We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel seemed rather tired, but in some ways this was rather retro charming. Staff helpful about need for early breakfast before ferry. Interesting historical exhibit about flying boat squadron in WWII

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Regent hotel.
We are still progressing through our renovations and hopefully if you return in the future you will notice a marked improvement.
I would like to thank the wonderful team at the Oban War and Peace museum for the collection of WW11 items and the upkeep of this display and I am sure they will also be pleased that you found it so interesting.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

The room was comfortable,the staff were friendly and attentIve. We booked in at short notice having driven up to Oban and deciding I was too tired to drive home. Booking in was easy and the view from the room was stunning. We opted to book in for Dinner Bed and Breakfast. The food served at dinner was ok but not made to order, I chose the crayfish Caesar salad it was nice but both my husband and I chose ham salad as a main course this consisted of a couple of slices of ham, salad leaves that looked like the were from a supermarket mixed leaves a couple of Alice's of cucumber and an overpowering mustard vinegrette.

Room Tip: Room 416 although at the front of the hotel overlooking the esplanade it was quiet enough to sleep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Regent hotel.
It is nice to read that you found your room comfortable, the staff friendly and attentive the views stunning and our booking and check in process easy ,I am sorry that even though you found the food ok there were still a few issues of concern during your meal , I will pass these concerns to our Chef to help us to improve further .

Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

small room, shower that smelled of mold, basic breakfast - views from room is the only positive. although the window is ill placed for this view and small.
staff friendly - plenty of others for the price. ...

Room Tip: i don't think there is one... lol - top floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your views on the Regent hotel..
I’m sorry you found problems in the room you were allocated and I have passed these comments to our Head of housekeeping who would like to join me in apologising to you .
As you mentioned some of our rooms are lucky enough to have wonderful views of Oban bay and I am glad you were able to experience this.
I will also pass your kind comments on to the team at the Regent.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for a night after a midnight ferry into Oban. The bedroom was clean, if a little tired looking. Likewise the shower-room was also in desperate need of updating and could have been cleaner. Also there was a very loud fan all night which I could not quite block out even with ear plugs. This hotel has a lovely art-deco frontage, and with a lot of investment could be a great place to stay, however in its current state it is long past its best. Breakfast the following morning was ok, and the staff were attentive. However this hotel did the job for a stop-over before a long journey, and was quite cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back over-look a rubbish dump- so I would recommend trying to get a sea view instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catfacecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your views on trip advisor.
I’m sorry you did not have an uninterrupted sleep due to external noises as we do try when alerted to contact local establishments when any noise affects our guests.
We are currently upgrading all parts of the hotel from the front of the hotel to the bedrooms and bathrooms. I was glad to read that you found our team attentive and that the Hotel was sufficient for the one night stop over and the price you paid.

Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Oban is a small Scottish town and the only nice things I can say about this hotel is; great location on the water , an easy walk to town and great for a sunset view . In my opinion, this is a hotel waiting to close which is a shame because it could be very nice with a bit of work. There seems to be two parts to the hotel, a 50ish style part and the historic part. Our room was in the historic part...The elevator was not terribly reliable so we walked up to the third floor. The building creaked and cracked, the fire doors were made of wood and glass.The room was very small....there was mold around the window ,the light in the bathroom didn't work and the toilet didn't flush without a lot of effort. The bed was probably a queen but looked a lot smaller and the coverlet used on it barely covered the mattress so when one person rolled over; the other became uncovered. When we arrived the cold water faucet was frozen off but they were able to fix that and they did put a light in the bathroom.You would have thought the maid would have noticed these things?? There were no tissues in the room. The lobby was sparse and also served as the bar. The dining room was large and breakfast was bleak...the worst part was the lipstick on the cups...more than one. Made me wonder about the kitchen?? It was also a very noisy hotel because it lacked any soundproofing...every time someone opened or shut a door you were awakened. I can roll with a lot of things but mold, dirty dishes and a room with so many issues are truly inexcusable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your views on trip advisor.
I was very disappointed to read how poor an experience you had while visiting the Regent Hotel and I would like to firstly apologise for all the problems you faced with your bedroom and the dining room .I have rechecked all our elevator logs and have found no instances of any reported issues or breakdowns during this period. As you mentioned the fire doors through out the hotel are made of wood and glass which is a legal standard 30 minute fire door which is accepted by Strathclyde fire brigade .The bed as shown in your pictures is a standard uk double bed with a standard uk double duvet, we do offer extra duvets ,blankets and pillows all of which are available on request at the reception desk or from any off our team . I do agree that we do not have any additional soundproofing but I strongly believe this to be common amongst hotels of this age (1930 and 1896)However I am sorry that you did not have a relaxing break and I would like to assure you that we will use your comments to further improve The Regent Hotel .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although this hotel is old it is clean and very quiet. The Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly, the service was great and we didn't have to wait long to be served our breakfast. The view if you are lucky to get a sea view is stunning. People who complain about this hotel should remember the price they are paying. Oban itself is a beautiful place and there are many places to visit and regular boat trips eg Mull.
The only downside is don't go on the lift if you are claustriphobic as the lifts are too small and take about four people at a push.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferguson1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your views on trip advisor.
It is great to read that yet again the Regent hotel team has made a great impression and that the food and overall service was great.
As I write this we have our lift engineer surveying our lift for major improvements and hopefully this will go someway to helping with the issues that you mentioned.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is a bit old but clean. The room was spacious and clean and astonishingly quiet although it was on the street side, only the bathroom had it's own odour. Parking was not so comfortable because we had to park on the public parking lot and pay for it. Breakfast was very good and the service staff very friendly. The hotel is recommendable for a stay overnight but if you travel by car not necessarily for a longer time because of the parking situation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Regent hotel. .
I’m very glad to read that you found the room very spacious and clean and very quiet and that the breakfast was good and that our team in the dining were friendly during your stay.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $52 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing