabby decor in the lobby, lifts that didn't work, a room that smelt of damp with sticky carpets underfoot, the view was of a building site that was being used as a rubbish tip. The room was barely bigger than the bed, and you'd be lucky to get to sleep with the the view of peeling wallpaper on the ceiling. The "professional" photos of the rooms on the hotels website bear no relationship to what I was offered. On complaining to reception, the answer was "nothing can be done" Thankfully, my third party booking service was on the case and no cancellation fee was charged.

Room Tip: Don't bother. There are lots of excellent alternatives in Oban. If your stuck, most of the B&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrewcrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments on the Regent.
I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and I wish that during your stay we could have offered you an alternative but as you mentioned during the busy season we unfortunately we had no other rooms available.
I’m glad that you found some positives with regards to the cancellation charges
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,030 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing