We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, disappointing food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view, disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I rang up to check I could re-arrange the night of dinner in a 5pm deal before I booked and they sorted the same deal directly through them. Booking two weeks in advance however, I was unable to get a double room but we simply put the beds together. Sea view was great. The shower was VERY temperamental - couldn't get a happy medium so had to wash in lukewarm water to avoid being scalded. Beds were very comfy. Both dinner and breakfast were disappointing in terms of the quality of the food but to be expected for the price we got (£99 for 2 nights B&B and dinner one night).

I would recommend if you're looking for something cheap and aren't too fussy.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on the Regent hotel.
I’m sorry we could not allocate a double room however I was glad to read you enjoyed the view from the twin bedded room. I wish one of our team could have rectified the issues with your shower during your stay and for this I apologise.
The issues you encountered with both meals is not the standard that we aim for at the Regent and I hope some time in the future we can welcome you back to show our food in a far better light.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    319
    227
    139
    123
See reviews for
109
501
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed in the Regent for 2 nights in late November. Room was warm, beds were comfy - I don't sleep well usually but I did there. Bath and shower, but bathroom very cold only towel rail for heat. Had sea view room and as it was the last night of the Winter Festival we were treated to a firework display as we ate dinner, a perfect view. The old single glazing was cold but the food and service were excellent. In the evening only the small bar was open and the service was warm and friendly, some seating is very comfortable. Reception staff were helpful. 2 things would have made me give this 2 star hotel 5 trip advisor stars - Free parking vouchers for the street near the hotel and a warm bathroom.

Room Tip: get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor.
It is always great to hear that our guests had a good nights sleep and enjoyed the hotels breakfast and dinner .I’m also glad you enjoyed the views and the fireworks .
I will as always pass on your kind comments regarding our team’s friendliness and excellent service. On our last enquiry regarding parking vouchers we were informed that this option is not currently available.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

i have just returned from a family reunion at the regent hotel oban. the staff were very helpful by changing our room to one with walk in shower. the food was ok but not all the items printed on party night menu were available. entertainment was average but not suitable for a christmas party night. entertainer was only booked till 10.30pm ?but when requested he played on for another hour and half for us. the oxford hotels brochure printed the party on the 8th dec was on till 1am with nibbles /munchies at 12 midnight never to happen. more than half the party crowd had left by 10pm to find entertainment elsewhere what a shame, a poor effort by regent hotel management and oxford hotels group by ruining a party night for so many people shame on you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jock1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor .
I was glad to read our team were able to change your room on your arrival ,Unfortunately due to the secretive nature of trip advisor, I cant access your booking without a name .however I believe that your booking was not a party night booking such as the one you refer to in the oxford brochure, The party nights are priced for dinner and entertainment only with “munchies at midnight “and are not part of a residential package .I would like to apologise if this is not the case but as mentioned before it is near impossible to locate your booking without a name or ref number .
I would also like to apologise if this was not conveyed to you at the time of booking or at the hotel .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend break in Oban and we stayed at the Regent Hotel. our room was situated in the red sandstone building adjacent to the "Art deco" part of the hotel overlooking the alleyway between buildings, I had requested a sea view on booking but was told on arrival that there were none available. This did not prove to matter as the windows were filthy and the daught emmanating from the said windows forced us to close the curtains from the moment we arrived till we left. This wing of the hotel is very old and the rooms have very high ceilings. The small electric convector on the wall tried to warm the room, and failed. The bathrooms only form of heating was an electric towel rail, result was an ice box. This caused condensation on the frosted glass which resulted in mould in the grooves. Paintwork was cracked and flaking and whole hotel was in need of a major overhall. The cold was not restricted to our bedroom. The corridors had storage heaters, although they were never on during our stay. We overhead other guests saying that you would need to wrap up th eat in the restaurant. They were right. On arriving for breakfast, we were greeted by a wonderful panoramic view over the bay. The food and service were fine, but once again the place was cold. The secondary glazing had been removed, and the steel framed single glazed windows sucked any heat out of the room. In the evening, we went to the bar for some cocktails from the avertised list. Barman did not know how to make these and we were advised to wait 10 mins. until someone arrived who did ( I don't think so) Also whilst waiting at the bar, the said barman was asked to do something by another member of staff, the reference to the son of God was uncalled for and could upset someone of a more Christian persuasion. There is a plaque in the reception proclaiming that this hotel takes part in the investors in people scheme. Obviously this member of staff is still to complete his training.
The whole hotel is in need of an upgrade, and looks old and tired. I could not recommend this hotel in its present state and would not return, which is a pity as it has an enviable position and the art deco theme could be a good selling point if it was of a better standard. This is part of the Oxford hotels group. I hope this is not their usual standard as it does not reflect well on them and would make me think twice about using other hotels in the chain.

Room Tip: I did not see the bedrooms in the newer part of the hotel, but avoid the older wing if you must stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor .
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel , we have discussed the issues you raised and acted on them ,which includes changes to our housekeeping practises and have fully re trained our staff in the standards of conduct and use of language , all our bartenders are now proficient in making our advertised drinks .
We do have a stock of additional heaters for guests to use during the extreme cold weather periods that we face in Oban and Scotland , I apologise if our team never informed you of this option .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are looking for 5* luxury accomadation this hotel is not for you, but if you want friendly atmosfere, good food and a true scottish feel then this is the place. Oban is a wonderful place to be at any time of the year and the staff at this hotel go out of thier way to make your stay just a bit special. although the hotel is in need of a redo, the rooms are clean and comfortably warm with lovely new carpets and spectacular veiws from the front, food was fab and value for money was not in question. A big thanks to David Sam & Irene who are just the best along with all the other staff at this hotel, looking forward to coming back already. xxx Graham

Room Tip: Get in early to get a seaview just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor.
Your comments on the fab food and clean and comfortable warm rooms are always nice to hear , I however always enjoy reading and passing on stunning reviews on our hard working team for this we are all very grateful.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid november. Building is old and could do with a refurb but was still a nice place to stay. The lift was a bit temperamental but I found if you keep your finger on your floor number it will move. We were allocated a double room at the back of the old part of the hotel. Not much in the way of a view as it looked out onto the alleyway and street.
However, the room was clean and well stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits. As it was a mid week booking I asked if we could be moved to the front which overlooks the sea and harbour. The hotel staff were more than happy to do this and, although no double was available at the front, they asked if we would like a twin room instead which we accepted. The view from a front facing room is spectacular and was well worth the move.
The food at both dinner and breakfast could not be faulted and was served to our table by very well mannered and courteous staff. There is a great choice of menu at dinner and a wide and varied selection on offer at breakfast.
Oban is a very good place to visit sith plenty to see and do.
I would reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting a short break or a holiday.
I would return to Oban again and would definately stay at the Regent again.

Room Tip: Get a front room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review on our Hotel .Its nice to see you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments show that all our staff across different departments helped to create a enjoyable break , from the clean room to the politely served meals to our front of house team dealing with your request as best they could . I will as always pass your comments on to our team..
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Enjoyed a great 3 day DBB deal with 6 free drinks vouchers each on 3 the 3 days with Easybreaks. Room clean and tidy and food delicious. Staff very efficient. Only downfall we could not get tv to work because of loss of signal.

Room Tip: Front room with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your break at the Regent and found your room clean and the food delicious . I will as always pass on your positive comments on our team members .I’m genuinely sorry we could not rectify the issues with your tv during your stay. We hope to see you back in Oban at the Regent Hotel in the near future .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing