We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid november. Building is old and could do with a refurb but was still a nice place to stay. The lift was a bit temperamental but I found if you keep your finger on your floor number it will move. We were allocated a double room at the back of the old part of the hotel. Not much in the way of a view as it looked out onto the alleyway and street.
However, the room was clean and well stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits. As it was a mid week booking I asked if we could be moved to the front which overlooks the sea and harbour. The hotel staff were more than happy to do this and, although no double was available at the front, they asked if we would like a twin room instead which we accepted. The view from a front facing room is spectacular and was well worth the move.
The food at both dinner and breakfast could not be faulted and was served to our table by very well mannered and courteous staff. There is a great choice of menu at dinner and a wide and varied selection on offer at breakfast.
Oban is a very good place to visit sith plenty to see and do.
I would reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting a short break or a holiday.
I would return to Oban again and would definately stay at the Regent again.

Room Tip: Get a front room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review on our Hotel .Its nice to see you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments show that all our staff across different departments helped to create a enjoyable break , from the clean room to the politely served meals to our front of house team dealing with your request as best they could . I will as always pass your comments on to our team..
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    324
    238
    147
    127
See reviews for
112
518
55
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Enjoyed a great 3 day DBB deal with 6 free drinks vouchers each on 3 the 3 days with Easybreaks. Room clean and tidy and food delicious. Staff very efficient. Only downfall we could not get tv to work because of loss of signal.

Room Tip: Front room with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your break at the Regent and found your room clean and the food delicious . I will as always pass on your positive comments on our team members .I’m genuinely sorry we could not rectify the issues with your tv during your stay. We hope to see you back in Oban at the Regent Hotel in the near future .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Regent Hotel with my husband.It was very reasonably priced at £53 for the both of us and included our breakfast. I was happy with the room itself as it was clean. However the bathroom had some mould and mould on the curtains. Although it was a 2 star, i don't believe there should be mould. If this was sorted,it would be great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your honest comments on trip advisor , I m sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hotel due to issues in your bathroom .We have now changed our housekeeping policies to focus more on the type of issues you encountered. I’m glad you found the price reasonable and the bedroom clean .
We hope to see you back at the Regent in the future to try to improve on your last visit .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 9th Nov 2012.Awakened at about 6.30 by the fire alarms going off.Had to stand outside in the cold and rain.The Fire Brigade checked the system and immeriately said they knew what the problem was they then went back and sat in the fire engine while we stood outside in the cold and rain.A second fire engine arrived and they went into the Hotel a short time later the alarms were turned off and we were allowed back to our rooms.Later when I asked if it was a faulty sensor that had triggered the alarm everyone I asked said they did not know as they had arrived later for work.
Our room was clean but small at the back of the hotel.The bathroom was disgusting with mould,flaking paint and the surface of the bath was flaking off.I had asked for a sea view when I booked but was put at the back of the Hotel.I say Hotel but we have stayed in a lot better B & Bs
My advice DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel or B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor , I m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Regent and that the bathroom was not acceptable ,however I was glad to read you found the room clean.
With regards to your early wake up call ,It is the hotels main priority to ensure the safety of all our guests and as horrible an experience standing in the rain at 6:30 in the morning must have been , this is the necessary action we would always take when the fire alarm shows a fire in the building ,not only is this a hotel policy it is also enforced by Strathclyde fire brigade . I actively encourage our team not to discuss the cause of a false alarm for two reasons , we do not want to seem to be pointing fingers at individuals as to the cause, also details of false alarms can only serve to dilute the sense of required urgency that a fire alarm aims to create.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very good hotel, well situated in the centre of town only 5 mins walk from train station. The staff were very efficient and very quick on us booking in, our key was issued to us in a matter of minutes. The room itself was very clean and well presented the bath and shower ran hot at all times. The breakfast was lovely and plenty to eat and drink well worth going to. The price was £43 for one nights stay in a double room which included two breakfasts so very good value for money. I will be booking in again in the future and I will be recommending this hotel to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on trip advisor ,we welcome all comments on the hotel, staff and service .Comments like yours makes all the hard work and effort all the more worth while . We look forward to welcoming you back to the Regent very soon .
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

just returned 4 days tinsel & turkey, what a shambles, no effort put into it.no decorations worse xmas dinner i have ever seen (if you could see it) child portions given to adults at every meal.( if you were willing to pay £19-95 for evening meal & £5-95 for breakfast you were given a better size portion) but certainly not worth the money, most of the coach party were visiting the local chippy after our evening meal. entertainment was only provided because people complained to the coach driver and he had a word with hotel management. Oban itself is a very nice town to stay in, great scenery, great base for exploring, if you get a chance visit the whisky distillery its a great tour cost only £7 well worth the money. BUT DONT STAY AT THE REGENT, FIND A DIFFERENT HOTEL.

Room Tip: try for a ground floor room as the only lift in hotel only holds 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah-louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on The Regent hotel.
I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel, I wish I had the chance to speak to you during your stay ,as our kitchen team would be more than happy to create larger portions or additional items to guests who request it.
It may have been perceived that we had no entertainment planned for the duration of your stay however it was always the intention of the hotel to have entertainment on,not only does this add to the enjoyment of our guests but it was requested and confirmed at the time of booking that entertainment would be on during these dates , for this poor communication from our team I sincerely apologise .
Please be assured we will use the points you raised to help us improve our product and communication.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Previous reviewers are correct in saying that the hotel is in need of some TLC but, until then, the rooms are fine. The one we stayed in was perfectly clean with all the usual - kettle, TV, etc. The bathroom was more in need of help than the bedroom and only had a small shelf to put things on - my wife more than covered this shelf on her own! Brilliant shower and filling breakfast. Would probably stay there again if in Oban.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wacislay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comments on The Regent hotel.
We are currently in the middle of a major refurbishment of the hotel and are about a third the way through with new bed, carpets and bedroom furniture all being replaced . I hope your next visit we can eliminate issues you encountered previously .
I will pass on your positive comments regarding your breakfast to our kitchen team .
We hope to see you back to the regent hotel and Oban very soon.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing